We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Returned from Coronado Springs. Great Value.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Disney's Coronado Springs Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Disney's Coronado Springs Resort
Ranked #170 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Fort Worth, TX
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Just Returned from Coronado Springs. Great Value.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2005

This resort is great depending on what you are looking for. I want to dispel would a couple of negative remarks I’ve seen about Coronado Springs. First, Pepper Market is not that hard to figure out. A waiter brings you drinks and a meal ticket and you go decide what you want. The server will stamp your ticket and you pay for what you eat. This is explained by the wait staff when you are seated. Some still have a hard time with this but I’m not sure why. Second, the quality of the accommodations is about what you would expect when you pay this price. Perhaps you can get a slightly nicer place staying off property at that price but you won’t have the same benefits (transportation, package delivery, meal plan, etc.). The décor is exactly what you would expect from a resort themed in cultural elements of colonial Spain, Mexico and New Mexico. Third, the service was not bad. I spent a little more time checking in than I normally do but I can live with that. Our room was clean every time we returned from the parks. The one major negative for me is the size of the bathroom. All of the moderate resorts have the same layout which includes a very cramped bathroom. The other negative about Coronado Springs it the fact that it's so big that it's almost too much of a walk to eat on property. It's a 15 minute walk from the back side to the lobby and restaurant area. It's almost easier just to hop on a bus and eat at the park. The main pool features a slide and the pyramid that you see in most of the pictures. There is also a full service bar at the pool as well as a snack bar if you're hungry. The pool area also contains a hot tub, sand volleyball court, and a sand playground for children. There are several smaller pools that are much quieter than the main pool if you're interested. There are 4 bus stops at Coronado Springs so it's easy to go from your room to a stop without having to walk too far. I would say Coronado Springs a great value for the money. I've stayed at Port Orleans Riverside and I probably enjoyed that resort a little more because I liked the food options there and the fact that you could hop on a boat and go to downtown Disney. If you have kids either resort is a great place. If you're looking for romance there are probably better alternatives. If you are looking for pampering then spend some serious $$ and go to The Grand Floridian. Otherwise, if you’re looking for a good value and a place that offers more than just a place to stay you will probably be happy with Coronado Springs.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
25 Thank jt95_frog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,718
    2,122
    1,142
    547
    313
See reviews for
2,854
1,118
102
906
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,528)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, AL
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2005

My 6 year old son and I lodged here during the Labor Day weekend which was also the weekend of the Tom Joyner Family Reunion. The Coronado Springs was host hotel to this event and I tried on four separate occasions to change my reservation to a different Disney Resort. I'm so-o-o glad I wasn't able to make the change!!

While hosting such a large event in this hotel the Disney people were still able to provide others not associated with this event EXCELLENT CUSTOMER SERVICE!!!! We stayed in a Rancho which is pretty far from El Centro (front desk) and we had to walk a long way with our luggage, in the heat after checking in because transportation was not available when we first checked in. However, after that one setback we were able to use Disney buses, hotel transportation or walk from our room to the food courts, stores and other areas.

The concept of the food court was great but the food wasn't that terrific. We were splurging because it was my birthday so the $40 food tab at each sitting didn't bother me too much. When a six year old has to be forced to eat just one slice of his pizza says something about the tastiness of the food. Although the hot meals weren't really all that tasty the smoothies, desserts, bakery items, etc. were great.

We purchased bagels, drinks and goodies and kept it in the refrigerator for breakfast and were off to the parks where the food was better.

The cast members (hotel staff) all took time out to talk with my son about his favorite rides, characters, etc. and made it pleasant for the both of us. We never got around to playing in the game room or playing in the pool but we did get to see an armadillo, several lizards and dragonflies which was great for my son to see.

Everyone was helpful, helpful, helpful! Tickets can be purchased or upgraded right at the hotel which makes it all very stress-free and relaxing. We're planning our next trip at the same resort but this time we'd like to stay closer to the center of things perhaps in the Casitas.

I hope your stay will be as pleasant as ours!!!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Lovejones4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2005

My husband and I had a great time at the Coronado Springs. Our room located in Ranchos 6B was a little bit of a walk to the main lobby, but it was scenic and relaxing. The only problem I had with the hotel is the number of people who think that because the hallways are external they can yell to their family down the other end very early in the morning. The Maya Grill had a very good breakfast buffet, but we didn't eat either lunch or dinner at the hotel all week. We went to many of the restaurants in the other hotels, and at the parks mainly in Epcot. Les Chefs de France Restaurant in Epcot's World Showcase was one of the best. Bus service to the theme parks was excellent, usually only had to wait 10-15 minutes or so. We did rent a car, but only used it mainly to travel to the other resort hotels for meals and not to the main theme parks. If you use your car at the theme parks be prepared for a very long walk to the front gate, much easier to use the bus. Overall had a very enjoyable time at Coronado and would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Fl.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2005

We (me, my wife, & son) stayed at the hotel August 16-20, 2005 and had a very good time. We have stayed at every Disney hotel in the "moderate" price range. The room was just as good as the other moderate hotels but the food court was better than the rest. The food court was even better than two of the "luxury" price range hotels at Disney we have stayed at. There is a wide variety of different foods for breakfast & dinner (didn't do lunch there). If quality & variety of foods is important to you, Coronado Springs is where you want to be.

Helpful?
11 Thank rocketsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
637 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,095 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2005

We came to the US as part of our 2005 extended holiday to New York and Orlando. ( see aerlier review of the Kimberly hotel in NY ). These last 5 days were supposed to be "the icing on the cake".
INSTEAD. what we got was a pretty miserable experience. which started with the check in staff, when we found that "DISNEY" had confirmed the wrong dates on their reservation system compatred to our e mail confirmation, no apology and we were almost accused of causing the problem ourselves.
In the past we have stopped in the budget Disney hotels ( all starts and Pop Century) but as our daughters are more grown up ( 13 and 16) we wanted a bigger room, with a little more luxury. The room was no bigger than the standard budget hotel room, with the only benefit seeming to be the fridge ! The room was pretty small, the beds were small and hard and the room dimly decorated.
The air con was incredibly noisy. Whilst we were there, there were two conventions, and each night the bar area was packed solid with loud noisy and opinionated convention goers, you could simply not get near the bar.
Overall i think in comparrison to the budget hotels there was no difference and i would not recomend spending the extra dollars for a supposed larger and more upmarket room !

Helpful?
11 Thank Back9Bailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2005

What a great experience. The Maya Grill has something for everyone. They prepared a diabetic dish especially for my husband when he told the server he was a diabetic. The staff at the Maya are the best we have encountered in DisneyWorld so far during our many stays there. They are pleasant and very accommodating.

Coronado Springs is a wonderful place to stay. It is very seriene and comfortable. Everyone is eager to please - from the Housekeeping Staff to the Hotel Manager and everyone in between.

The staffs of the Coronado Springs Hotel and the Maya Grill know how to make their guests feel welcome.

We'll be back...............

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2005

I was pleased overall with this hotel. The rooms were very clean and had all of the essentials (iron, fridge, hangers, coffee, ect.) They have a man-made lake/pond that you can rent little boats/paddle boats on, but beware of alligator! We saw several 5ft and over gators, and the resort does not post this so watch out. Also, don't even bother eating at either of the 2 restaurants. They are absolutely terrible and way overpriced for the quality of dinning. Another negative is this place is too huge, and there are 4 or so different sections of buildings that surround the lake (each section had about 3 or 4 connected buildings) Therefore, if you are not close to the main building (registration) than you're going to walk very very far. You will probably get lost once or twice because finding your room can be a challange when the connected sections are exactly the same appearance.

  • Stayed July 2005, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
3.4 mi away
Disney's Saratoga Springs Resort & Spa
2.1 mi away
Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort
2.7 mi away
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside
2.2 mi away
Disney's Pop Century Resort
1.8 mi away
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Coronado Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Coronado Springs Resort

Property: Disney's Coronado Springs Resort
Address: 1000 West Buena Vista Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8403
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#36 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#94 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#139 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Coronado Springs Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1921
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relive the romance of Spanish-colonial Mexico as you follow in the footsteps of explorer Don Francisco de Coronado at this Resort hotel. Find your own mythical city of gold in a Southwestern-themed haven of brightly colored Casitas, rustic Ranchos and beachfront Cabanas encircling a glimmering 22-acre lake. Each accommodation provides a unique escape and a welcoming home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Disney's Coronado Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Coronado Springs Hotel Orlando
Coronado Springs Resort
Disney Coronado Springs Resort
Disneys Coronado Springs Resort
Disney Coronado Springs Hotel
Disneys Coronado Springs Hotel
Coronado Hotel Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing