We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good Food - Good Service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Johnnie's Hideaway

Johnnie's Hideaway
Reserve with OpenTable
Johnnie's Hideaway is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #54 of 3,726 Restaurants in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Lake Buena Vista
Cross street: Crossroads Shopping Center
Description: Johnnie's Hideaway is created in the image of time honored Florida flavors with emphasis on Floribbean coastal cuisine, serving hand cut dry aged steaks, prime seafood and an extensive raw bar featuring Florida stone crab claws. Johnnie's unique tableside cart service along with an award winning wine list can be enjoyed inside surrounded by authentic Florida Highwayman art or lakeside on the tiki deck.
Peachtree City, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Food - Good Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

This restaurant came highly recommended by a staff member at our hotel. The food was excellent, large portions, very satisfying and prepared to excellence. The service personnel were very attentive. Albeit a bit pricey, I thoroughly enjoyed the occasion.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VernK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,974 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,279
    332
    181
    107
    75
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Food, Amazing Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I ate at Johnny's Hideaway over 3 years ago and have wanted to go back sine then. Wehad the opportunity this weekend since we spent a long weekend in Orlando. The food was even better than I remember. We shared an appetizer of the shrimp and lobster fritters. They were scrumptious. For dinner - I had the long bone ribeye and my husband had grilled scallops. Both meals were prepared to perfection and absolutely delicious. Can't forget the fire and ice pickles that come with all meals. That is one of the main reasons that we wanted to go back to the restaurant. They were as great as we remembered. We asked if they sell them "to go" and they don't, but our fabulous waiter told us how to make them. Johnnies isn't a cheap meal, but it is definitely worth every penny.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Heidi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Inconsistancy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We have visited this restaurant several times, but I think our last time was indeed the last time. The menu is very upscale pricing. For this price range, the expectations are , that you should receive superior service & food. That is not the case. The blackened Grouper we received last time was not even, by appearances, cooked. By tasting it, it definately was not cooked. This food never should have left the kitchen, and even so, the server never should have served this.
Unfortunatly, this is not our first unhappy experience, and although they are capable of living up to their pricing, they frequently do not. We probably will never go back The atmosphere is nice, and the service, like the food, is hit & miss. It is too pricey for hit & miss. It should always be good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PROBABLYKNOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Looks can be deceiving”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Saw Johnnie’s while driving and it looked great. On walking in all the food specials looks great, along with the food at other people’s tables.
Unfortunately, we were disappointed. All of the food was average, and nothing spectacular. What really stands out was how bad our service was. We continually had to keep asking for items and almost seemed like we were a bother.
I would skip this place as there are better places for steaks and seafood for the price.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank RTW_Aggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
1 review
“You can find a much better value”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We arrived about 6pm and got a seat quick, then it started to head down hill. I am not a rich man but I know a good steak. For $34 the 14 oz Filet was disappointing, My girlfriend ordered chef's lobster, for $36 and although the portions were generous the food was unimpressive. The best overall on our ticket was the Truffled Portabella Fries, which were tasty and offered a generous portion. The service was sub-par for any establishment, let alone one priced as such, and one sporting at least 5 waiters outside. I don't care how "aged" or "caramelized" I didn't think the flavor was that great, especially for how light it made my wallet. I don't know what the children's steak tasted like but at least she ate it. This is not an establishment I would suggest for the family. The selection is very limited. The name Johnnie's Hideway would suggest this is a retreat from the norm of sucking money from visitors, but it's obvious it is like all the other establishments that charge high prices for sub par food, and service just because you're on vacation.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnnie's Hideaway also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Johnnie's Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing