We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Margaritas - and oh yeah, the food was awesome too”
Review of Agave Azul

Agave Azul
Reserve with OpenTable
Agave Azul is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #40 of 3,808 Restaurants in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Love the Margaritas - and oh yeah, the food was awesome too”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Read the reviews before we went here and was not disappointed. Prices were just right and the Margaritas and food were to die for. But don't die, just indulge :)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Car116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    421
    173
    41
    20
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Mary, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good service and Average Food.”
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Recently saw an article in USA Today rating this spot as one of the top 20 Mexican restaurants in the US. Although the service was very good, the food was just very average and overall a very forgettable experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnTavares_Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very good food at reasonably prices”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

A group of ten of us wanted to go to a casual place for dinner while in Orlando, and after doing a little research I decided to lead them to Agave Azul. We all shared multiple pitchers of margaritas which everyone enjoyed, and the chips and salsa were plentiful and refilled often. The freshly made guacamole is very good; better than the vast majority of guacamole at restaurants. Even though we were a larger group the service was good and helpful. All entrees looked great and I really enjoyed the grande platter which had a nicely grilled thin slice of beef along with a tamale and enchilada. The sauces were all very flavorful and everything on the plate was great, even the normally boring sides such as rice and beans. Portion sizes are large and prices are very reasonable. For dessert the pineapple upside-down cake was quite good but the flan was a bit too firm and probably overcooked or just not particularly fresh.

We had a great time at the restaurant and even though our group consisted of Americans, Canadians, and Scots, everyone enjoyed the food and drink. I eat at a lot of mexican and southwestern restaurants all over the USA and the food at Agave Azul is way above average. Myself and another foodie in the group both were impressed with the preparation of the food, especially considering we were in a larger group and the restaurants was busy. The place is a little trendy but casual. About the only downside for business visitors is that it is a bit of a drive from the convention center area, but not a problem if you have a rental car. Highly recommended!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IvanCU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“wow says it all”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

This place was great. the food was outstanding. They have a build your own combo at lunch that is really reasonable with awesome choices, not just the basic stuff. the chili relleno were wonderful as well as the tamale. The margarita was super and made with orange juice. the Chili relleno is always my benchmark item to see how good a place is for quality. The place is a little hard to find but well worth the adventure. it is set in a shopping strip complex on Kirkman with a firehouse sub. the service was great and friendly. it was full of locals the day i was here holding after graduation gatherings, so you know it's good when the locals come for an occasion.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank staceyj1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“WOW!!! This restaurant should be #1!!!”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This was the best mexican food I have had in a long time. The food had soo much flavor! I ordered the Steak Mexicano. It was cooked just the way I like it. The onions, jalapenos, tomatos, and sauce was sooo good on top of my steak. The rice and beans was unbelievably good! I enjoyed it soo much. I was upset when I got a little full and still tried to keep eating. I went by myself but the next time I come to Orlando with family, I will highly recommend this place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lea2611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Agave Azul also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Agave Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing