We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“reliable, but nothing special”
Review of Rosen Centre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rosen Centre Hotel
Ranked #136 of 342 Hotels in Orlando
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I've stayed here four times over the past 6 years, and it's always a solid reliable hotel. But there is nothing special, and the decor in the rooms is getting quite dated. They have done a lot to upgrade the lobby over the past two years, and it's a definite improvement.

On this occasion, they were sold out of the kind of room configuration we needed, so they "upgraded" us to a "Hospitality Suite". This was a double-size room with a king size murphy bed, which was VERY comfortable - just as nice as any of their regular beds. The challenge was that this room was on the 2nd floor with a public patio right outside our window (so NO privacy.) The room also had no side-table by the bed, and no tub (shower only). The hotel offered to move us on our second day to another room, but we actually decided to stay in this room despite the downsides because the hospitality suite had so much space.

Kudos to the service from the bell desk, housekeeping, and room service. They're always very polite, efficient, and effective.

If you're visiting for a convention, you really can't do much better (maybe slightly better at the Peabody). But if you're visiting for pleasure, this hotel is just not configured as well as most of the others in the area for families or couples.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 6Continents2toGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,018)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,813 - 1,819 of 3,019 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2013

My wife and I just recently stayed at the Rosen Centre for 7 nights for our honeymoon. I got a great deal for this hotel on Travelocity. The room was nice, and up on a high floor with great views of Sea World from our room. I was a little disappointed that they had nothing with just one bed when I checked in. All they had left was 2 double beds. The staff was overall very friendly and the room and the hotel was very 4 star quality. The hotel has many restaurants but all are very pricey, so my wife and I usually ate inside the theme parks or at other restaurants on International Drive. Parking would have been an issue (13$ a day) but since we booked for 7 nights our parking was complimentary. Only things I did not like were the drink prices at the pool bar. I understand your paying for location and convenience but 9.50 for one Pina Colata is outrageous. Also my wife left a small travel blanket in the room and they said the cheapest price that they could ship it back to us would be 16$. Overall it was a great stay but I do think they need to lower their price points a little bit. Not every guest is a businessman with a businessman size paycheck.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor, so you can get great views of Sea World.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kurtis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We have stayed at the Rosen Centre on International Drive a few times before, our most recent was in September 2012.

The Rosen Centre is in a good location on the nicer part of I-Drive, and across from the shops,bars and restaurants at pointe orlando which is very convenient. Seaworld/Aquatica are close by and there is self parking and valet parking available.

All of the staff have always been friendly and attentive, the pool is huge and every time we have visited has been quiet - which is great to relax, theres also a small jacuzzi. In the lobby theres a bar and food area which was handy.

The rooms themselves are pretty standard, clean and do their job. Spacious with all the facilities you would need.

We would definitely return here, It's usually a first choice for us when we are visiting Orlando.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank letsdothis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This hotel is really a nice hotel with friendly faces greeting you when you check in. The room was nice and the amenities were wonderful. It was really a great experience our first night. However the lack of secure feeling in our hotel room came our second evening. Our neighbors in the room next door were very loud, rowdy and up all night. I don't mind a good party, but we were there with our children. They tried to fall asleep to loud noise and obscenities you could hear through the walls. Please understand this is a nice hotel and the walls are not paper thin. The people next door were just that loud. After allowing them to have their fun for a while and expecting them to quiet down on their own, we decided to call the front desk. They said they would send security to the floor to check it out. They did as we heard walkie-talkies on the floor and the noise next door subsided for about 10 minutes...then it became loud again. This continued until 3:00 AM. I would think a hotel of this caliber would want to be sure the situation was remedied and walk the floor again, but they did not. We had to keep our TV on all evening. We did not feel very secure in our room. We did not get much sleep and we were all tired for the last day of our stay in Orlando. It really was a bad ending to what was a good weekend away from home. Please know we do not blame the hotel for putting these guests in the room next to us. I am sure the hotel did not know they would have a room full of people with loud voices and obscene language next to a family with children. I am concerned with the lack of follow through on the part of the hotel to be sure the situation is totally diffused.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

I just read a review that made a stink about the hotel's credit card authorization. This is not an uncommon practice in resort style hotels especially during a busy season. Fear not, it really wasn't a big deal. They authorized 50$ per night plus what you spent on incidentals. We had our authorization dropped through the front desk and it was a simple process.
That being said, the bell staff is top notch and the front desk was efficient under such high occupancy as there was during my stay.
Had some sushi at Banshoo and it was delicious. The chef overheard us discussing our favorite rolls and kindly offered to make off menu items. They were very tasty. The breakfast wasn't bad but the eggs were runny. Prices were very fair throughout the resort.
The only complaints would be the noise and the concierge. We encountered yelling housekeepers early in the morning and loud Megacon guests throughout the night. The concierge sent us to the trolly without letting us know they take exact change or special trolly cards. The trolly worker comped our ride as we didn't know where to get a card.
Special employee: Eric, our bellman. Gave full check in and answered all our questions about the area. Thanks, Eric!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amk07g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

1st of all we booked the hotel through the megacon booking site for a Thursday-Sunday convention...the hotel had on the sight that there were rooms available and so we booked it for the convienance to the convention center. We usually stay at the Peabody (best hotel on International I may add) and have never had issues and loved staying close to the convention, bu this year we were short on money and stayed at the next priced hotel down. We get a call a week before the convention saying that they have over booked the Center for Thrusday and that we would be reimbursed for a stay at the Plaza...inconvienant but ok. The Plaza has horrible customer service and is nothing worth the price paid for a night's stay...we stayed and were transferred to the Centre which was a fraction nicer but...the website quoted that we were to be charged 135.00 a night for two nights, plus taxes..320.00 plus 13.00 for parking per night. We were expecting that....but what we weren't expecting was an extra charge for 100.00 and another charge for 166.00 that we have no idea where it came from! We called down to the front desk to have these charges explained to us and what they said it was charges for what you "might spend" down at the restraunts and bars. WTH!? What we might spend? We have to pay for something and have the money we need for gas and dinner taken by this POS hotel because we might spend it on their crappy dinning? I've stayed at hotels 10x more luxurious than this one and they don't put "what if" charges on our card. We asked to speak to the hotel manager about this and they person we were speaking to automatically because pursed and very defensive and rather rude about it. we needed or money back inorder to be able to make it back home! Finally a manager contacted us and took us on the run around about this bull. The hidden charges of this crappy hotel are horrible and we would have received a better welcome at the Day's Inn across the street (which is where we will go if we can't afford the peabody next time.) This hotel can't even compare to the Peabody across the street. So what if we are paying for a little extra space and decor? we hav eto check out early because they've robbed us dry

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KikyousDream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This hotel has a wonderful set up for conferences. I was there for an extremely large conference and felt there was plenty of meeting room space (large and small). The hotel staff was also very friendly. There are numerous restaurants in the hotel and a nice pool area. The exercise center is very small, though, and costs a one-time fee of $15 to use. Walking distance to some other restaurants and shopping (about 10 minutes away). Overall, pleased with my stay!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmae03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
0.6 mi away
Rosen Plaza Hotel
Rosen Plaza Hotel
#56 of 342 in Orlando
2,401 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Orlando
Hyatt Regency Orlando
#30 of 342 in Orlando
5,907 reviews
0.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Orlando at SeaWorld
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Rosen Inn at Pointe Orlando
0.5 mi away
Hilton Orlando
Hilton Orlando
#55 of 342 in Orlando
5,381 reviews
4.9 mi away
Caribe Royale Orlando
Caribe Royale Orlando
#85 of 342 in Orlando
3,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosen Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosen Centre Hotel

Address: 9840 International Dr, Orlando, FL 32819-8111
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#44 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#71 Family Hotel in Orlando
#78 Business Hotel in Orlando
#80 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $94 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rosen Centre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rosen Centre Hotel raises the bar in guest service, convenience and value among Orlando hotels with the numerous amenities at the 1,334-room, award-winning convention property. Recently unveiled is a new Executive Ballroom that offers 4,000-sq. Ft. Of pre-function space and 18,000 sq. Ft. Of state-of-the art meeting space. This new addition brings the hotel's total meeting space to more than 150,000-sq. Ft., Which includes the 35,000-sq. Ft. Grand Ballroom, the 14,375-sq. Ft. Junior Ballroom, two 3,500-sq. Ft. Signature meeting rooms and 24 individual meeting salons. The Rosen Centre Skywalk, a covered pedestrian connector, joins the hotel with the Orange County Convention Center's West Building. The walkway rises approximately 20 feet above vehicular traffic on Convention Way, providing attendees with a safe, weatherproof, and traffic-free "commute" from guest room to meeting room or restaurant in less than four minutes. Rosen Centre Hotel's guests also enjoy a wealth of relaxing amenities. Our hotel features nine restaurants and lounges including Everglades Restaurant and Bar, a Florida-themed steak and seafood resaurant, Cafe Gauguin, featuring three daily extensive buffets and a la carte menu items; Banshoo Sushi; 98Forty Tapas & Tequila; Smoooth Java, proudly serving Starbucks drinks, smoothies and pastries; and the 24-hour Red's Deli. For recreation, the hotel features an Olympic-size tropical outdoor swimming pool and The Spa at Rosen Centre, featuring seven treatment suites, a full-service hair salon, health club and state-of-the-art fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Rosen Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosen Centre Orlando
Hotel Rosen Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing