We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my new favorite disney hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
Ranked #58 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2007

My husband and I started out on a 2 day disney getaway for our 20th anniversery and traveled to Daytona for the rest of the week, Well, we weren't in Daytona one day and we were back on the phone with disney booking the rest of the stay at Disney. We stayed at DPOR the first night and loved it so we returned for an additional 4 nites. The food was good, the location was wonderful and Disney makes everything so magical. We originally checked into The Pop Century resort but that one is NOT so magical. small rooms, hundreds of children screaming, crying, vomiting in the lobby during check in, we transfered right to DPOR. The only problem we had was the pool was forced to close 2 times in the late afternoon due to AFR.( accidental fecal release) We just went by riverboat to Riverside for the day instead. The best meal we had was at Wolfgang Pucks (upstairs dinging room) I have never had filet mignon so tender I cut it with a fork!!! We also ate downstairs at the sushi bar another night. i am planing another trip in November and we will be staying at Port Orleans.This time the children insist on joining us.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Fabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,532)
There are newer reviews for Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,857 - 4,863 of 5,533 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2007

My daughter (17) and I stayed at the Port Orleans - French Quarter the week of June 18. We hadn't been to Disney World in about 14 years. The hotel was beautiful and wonderfully laid out. It gave the illusion of actually walking down peaceful streets. The room was clean and nicely decorated. Cleaning staff always did an excellent job. Pool and hot tub are clean and nicely decorated. Restaurant had a nice variety of food and it was very good and I thought reasonably priced. Once again the workers are very courteous and friendly. The staff at the desk where you check in and out are friendly and very helpful. I was impressed with my whole vacation experience. I would definately recommend Port Orleans - French Quarter to anyone especially families. An added pleasure is the boat you can take to Port Orleans Riverside or to Downtown Disney. Very relaxing ride and beautiful scenery. Thanks for a great and memorable vacation. Hope to see you again much sooner this time!
Jan and Jessica - Cincinnati, Ohio

Stayed: June 2007
7  Thank RavenCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2007

This was our first Disney Resort experience, and we were certainly not disappointed! It seems there is a distinct difference between staying in a hotel and staying in a Disney hotel. When you stay in a hotel, you are paying for a place to put your head down at the end of the day. When staying at a Disney Resort, you are paying for an adventure. We were magically transported to the French Quarter of New Orleans (Walt Disney-style of course) each and every time we walked onto the grounds. Each and every little intricate detail of the architecture, from the wrought iron gates right down to every last tile, was specially designed to make you feel as if you really were in a different time and place. The gardens are beautiful, the pool is a ton of fun, and the names of the "streets" (Rue D'Blues, Rue D'Baga) are very entertaining.

As far as convenience, this resort is tops. The buses that ran to all of the resorts can get packed, but POFQ is the first pick-up when heading to the parks, and the first drop-off when heading home. It is also the least sprawling of the Disney moderate resorts. No matter what building you are staying at here, you can walk to the main building to go for a swim, grab some food, or do some souvenir shopping. There is also boat service from the resort to Downtown Disney, which is a nice change from the buses...very relaxing! The rooms aren't huge, but they aren't small either. Besides, who spends all that much time in the rooms, anyway? What was nice is the fact that there are two sinks in the rooms and the sink/mirror area is separated from the toilet/shower, so a couple people can get ready while someone is showering or using the bathroom. The only thing this resort doesn't have is a sit-down full service restaurant, but we did not particularly mind that since we did most of our sit-down dining in the parks.

Some suggestions: If you are looking for a quiet experience, make sure you have a room that does not overlook the pool area. Our building was right next to the pool, but our room was on the other side of the building (away from the pool), and we had no problems with noise. If you are a couple traveling without kids, as we are, make sure to get a room with a king size bed, as the other rooms only have two double beds. Be sure to pick up the souvenir mug for $11.99 even if you plan on eating mostly in the parks or other resorts. Any time you are heading to the parks, you can fill up your mug for free right before you hop on the bus. It is a hot/cold mug, so you can get unlimited water, soda, coffee, or tea for the duration of your stay. If you think about how much you would spend in a week just on your morning java, it's worth it. Try the beignets...they are fried dough topped with powdered sugar...and they are absolutely amazing!

We would definitely come back and stay at this resort again and again...

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank DisneyFan188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2007

POFQ was a great place to stay. We came home on June 29, and would reccomend this hotel to anyone. The pool is great the maid service was good. We asked for extra soap and shampoo and were given lots. Our maid even put a towel highway on the bed woth our grandsons Disney cars on it.The food is decent in the food court. The food plan is a must. It saved us alot and we ate at wonderful places.The only tiny drawback is that when you are leaving the parks, the loading zone for the hotel bus was always the farthest away from the park exit.All in all a great place to stay

9  Thank Huntress7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2007

This is a great hotel in Disney for the price that we paid. The rooms are very nice and also spacious. The pool area is very nice, but obviously geared towards more younger kids. The restaurant/buffet has decent food, but its pretty expensive. The only thing that i disliked was waiting for the bus lines. It's better than driving around with a rental car, but sometimes we were stuck on a bus for more than a half hour. Overall, a great place to stay in Disney!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank dkoller32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2007

This was our 2nd stay in Port Orleans French Quarter.
Last time we came it was closed for remodeling, so we stayed at Riverside and we missed POFQ!

We had 10 rooms for our reunion and everyone loved it.
Our bus service was awesome.
The pool was great - the kids loved the slide.

I think the only possible negative thing we could say - was we wished for queen sized beds, but they only have double beds...

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank SmithFamily84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2007

This is our second say at POFQ (we stayed here last year too.) While the grounds are totally beautiful, this trip was not as flawless as last year.

All the rooms at Disney are now non-smoking. However, our room clearly was a smoking room inthe past. The smell lingered and as the resort was full, we had no choice but to stay. That being said, the room location was great. We did not pay for a river view room, but in building 1, some of the rooms on the corners are great. We saw water out our window, and still we were steps from the parking lot. ( at no extra charge.) Be sure to request a first floor room as the elevators in this resort are not centrally located.

We have a 7 year old and she loved the pool. The slide is just fast enough for her to have a good time. The jr high crowd would be bored. There were enough life jackets to go around and the life guards were firm, fair and fun. The shower house/ bathrooms were spotless and I bathed the older daughter there twice when the little one was crabby.

The pack-n-play crib was not so spotless. While the crib sheets provided were fresh and clean, the p-n-p was not. It had dirty spots and holes in the sides. I wiped it out with several anti-bacterial wipes before I put the baby down.

The mini-fridge was housed in a end table-type cabinet. It did not close properly and was really scraped and banged up. I expect better from Disney. However, it really got very cold and even froze some of the watermelon we had brought for breakfast.

The beds are small (double, full... whatever) As a restless sleeper, the bed is just too small for me. I requested extra blankets and pillows, and the 7 year old slept on the floor. For the price and beauty of the resort.... I can live with this!!! The double sinks and privacy curtain are terrific. My husband can dress in privacy and not hide in the too small bathroom.

Mousekeeping was just fine. My only gripe was that they did not refresh the coffee packets. (a ploy to send us to the expensive food court?) When we asked, the front desk gave us plenty. Rooms were cool and tidy when we returned.

We ate only one meal at the food court. It was regular Disney fair. Tasty and pricey, but not smashing. I would recommend ingnoring the calories and just eating the biegnets. (they are to die for!!)

We LOVED the boats to Downtown Disney and used them twice. It's worth staying here for the beautiful grounds and the relaxing boats. I would come back again for a third year.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Dav&Tracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Buena Vista
Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Address: 2201 Orleans Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8424 (Formerly Port Orleans Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#33 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#43 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $225 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1008
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Revel in the romance and pageantry of New Orleans's historic French Quarter at this Resort hotel, where cobblestone streets, gas lamps, wrought-iron balconies and fragrant magnolia blossoms evoke the Antebellum era and colorful Mardi Gras characters and jazz keep things lively. Then stroll along the Sassagoula River to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside, home to Cajun and Creole specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Port Orleans Resort
Port Orleans French Quarter
Port Orleans Orlando
Disney Port Orleans French Quarter
Disney Port Orleans Hotel
Disneys Port Orleans Resort French Quarter
Port Orleans Disney
Disneys Port Orleans Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing