We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEST DISNEY TRIP YET” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
Ranked #63 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“BEST DISNEY TRIP YET”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2004

My wife and I stayed at the French Quarter from November 29 to December 4. We have previously camped at Fort Wilderness, stayed in the cabins at Fort Wilderness, stayed at Dixie Landings before it became Riverside, stayed at Riverside and the Caribbean Resorts. I don't offer praise lightly but the stay at French Quarter couldn't have been better. Check in was under 15 minutes and our assigned room was next to the food court and 125 yards from the resort buses. We feel, but can't verify, that our frequent visits contributed to the great room and rate we received. The $88.00 a night shows that Disney does offer deals every now and again. Thank you Disney and staff for a completely enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed November 2004, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,605
    1,865
    535
    147
    69
See reviews for
3,099
1,108
80
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,378)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2004

I just recently stayed 3 nites at Disney's Port Orleans French Qtr from 12/5-12/8. The resort was quiet and clean. We have clean towels and soap/shampoo everyday. Everyone was very friendly. The food court was opened until 12am everyday and the gift shop was open until 11pm. We stayed in building 7, which was all the way at the end of the resort, so it took us 5 mins to walk to the lobby where the bus stop was, which we didn't mind. The pool was a decent size and there was also a small hot tub. The Shuttle service was very good. It came every 20 mins and there was always enough room for us. I also liked the fact that since we stayed in a disney resort we get an extra hr in the morning for each park before it's open for the public. We also went to downtown Disney, which you can either take a bus or a boat from Port Orleans. The last boat leaves Downtown at 11:30pm. One night we had dinner at Ohana resturant in the Polynesian resort..it was very good... 25 bucks for all you can eat... meat and other types of hawaiian food. In addition, you can see fireworks from the resturant at 915pm every nite. If your flight leaves later than your check out time. You can leave your luggage at the luggage room, which is located by the lobby and it's free of charge. If you have any other questions, you can contact me via email.

Helpful?
16 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2004

We stayed at the French Quarter in May 2004. Two adults and a 7yo and 9 yo. Noone we knew had ever stayed there before. We were not disappointed. The rooms were clean and had enough room for the four of us. The pool was nice. Attentive lifeguards, ample fresh towels, nice bar service. Bus transportations is worth it's weight in gold. First to be picked up and first to be dropped off. Never had to wait more than 15 mins. for one. We had a rental car but only used it to get back and forth from the airport once we figured how great the bus service was. Food court was adequate for us with kids who lived on usual kid fare. Nothing fancy. Would definately stay there again and confidently recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed May 2004
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln City, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2004

Since I was a single guy meeting some friends at Walt Disney World, I knew that I was in for some long days and late nights. I wanted to be sure that I had a quiet place to crash and to get away from the parks and Pleasure Island. French Quarter was perfect. This place was quiet no matter what time of day or night I ventured out. Granted it was the first week of November, but there were still plenty of families enjoying the pools and grounds. Still, I felt very comfortable and secluded from the Disney pace - yet close to the action.

Not being too large, everything there is within a short walk. Although I was lucky to score a king bed corner room against the river and promenade, it wasn't far from the boat launch, bus stops, pool and pool bar, lounge, and food service. Downtown Disney and Pleasure Island are just a 15 minute boat ride from this resort - no busses or taxis to get to and from the clubs.

The king bed room was spacious, clean, and well kept.

I will most likely stay here again and do recommend others stay here that want a small (relative!) resort experience that is close to Downtown Disney.

  • Stayed November 2004
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Derek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2004

We stayed w/3 other couples at the French Qtr 10/16-23. Only 1 of 3 rooms was ready at noon to which we said no problem as we were going to the park until after 10pm. Upon arrival to our room, a prior guest's ponytail holder stayed on the bathroom floor all week, a razor was behind the sink and the shelf had a layer of dust (even after I requested a thorough cleaning the next day.) However, the room was quiet being on the top floor, towels always in the room and at the pool. It was also nice to always be dropped off from the park 1st. Our friends paid extra for a water view which is a window to a common walkway overlooking a small manmade river.

Helpful?
9 Thank cdwreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2004

We stayed at the Port Orleans Fench Quarter from October 1st to 3rd 2004. There were four of us, two adults, two kids aged 6 and 4. Hotel was very quiet and well kept. Rooms extremely clean. If you hate moldy bathrooms with peeling paint like we do, you'll like this place, everything was immaculate. Pool was great, kids liked the waterslide very much. We ate at Boatrights in Port Orleans, took the river launch to get there, a nice relaxing trip, good food, kinda pricy, nobody was dressed up (except us of course). $70.00 to feed two adults and two kids under 6, not exactly cheap, but we were burgered out by this point and wanted some quality food that wasn't fried. All in all we enjoyed our visit and would have no trouble recommending the French quarter to those who wanted a clean, quiet stay at Disney.

Helpful?
12 Thank Humetrains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Smith, AR
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2004

I stayed at the Port Orleans French Quarter for 6 nights in October 2004. As an annual pass holder, I received an excellent rate for the room. The room was clean and larger than I had expected from reading about the rooms. When we checked in we were given a smoking room, but a trip back to the front desk and this was corrected. The next room we were given had a fridge in it, which was very useful and saved a lot of money on food. The pool was nice and my 3-year-old daughter loved the water slide. One complaint I have is the pool slide closed at 8:00 pm, and the playgrounds closed at dusk. We went to the parks in the evening and by the time we were back at the hotel the playgrounds and water slide were closed. Even though the hotel was not very crowded we did hear noise from the adjacent rooms and outside. This wasn’t a real problem for us, but this could be a problem if the hotel was busier. The bus to Magic Kingdom was nice, but we found it quicker and easier for us to drive to all the other parks, since we had our on car. We had to wait a maximum of about 20 minutes for a bus at Magic Kingdom. Overall I was happy with the stay, and would stay here again.

Helpful?
7 Thank BPSFortSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
0.9 mi away
Disney's Saratoga Springs Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside
1.3 mi away
Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
2.7 mi away
Disney's Coronado Springs Resort
2.1 mi away
Disney's Art of Animation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Property: Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
Address: 2201 Orleans Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8424 (Formerly Port Orleans Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#33 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#43 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1008
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Revel in the romance and pageantry of New Orleans's historic French Quarter at this Resort hotel, where cobblestone streets, gas lamps, wrought-iron balconies and fragrant magnolia blossoms evoke the Antebellum era and colorful Mardi Gras characters and jazz keep things lively. Then stroll along the Sassagoula River to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside, home to Cajun and Creole specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Port Orleans Resort
Port Orleans French Quarter
Port Orleans Orlando
Disney Port Orleans French Quarter
Disney Port Orleans Hotel
Disneys Port Orleans Resort French Quarter
Port Orleans Disney
Disneys Port Orleans Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing