We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Good”
Review of Rosen Centre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rosen Centre Hotel
Ranked #141 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pretty Good”
Reviewed January 7, 2007

Stayed one Saturday night, in town for a friend's wedding.
I was here a few years ago for business and noticed a few major improvements. First, the room had obviously been updated. The bed was much more comfortable than before, with nice linens and pillows. The bathroom area had granite counters but the shower hadn't been renovated or even, it seems, had its shower curtain replaced.
The other big improvement I noticed was the workout room. It now has 2 Precor ellipticals (1 with arm movement, 1 with adjustable incline), 4 (?) treadmills, a couple decent universal-type machines, some nicer nautilus-type machines, and a respectable assortment of free weights.
The people work here seemed nice enough but I think they could use some pointers to improve their professionalism. At the wedding reception, several of the waitstaff were less than polite. When only 2 of the 10 people at our table were served wedding cake, we asked one of the waiters for more cake. He said he couldn't do anything because "They didn't buy enough cake." True as that may be, it's not the nicest way to say it. That's just one of 3 or 4 examples.
Other than those small glitches, our stay was very nice. The pool area was very pleasant and the water perfect. The deli is open 24 hours and had half-way decent food. You can even buy alcohol at the deli, which was way cheaper than the hotel bars. Finally, the breakfast buffet was pretty good for a huge hotel.
If you can get a refurbished room, the Rosen Centre is a good bet.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank j_flo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,073
    1,001
    461
    182
    130
See reviews for
655
504
104
1,190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (615)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda MD
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2007

Positives: a good location, relatively close to Orlando's theme parks.

Rooms are clean and decently sized. Breakfast buffet is extensive.

Negatives:

1. Ambient elevator noise. Our room wasn't situated very close to the elevators, being about halfway down the long hallways that extend out from the elevators. Nevertheless, there was a persistent on-again, off-again sound in our room that resembled someone running a sewing machine next door. I finally figured out that it was the mechanical groans from the elevators, which was reverberating down the hall. Very annoying if you are sensitive to intermittent noises-- if you are, bring ear plugs and turn up the fan on the window unit to drown the sound out with some "white noise."

2. minor annoyances accumulated during our stay. At breakfast, there were napkins, knives and forks waiting at the table. But every time, you would have to ask for a spoon. Why?

3. Our room had two N-Z Yellow Page phonebooks and no A-L
phone book. I called guest services to ask for one and 24 hours later, they hadn't yet delivered one.

4. The kiosks for Internet access in the lobby were small, slow and inadequate. For a large hotel with 24 floors, there was one small kiosk with a tiny screen that broke down as soon as I started to use it. Off I trekked to the other kiosk near the business center which is literally about a 2 block walk down a hallway, to use the sole remaining kiosk. I got on the Internet, only to find that the Internet access (for which you pay, of course) was so slow that it must have been a dial-up connection. There was a time lag for everything-- including something as simple as scrolling down a web page. After five minutes I gave up in frustration.

5. If you self-park, the distance from the elevators to your car is considerable-- probably, I am not exaggerating, over a quarter mile. The hallway you must traverse is really, really, long.

  • Stayed December 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank rayray55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2006

When booking a hotel room, be sure to ask what conventions or conferences are going on in the hotel during your stay. A cheerleading convention was taking place at the hotel and the hotel was full of loud and troublesome children. The hotel sales rep did not tell me this when I was booking my room. Had I known it was going on I would of chosen another hotel. I did not get much sleep at night or in the morning. Kids were running in the hall, knocking on doors, leaving trash all over public areas. Also, they were supposed to give me a King room and instead I got a double queen. The high speed internet did not work either. I was going to report all of this when checking out but the front desk agent didnt even care to ask, instead quickly checked me out.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank daulton15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2006

Everything was clean, comfortable, and well run. Easy check-in and check-out.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Scooter529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2006

I have just returned from the Rosen Center,Orlando and I can only say it is one of the best hotels that I've stayed at.
I booked this as a wedding/honeymoon hotel over 12 months ago,so when I read the negative reviews I was understandably concerned.
The negative reviewers must have stayed at a totally different hotel because it just wasn't how they described it.
We had a lovely,fairly large pool view room.The bathroom was adequate for our needs,(my hubby moaned that there was no shaving mirror),but overall it was spotlessly clean with lovely fluffy
towels and no sign of mould anywhere.
The two double beds were clean and comfy and the bedding,carpets and furniture were of an excellent quality.
Perhaps I was lucky enough to stay in one of the better rooms but I really couldn't fault it.
The pool was lovely,as were the 2 hot tubs which were all well maintained every day.As this hotel primarily caters for the convention centre,due to it's close proximity,the swimming pool was deserted most days.
There are excellent restaurants,a great deli (staff really nice,Shirley the cashier in particular)and a really good atmosphere overall.
As a travel agent I would not hesitate to send my clients to this hotel and I will definitely stay here again on my next visit to Orlando.

  • Liked — good location & excellent facilities
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — use the swimming pool on weekdays,you'll have it all to yourself!!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank agent69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2006

In general the Rosen Centre is a good quality hotel. My room was lovely.. modern, clean & spacious, with LCD tv on the wall & a pool view. It's location on International Drive is perfect for all the florida attractions inc sea world, disney, wet & wild & Universal studious. Fantastic restaurants within a 10 min walk. The Deli at the hotel was great for breakfast and lunch, large choice of drinks & hot & cold food available at very reasonabe prices. The pool area is very nice by day, however during the evening we liked to sit outside at the tables by the pool. We were horrified to see rats running around on several occassions!! We did notify the hotel but were not aware anything was done. One couple told us they had seen a snake in the pool the previous week.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — rats
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank herob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2006

I stay in many hotels all around the world and have no idea how anyone could ever rate this as more than a 1 star hotel...This is a very old and dated hotel, the only part of the hotel that is decent is the lobby, this is both the Rosen Plaza and the Rosen Center..

The rooms are stale, moldy, yes mold on the shower curtain, bedspeads and carpets..the airconditioners are window units, they leak water on the carpet and they cycle on and off with a bang....the furniture is the worse mismatch of garbage I have ever seen, nothing matches, its old and beat up..the metal headboard in my room attched to nothing and banged the wall when the bed moved..The pillows are awful and I am sure the beds and bedspreads are 30 years old. You can hear everyone in the halls, there are hardly ant electrical outlets and the bathroom, closet etc are just awfull..

The employees in the bar laugh about the cheap owner of these hotels, claim he is so cheap that you had better mark your towels and they dont change them, just fold them again...Ok I marked my sheets, sure enough they were the same...disgusting....

The buffet restaurant they add 15% !!!! for a buffet, Ok so I guess there is another example of this owner, gets that 15% from everyone and pays the employees little..

The front desk people look nice but what a bunch of idiots, lost my reservation ans several others in our group..also forget reserving a King size bed, wont happen they do not ever guarantee one , even if they promise you one...

Maybe some families like this hotel, gee soft drinks are only a dollar in the machines and the buffet was pretty good, but overall this hotel needs a retro in the worst way. I reported them to the health dept and they are going to follow up on all the mold, many people have reported on other web site respiratory problems after being here, actually my bus partner claimed he had trouble breathing in his room...

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — NA
  • Tips/Secrets — Dont come here, go to Motel 6 instead
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank richard649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
0.6 mi away
Rosen Plaza Hotel
Rosen Plaza Hotel
#83 of 337 in Orlando
2,243 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Orlando
Hyatt Regency Orlando
#29 of 337 in Orlando
5,459 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Orlando
Hilton Orlando
#49 of 337 in Orlando
5,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Orlando at SeaWorld
0.8 mi away
Rosen Inn at Pointe Orlando
0.2 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites At International Drive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosen Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosen Centre Hotel

Property: Rosen Centre Hotel
Address: 9840 International Dr, Orlando, FL 32819-8111
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#44 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#71 Family Hotel in Orlando
#78 Business Hotel in Orlando
#80 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rosen Centre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rosen Centre Hotel raises the bar in guest service, convenience and value among Orlando hotels with the numerous amenities at the 1,334-room, award-winning convention property. Recently unveiled is a new Executive Ballroom that offers 4,000-sq. Ft. Of pre-function space and 18,000 sq. Ft. Of state-of-the art meeting space. This new addition brings the hotel's total meeting space to more than 150,000-sq. Ft., Which includes the 35,000-sq. Ft. Grand Ballroom, the 14,375-sq. Ft. Junior Ballroom, two 3,500-sq. Ft. Signature meeting rooms and 24 individual meeting salons. The Rosen Centre Skywalk, a covered pedestrian connector, joins the hotel with the Orange County Convention Center's West Building. The walkway rises approximately 20 feet above vehicular traffic on Convention Way, providing attendees with a safe, weatherproof, and traffic-free "commute" from guest room to meeting room or restaurant in less than four minutes. Rosen Centre Hotel's guests also enjoy a wealth of relaxing amenities. Our hotel features nine restaurants and lounges including Everglades Restaurant and Bar, a Florida-themed steak and seafood resaurant, Cafe Gauguin, featuring three daily extensive buffets and a la carte menu items; Banshoo Sushi; 98Forty Tapas & Tequila; Smoooth Java, proudly serving Starbucks drinks, smoothies and pastries; and the 24-hour Red's Deli. For recreation, the hotel features an Olympic-size tropical outdoor swimming pool and The Spa at Rosen Centre, featuring seven treatment suites, a full-service hair salon, health club and state-of-the-art fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Preferred Hotels, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Rosen Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosen Centre Orlando
Hotel Rosen Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing