We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
Nearby Hotels
Rosen Centre Hotel(Orlando)(Great Value!)
$309
$247
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$289
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$129
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$137
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$364
$255
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$274
$239
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$262
$229
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$615
$458
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (5,788)
Filter reviews
5,788 results
Traveler rating
2,918
2,039
587
164
80
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,918
2,039
587
164
80
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeignetsport orleansfood courtdowntown disneythe busriver viewsassagoula riverdisney worldcorner roomstayed in buildingdining plangift shopboat ridecast membersmoderate hoteldouble sinkstowel animals
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4,815 - 4,820 of 5,788 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2009

We stayed here last year, first time ever on magical grounds. This was our
sixth trip to DW, we've always rented properties which were nice but I just
couldn't wait to stay on the grounds. There truly is a difference and let me
tell you we weren't disappointed. My husband loves Disney but has always said
that it's not really a vacation, since this trip he has changed his mind. There
are buses and boats that take you to the parks, restaurants and shopping. There
are beautiful grounds, pools, hot tubs to relax in. Our dining was included so
we made arrangements and knew where we were going and when. The castmembers
couldn't be friendlier. The people in the lobby were so polite and quick. The
grounds, absolutely beautiful. We did have to wait until 3:00 to check in, but
that was the time stated, so we just took a drive around to get situated. The
room was nice, it accomodated the four of us just fine and we were in a nice
location-near the pool, lobby, shops, laundry and the boat launch. Even if you
have to walk, this place is just beautiful, relax and take it all in, remember
it was all done, every bit of it, just for your enjoyment. It still gets me
when I think of how much imagination, thought and work that it takes to make it
such a pleasurable experience for all who attend the kingdom. It amazes me in
such a selfish world one man had a vision and it was to make sooo many people
happy and to this day his vision is being carried out.
Anywho, we used the dining plan and the food was outstanding, so worth it. We
felt like kings and queens. I can't say enough, PO Frenchquarter was Magical.
We're going again this year. If you go, you won't be disappointed-believe in
the magic.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mickeyfanforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2009

My family has been to Disney and stayed at this resort several times. We love the small setting, compared to the larger resorts. We were a group of seven, so we required two rooms. I asked for connecting (BTW, must ask for connecting rooms, adjoining is next to) and had them. Check in was a breeze. One of the rooms was ready, so we went to that room to drop off carry-on stuff. Not even an hour later, the second room was ready and all of our luggage was in the room. So far, this was more than we could ask for.

We had a great couple of days, returning every day around 1pm from the parks for naps and rest. We were there for 6 nights and with four kids (Ages 7, 4 and 18 month twins), housekeeping of rooms is a necessity. The second day they arrived during nap times. We told them that this would be our time in the room each day. We collected trash and received new towels and they were on their way. The third day, they arrived at 7:45am, we were just about ready, and so we left for the morning. We returned to Mickey shaped and animal shaped towels. My older children were thrilled and loved them. The fourth day, they came at naptime again, after we had asked them for mid morning. The fifth day, they arrived at naptime again. With this, my wife called to complain and said that we would be leaving for the parks around 3:30pm and needed service, they never came. The sixth morning, my wife called again, she was assured that they would come in the morning ansd was told to "have a magical day". We arrived back from the parks and they had not come. I called this time and demanded that they come as soon as we left for the parks this day. We arrived back that night and they had not come. Rather than spoil our last night, we decided to let it go, but have since written letters to the General Manager of the hotel, Director of Operations for the Resorts, and the Director of Guest Relations. I believe that this problem is due to the incompetence of one or two employees out of the hundreds who were wonderful. I almost did not want to include this problem, but wanted to be fair to any other guests.

The pool is really fun for kids, it has a great slide. The pool bar is great for adults and the bartenders are wonderful. Do not ever take the bus to Downtown Disney; there is a boat dock behind the pool. It is about a fifteen-minute ride and is awesome. If you end up at Downtown Disney, take the boat back. Buses to everywhere else came within ten minutes of getting to the bus stop. Some of the buses do stop at the Riverside resort on the way there if the bus is not full. On the way back, the bus from Disney Studios and Animal Kingdom stop at Riverside first.

There is no restaurant at the resort, but the counter service is good. It does not have a great selection, but the friendliness of the staff was great.

We overall had a great time despite our housekeeping misadventures. This resort is great and we would go back in a second.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rchs20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2009

Disney Port Orleans – French Quarter Resort Review
February, 2009

We just returned from an 8-night stay at the Port Orleans French Quarter (FQ) at Disney World.

This was a good base for touring the various Disney parks. The grounds are very nicely landscaped.

Given the quality of the room, prices are definitely higher than you would expect to pay for the same quality of room outside of Disney. For the additional price you are getting the following benefits:

* Use of the Disney bus and boat transportation systems, so you don’t have to drive and pay for parking.

* Purchases made in the park can be delivered to the motel’s gift store. However, you must be staying for at least two nights from your time of purchase to make use of this.

* Magic Hours - Early entry/late use of a specific park which is only available to Disney resort guests. However, some guides suggest not going to parks on the days which have the Magic Hours, so you might want to think about the value of what you’re getting.

* Ability to purchase a meal plan, which will get you some discounts on food.


The word “resort” in the name is probably stretching the definition a bit. Large motel would probably be more accurate. There is a cafeteria-style dining, but no sit-down full service restaurant. The serving area is small and congested, and you will need to keep a sharp eye out for an available table during busy times. There is a small bar area, a video game arcade, and a gift shop.

Food at the cafeteria was limited, and quite expensive. We were also disappointed at the amount of packaging used (everything is served on paper plates, which have a plastic lid put on top, plastic silverware, and everything is then thrown in the garbage). There was one recycling container for bottles, near the exit, but you had to hunt for it. Decorations consist of oversized plastic mardi gras style masks.

The motel room was fairly clean, though I did find some debris from previous guests. The front doors of some the rooms were scraped and looked like they needed a coat of paint.

Motel type amenities (small in-room refrigerator, coffee maker, hair drier) are provided. Soap and shampoo are provided, but not hand lotion. There is a nice design feature, which is a curtain which separates the sinks/changing area from the rest of the bedroom. This is nice to allow for a private changing area, and to allow one person to sleep in a bit while the other showers or changes.

Staff were helpful, and knowledgeable about park activity times.

The room was generally quiet, which was appreciated after some long days of touring the parks. However, we did hear the sound of toilets flushing from the rooms around us. Also, we were there during a colder spell, so didn’t have to deal with people lingering on the porch/walkway which runs in front of the rooms, which has been a complaint of other reviewers.

Like all of the Disney hotels/motels, this one is large (but smaller than some of the other properties), so try to get a room relatively close to the bus stop and cafeteria to minimize long walks at the beginning and end of each day.

The pool is quite large and fun for kids. Lifeguards were on hand, and appeared to be vigilant. There is also a hot tub. A pleasant trail winds alongside the river, which is nice if you’re looking for a quiet place to get away from things for a bit.

We didn’t spend much time at the motel, and only used it as a place to sleep and have breakfast. For us, it was nice not having to rent a car, and just using the Disney transport system and having our purchases delivered. We also fully used the meal plan we had purchased.

We also planned to eat dinners at various restaurants in different hotels and parks, so were not concerned about the lack of a full service restaurant.

If the above sounds like your plan for visiting Disney World, and you are OK with the basic motel amenities, then the French Quarter might work for you.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Smokeyham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2009

October will be our 3rd time staying at this wonderful resort. My family and I love everything about this place. It's small, all buildings are close to the bus stop, food court, and pool. We love the boat to downtown Disney...and we also enjoy the beignets for breakfast...Yum!! It was always nice after a long day at the parks to come back to our room and relax. The housekeeping was great, and always took care our our trash and gave us fresh towels. We are literally counting down the days till our next trip.

Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
3  Thank allie3490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2009

The advantages to the French Quarter: everything is easily accessed, everthing you need within a few steps; shared ammenities with its sister resort the Riverside. The boatride over to Downtown Disney and the sister resort is a nice ride. The pool is great for the little ones and no need to worry that its too big and overwhelming. I enjoyed the piped jazz music around the pool. There is an aracade, food court for all meals, laundry room right by the hot tub. The lounge is great as well with great musicians.
The greatest advantage for a family is that everything is within a few steps no worrying about the kids getting a few steps ahead. There is a store on site for any forgotten items or souveniers. There is a poolside bar and some really neat Orleans touches in the decor. The only downside to any disney property is room size, corner rooms allow a bit more room. Go ahead and count the hidden Mickey's in the rooms theres always some to be found!

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gichy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews