We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, great service, great time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Johnnie's Hideaway

Johnnie's Hideaway
Reserve with OpenTable
Johnnie's Hideaway is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #56 of 3,764 Restaurants in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Lake Buena Vista
Cross street: Crossroads Shopping Center
Description: Johnnie's Hideaway is created in the image of time honored Florida flavors with emphasis on Floribbean coastal cuisine, serving hand cut dry aged steaks, prime seafood and an extensive raw bar featuring Florida stone crab claws. Johnnie's unique tableside cart service along with an award winning wine list can be enjoyed inside surrounded by authentic Florida Highwayman art or lakeside on the tiki deck.
2 reviews
“Great food, great service, great time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

After hearing about johnnie's hideaway from a co-worker at work, I decided to take my family there when they came to visit me! It was great! We had drinks at the bar while we waited for our table, and the drinks were delicious! Then we sat down and our server greater us in a great and professional manner and explained the dinner special. I had the salmon and loved it and the rest of my family was happy with their meals. :) recommend johnnie's for a nice dinner!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greenchiqa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,043 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,314
    356
    186
    111
    76
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
1 review
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

I have eaten at Johnnie's Hideaway several times and each time the meal and service were perfect. I have food allergies, so I ask a lot of questions. The servers were patient with me, informative and gave me suggestions. Each time I visited, the server checked back with me after the food was served. A manager also came by the table to check on our party.

The salmon was cooked perfectly and the dessert was fabulous. I intend to go back regularly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pennykay407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
“exceptional service and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

we have visited Johnnie's before and had a fantastic dining experience. So we certainly were not surprised. But the service continues to be exceptional ... solicitous without being overbearing. And the food was exceptional once again. Two of us had steak and two of us had seafood. Everyone came away pleased.

I have frequented hundreds of restaurants throughout Florida and Johnnie's is easily among the top 10. I have recommended it to many and will continue to do so. Keep it up! It is deeply appreciated!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Our visit to Johnnies Hideaway was one we'll never forget. We come to Orlando every year for our wedding anniversary. Our concierge recommended we try Johnnies for dinner after asking for a place to dine outside the hotel. It was a disaster! 


Our server must have been having a bad day, which made our experience very uncomfortable. She just "took our order" after taking the time to talk the specials to her other table. When we asked her if there were any specials, she just pointed at the upper corner of the menu. So we just awkwardly ordered. My wife got the salmon which had a disgusting topping on it that we were not made aware of, and it was cold raw in the center. My lobster tails were mushy and smelled of ammonia! It took our waitress 15 minutes to check on us after someone just dropped the food off and ran. She sighed under her apology and took the disgusting over priced dishes off the table. We just asked for our check paid it and left. No manager visited our table or anything. We ended up going to the Red Lobster across the way. What a disapointment. 


We should have payed attention to the reviews on here. What a tourist trap. We don't want to mention any names, but we will be addressing the corporate office with our complaint. We can understand the food being off, but the rudeness of that waitress ruined our anniversary dinner. What a shame!!!

Helpful?
4 Thank cityslicker159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pt. Pleasant NJ
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fabulous food;FUN night out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Just returned from a week in Orlando-we wanted to try stone crabs for the first time. Johnny's Hideaway was recommended and it was one of the best dining experiences in our travels. I worked as a chef for 22 yrs and I can be a harsh critic. Right off the bat we appreciated the valet parking after spending 1 hr. plus in traffic as the area is very congested. Secondly, the complimentary amuse bouche was a lovely and delicious touch. The stone crab exceeded our expectations but the evening would not have been the same without our wonderfully fun waitress Linda(from NY). She had a GREAT personality and an uncanny ability to anticipate our every need. The drink and dessert sizes were huge- if you don't have room for dessert please take home a piece of the coconut/pineapple cake-5 layers-I ate it for the next 4 days!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JKE11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnnie's Hideaway also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Johnnie's Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing