We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at French Quarter”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
Ranked #58 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Cleveland, Ohio
113
Reviewed December 6, 2004

We stayed at the French Quarter in May 2004. Two adults and a 7yo and 9 yo. Noone we knew had ever stayed there before. We were not disappointed. The rooms were clean and had enough room for the four of us. The pool was nice. Attentive lifeguards, ample fresh towels, nice bar service. Bus transportations is worth it's weight in gold. First to be picked up and first to be dropped off. Never had to wait more than 15 mins. for one. We had a rental car but only used it to get back and forth from the airport once we figured how great the bus service was. Food court was adequate for us with kids who lived on usual kid fare. Nothing fancy. Would definately stay there again and confidently recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: May 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,574)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,159 - 5,165 of 5,574 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2004

Since I was a single guy meeting some friends at Walt Disney World, I knew that I was in for some long days and late nights. I wanted to be sure that I had a quiet place to crash and to get away from the parks and Pleasure Island. French Quarter was perfect. This place was quiet no matter what time of day or night I ventured out. Granted it was the first week of November, but there were still plenty of families enjoying the pools and grounds. Still, I felt very comfortable and secluded from the Disney pace - yet close to the action.

Not being too large, everything there is within a short walk. Although I was lucky to score a king bed corner room against the river and promenade, it wasn't far from the boat launch, bus stops, pool and pool bar, lounge, and food service. Downtown Disney and Pleasure Island are just a 15 minute boat ride from this resort - no busses or taxis to get to and from the clubs.

The king bed room was spacious, clean, and well kept.

I will most likely stay here again and do recommend others stay here that want a small (relative!) resort experience that is close to Downtown Disney.

  • Stayed: November 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Derek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2004

We stayed w/3 other couples at the French Qtr 10/16-23. Only 1 of 3 rooms was ready at noon to which we said no problem as we were going to the park until after 10pm. Upon arrival to our room, a prior guest's ponytail holder stayed on the bathroom floor all week, a razor was behind the sink and the shelf had a layer of dust (even after I requested a thorough cleaning the next day.) However, the room was quiet being on the top floor, towels always in the room and at the pool. It was also nice to always be dropped off from the park 1st. Our friends paid extra for a water view which is a window to a common walkway overlooking a small manmade river.

9  Thank cdwreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2004

We stayed at the Port Orleans Fench Quarter from October 1st to 3rd 2004. There were four of us, two adults, two kids aged 6 and 4. Hotel was very quiet and well kept. Rooms extremely clean. If you hate moldy bathrooms with peeling paint like we do, you'll like this place, everything was immaculate. Pool was great, kids liked the waterslide very much. We ate at Boatrights in Port Orleans, took the river launch to get there, a nice relaxing trip, good food, kinda pricy, nobody was dressed up (except us of course). $70.00 to feed two adults and two kids under 6, not exactly cheap, but we were burgered out by this point and wanted some quality food that wasn't fried. All in all we enjoyed our visit and would have no trouble recommending the French quarter to those who wanted a clean, quiet stay at Disney.

12  Thank Humetrains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2004

I stayed at the Port Orleans French Quarter for 6 nights in October 2004. As an annual pass holder, I received an excellent rate for the room. The room was clean and larger than I had expected from reading about the rooms. When we checked in we were given a smoking room, but a trip back to the front desk and this was corrected. The next room we were given had a fridge in it, which was very useful and saved a lot of money on food. The pool was nice and my 3-year-old daughter loved the water slide. One complaint I have is the pool slide closed at 8:00 pm, and the playgrounds closed at dusk. We went to the parks in the evening and by the time we were back at the hotel the playgrounds and water slide were closed. Even though the hotel was not very crowded we did hear noise from the adjacent rooms and outside. This wasn’t a real problem for us, but this could be a problem if the hotel was busier. The bus to Magic Kingdom was nice, but we found it quicker and easier for us to drive to all the other parks, since we had our on car. We had to wait a maximum of about 20 minutes for a bus at Magic Kingdom. Overall I was happy with the stay, and would stay here again.

7  Thank BPSFortSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2004

We just returned from our stay 4 night stay at the French Quarter. 10/2/04-We had spent several weeks reading trip advisor and booked our trip and stay her from everyone's reviews. We booked our tip several weeks ahead and requested a non smoking room, fridge for someone with walking disablities. When we arrived we did not get the room requested and checked in at 4:00pm. We got a smoking room far away and in the inside of unit 2 on the 3rd floor! We called and asked for the room we requested and was told none where availible until the next day and that we needed to call in the morning to confirm we still wanted to move. We did and asked and requested again a room non smoking, and close to pool, bus etc for disability person. Was told they could not give us the room number but it was close to the pool. We packed up and had to have our luggage stored for the day until we returned from the park later in the day. We again went through check in and got our room key. This room was non smoking but was again quite a walk around the inside of the unit #5 not within easy waking from the lobby, bus stop, pool etc. Didnt want to mess with the move again! The next day after our return from the day at the park found our room not vaccumed, no clean glasses in fact was left in the same place as we had used them!, no coffee, table not cleaned and no soap, shampoo etc. All the maid did was make our beds and give us clean towels! I did call and cups, coffee and soap was brought to our room. Next day we pretty much had the same thing no cups but had clean glasses, and one bar of soap and one shampoo for 5 people!. Never say the cute towel animals in our room as this was one of the huge reasons we chose the french quarter for our stay with our kids. Very disappointed! The pool with the slide was a big hit with the kids and was open late but you could not find a towel! sometimes even in the afternoon. The food court closes at 10:00pm so if you happen to catch to stay late at the park by the time you catch your bus back you may only have one option for food. Bus service from the french quarter was excellent! Was always enough room due to being picked up first before riverside. Very friendly. Expect at least a 1/2 ride anywhere you need to go or return. Grounds where pretty and clean.

8  Thank momtoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Milwaukee, WI
14
Reviewed September 28, 2004

Everything was excellent! Plus during hurricane Jeanne we felt safe and sound. The staff was great.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Buena Vista
Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Address: 2201 Orleans Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8424 (Formerly Port Orleans Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#33 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#43 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $217 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1008
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Revel in the romance and pageantry of New Orleans's historic French Quarter at this Resort hotel, where cobblestone streets, gas lamps, wrought-iron balconies and fragrant magnolia blossoms evoke the Antebellum era and colorful Mardi Gras characters and jazz keep things lively. Then stroll along the Sassagoula River to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside, home to Cajun and Creole specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Port Orleans Resort
Port Orleans French Quarter
Port Orleans Orlando
Disney Port Orleans French Quarter
Disney Port Orleans Hotel
Disneys Port Orleans Resort French Quarter
Port Orleans Disney
Disneys Port Orleans Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing