We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort and convenience,”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
Ranked #65 of 341 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2009

We stayed ant Port Orleans-French Quarter for our first trip to Disney World last week. We were very happy with our choice. We booked our trip through the Disney site and used the Magical Express to get from the airport to the resort and back. It did take a few hours for our luggage to arrive in our room. You will want to bring a carry-on with a change of clothes and pajamas for the kids. Our luggage got there well after bedtime. Overall we were very happy with our stay at the resort. We purchased the deluxe meal plan and it was definitely worth the money. The room was decent. My daughter was so excited when we returned to the room in the evening to find towel animals and her teddy bears arranged in a "towel hammock." The room could have been a little cleaner but it wasn't so bad that I wouldn't stay there again. There was a little mold in the grout of the shower and the carpet could have used a shampoo. The food court had a nice variety and the staff was friendly. The pool big and fun. The water slide was a winner for my daughter. Buses to the parks ran pretty regularly. Sometimes they were crowded and we had to wait for the next one. This was not such a problem on the mornings that we got an early start.
I would definitely stay at this resort again. I would also use the Magical Express and purchase the meal plan. It was a great trip.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MichiganFlier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,691)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,732 - 4,738 of 5,691 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2009

For our very first trip to WDW, we decided to immerse ourselves fully in the Disney experience & stay at a WDW hotel. We chose this hotel as it was mid range & looked lovely. And, yes it was!

Helpful, happy staff all around....concierge, luggage, cleaning, bookings EVERYONE was lovely.

Pool was gorgeous, grounds were pretty & immaculate.

As I have a disability, we asked for a room close to the lobby and got it. They were so helpful.

Buses were regular (unlike All Star Music which was SHOCKING) & on time.

Close to Downtown Disney. Catch the ferry to here as its nice sightseeing on the way.

We wanted to stay here the whole trip BUT couldnt as it was booked out so we stayed here for 6 days & then had to go to All Star Music which was a whole new (bad) world.

We would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jhoppy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2009

POFQ must have one of Disneyworld's best locations. We LOVED the free boat that took you to Riverside or Downtown Disney. A very pleasant way to get about. We never waited more than 5 minutes for a bus, and all the trips we took were very quick with no stops, usually 10 mniutes or less. Buses were punctual too, which was important at the end of a very long day. We really enjoyed the fun pool area, the hotel layout was very nice, we thought that the woods on the opposite side of the river gave the POFQ a very nice non-Disney feeling. We really liked that the whole Disney thing wasn't shoved in your face at this resort, as it really seemed like a hotel instead of part of Disneyworld.
Downsides were the poor beds, which really belonged at a sleezy motel rather than a resort with aspirations of grandeur. The just-about-bearable beds were complimented by the worst pillows too, also befitting a sleezy motel. At least they very quickly replaced them with feather pillows when asked, which improved our sleep. This hotel is very quiet at night, but the bar and jacuzzi areas were quite lively. The other big negative here is that the restaurant is cafeteria style, which is fine for breakfast maybe. WE ended up eating at Downtown Disney often, giving us a great excuse to take the lovely boat in the afternoons and evenings when you want to relax. In all, I do think this is a good choice, but ask for a room with new beds.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lindagaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2009

I booked this hotel after revewing many other moderate disney resorts through trip advisors and other sites. We stayed at the caribbean beach before and we found the FQ is so much better since it is smaller and provides a relaxing resort atmosphere. We went to the Port Orleans Riverside (next door) one evening for dinner and found that the service is not as good, tense, and quite chaotic; perhaps because they have to serve too many guests. All and all, we love the French Quarter and got to appreciate the smaller resorts and the convenience. One bus stop and don't have to wait for long to get to the parks. We also bought the Quick Service Dining Plan that we really like. We use it a lot at the downtown disney Wolfgang Puck Express and this really make the plan worthwhile. The boat trip to downtown disney is wonderful. The disney magical express is also truly magical. We got our luggage at the room. At the end of the stay, dropped and checked them in at the airline desk at the hotel and stored our carry on with the friendly bell service to be picked up after we played at the park and catch the magical bus taking us back to the airport. I truly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LoveDisneyTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2009

Stayed at the French Quater in 2006. Very nice hotel. Ive stayed at many different disney hotels and liked this one. The rooms were very nice and clean. The dragon pool was very cool. Had a lot of fun with that !! I also liked the river ride on the boat to Downtown Disney/. One thing I would have changed id a closer room. We were in building 5 and it was kind of far from the main building. Loved It and would go back real soon.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dflora7702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2009

This was not our 1st trip to a Disney Resort, but we loved POFQ! The smaller size of this resort makes it special, short line-up for bus, food, check in & etc. Also loved the easy boat access to Downtown Disney.
Very clean and well kept.
WILL RETURN!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fundytrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2009

Very average hotel. Just like any othe place I've stayed. While I wouldn't make a special point to stay here, it was just as good as any other place. The room was clean, and generally looked pretty typical. Pool seemed nice, although we didn't swim because it was too cold. It had a little playground too, which my twins loved. It's smaller than the Riverside, which was nice for several reasons. 1. less walking to/from room. 2. one bus stop for the Disney parks versus at least 4 at the Riverside location. That is a big deal when coming back from a long day at the parks and you just want to get back to your room and not wait through a bunch of other bus stops. The boat took you to Downtown Disney and was nice; however, closed when it was too windy. It only has a cafeteria (no restaurants), with average food but costs a Disney$$ price. Welcome to Disney world, that is common. Buy the Disney cups for bottomless sodas, coffee, hot choc, etc, although remember it is only good in the resort, not the theme parks.The bus system to/from resorts was excellent. Never had to wait around for a ride, and the buses were clean. While I would not recommend the hotel, I would not discourage one from staying here either.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank daisymb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
0.3 mi away
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside
1 mi away
Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort
4.5 mi away
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Disney's Coronado Springs Resort
2.1 mi away
Disney's Pop Century Resort
2.1 mi away
Disney's Art of Animation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Address: 2201 Orleans Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8424 (Formerly Port Orleans Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#33 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#43 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $221 - $430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1008
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Revel in the romance and pageantry of New Orleans's historic French Quarter at this Resort hotel, where cobblestone streets, gas lamps, wrought-iron balconies and fragrant magnolia blossoms evoke the Antebellum era and colorful Mardi Gras characters and jazz keep things lively. Then stroll along the Sassagoula River to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside, home to Cajun and Creole specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Walt Disney Parks & Resorts, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Port Orleans Resort
Port Orleans French Quarter
Port Orleans Orlando
Disney Port Orleans French Quarter
Disney Port Orleans Hotel
Disneys Port Orleans Resort French Quarter
Port Orleans Disney
Disneys Port Orleans Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing