We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real hideaway”
Review of Johnnie's Hideaway

Johnnie's Hideaway
Reserve with OpenTable
Johnnie's Hideaway is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #59 of 3,808 Restaurants in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Lake Buena Vista
Cross street: Crossroads Shopping Center
Description: Johnnie's Hideaway is created in the image of time honored Florida flavors with emphasis on Floribbean coastal cuisine, serving hand cut dry aged steaks, prime seafood and an extensive raw bar featuring Florida stone crab claws. Johnnie's unique tableside cart service along with an award winning wine list can be enjoyed inside surrounded by authentic Florida Highwayman art or lakeside on the tiki deck.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A real hideaway”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Sadly, we only found this restaurant on our last night, but glad we did.
Lovely food and the cocktails- mmm.
It was very busy but we didn't wait that long for service or food and the waitress was really helpful and knowledgeable about the dishes.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scoobylou_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,096 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,352
    362
    189
    113
    80
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Expected better service for the price”
Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

The waitress didn't know what a manhattan or an old fashioned was when we ordered our drinks. Obviously, the bartender didn't either as the manhattan was served without a cherry and was an off color. The old fashioned was watered down and missing something. It was Monday, all you can eat stone crab night which was $59 for 6 claws and 4 fried shrimp. We were told no sharing. The second round you got 3 claws and no shrimp. We had to ask for the next round and waited almost 20 minutes which by then we didn't even want them. And no doggy bags are allowed. The claws were small but they were tasty as was the dipping sauce. A wash bowl to clean my hands was not presented after finishing my meal. The waitress spoke way too fast, the restaurant was noisy and it was hard to hear, and the service was painfully slow. Our water glasses were never refilled and she never checked to see how we were doing. We had to ask for our dirty plates to be cleared. We were never asked if we wanted coffee after dinner. The food was good but not great and the service sucked. We expected better service for the price of the food. At first we were impressed with the decor and ambiance of the restaurant but the menu was confusing because it didn't describe what all was included with the meal. Some items were ala carte and some included salad and side dish. The house salad had potatoes, shrimp, chick peas, Greek olives and an olive oil/vinegar dressing. Outside dining is available. Not sure I would return to Johnnies and would hesitate to recommend it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelli L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
“Best Seafood Happy Hour Spot in Orlando!”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Delicious food! I love that that give you the sweet and salty pickles instead of bread. The ahi tuna nachos are a must!!!! Oysters, calamari, mussels (3 different ways) oh and the cantaloupe martini are all lovely too! Great bar staff! As a local, this is my favorite spot for happy hour! I highly recommend!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JessK34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminole, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Do not eat here!”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

My professional group of 15 reserved a table tonight thinking we would have a great meal at a highly recommended restaurant. The food was ok, maybe even good, but the service was HORRIBLE! It took us nearly an hour to get our checks, get the errors corrected and payments processed. All the manager did was say she was sorry - still took another 15 minutes to get out. And that was without coffee or dessert which was never offerred to our table. The desserts looked good when they showed them to all the tables around us but we were never offered the option. Their $30 scallop entree had only 5 mediocre scallops. The grouper was exceptional however. I only wish they'd filled my water so I could have enjoyed the seasoning without being parched.

To top off our 3 hour meal, it took us 1/2 hour to get out of the parking lot. Going out on a rainy night near Disney is not a good idea. Fortunately we have a great hotel nearby (Doubletree)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Docmom95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DZam, General Manager at Johnnie's Hideaway, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
We are very sorry you did not enjoy your overall experience with us at Johnnie's Hideaway. We use the best George's Bank U-10 Scallops for our entrees that may be prepared Fried, Sautéed or Pan-Roasted. We are thrilled you loved the Grouper and hope we may have another chance to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
359 reviews
255 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Perfection again -GO TO HAPPY HOUR”
Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

Priceless advice here: they open at 4:30 for the best happy hour prices on awesome drinks and absolutely incredible appetizers in the bar area

Table service starts at 5:00 and happy hour lasts through 6:30.

Ashley, thanks for the great bar service!

Dinner as always was simply perfect and couldn't ask for more.

We won't ever be back to Orlando without coming here.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank rossdmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnnie's Hideaway also viewed

 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Johnnie's Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing