We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great laid back disney option”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
Ranked #58 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed here in April 2014 for 5 nights towards the end of a busy 3 weeks in the park and it definitely exceeded our expectations. Beautifully landscaped grounds, lovely relaxing and peaceful feel - just what we needed after a day at the parks, friendly staff and the site is fairly small so a couple of minutes walk gets you right across it to the pool, restaurant, shop, boats to downtown disney etc.

Our room was averagely sized and we quite liked the sinks behind a curtain rather than in the bathroom layout, a new one on us! It looked newly done up, was immaculately clean, beds were comfy and the room was quiet, there was very little noise from either other rooms or from outside (my usual complaint about hotel stays).

The kids loved the pool and slide and the arcade and especially toasting marshmallows on the campfire, a nightly ritual well managed by some lovely staff who were great with the children. There is a nice little hot tub, well stocked shop and playground. Food, as everywhere at disney that I have experienced, was not great quality and overpriced for what it was although we found it better than at the beach club resort where we also ate. Staff were helpful but there is a system of ordering different things from different counters, some of which require a buzzer telling you when it is ready to collect but this resulted in an un relaxing meal time, my own meal going cold while I jumped up and down at different times to collect others. However, we had a car and generally ate out of disney.

Overall, we loved it and I would highly recommend staying here - if you are looking for a laid back feel, beautiful surroundings and some down time after the parks this is it. We visited other disney hotel sites and were so pleased we had chosen this one. If is in my opinion a bit less full on disney than others and has a quieter feel which was perfect for us and if you are looking for the same this is the place to go.

Room Tip: We requested a quiet corner garden view room on the back of other reviews which we got, our room was...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familytraveller083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,531)
There are newer reviews for Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,376 - 2,382 of 5,531 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2014

So I did my research and thought I was safe! The unfortunate thing is that even checking this site for one of the better rated "moderate" priced Disney resorts left me disappointed and feeling duped. While the appearance of this resort property was nice and calm, the amenities left a lot to be desired. First, our room was a decent size but the lack of storage and places to hang our clothes made it highly impractical. The major no-no was the stained curtain divider and the dirty shelf above the closet area. The unpolished and dusty shelves and tables where we put our things (in order to be organized). The towels smelled like gasoline and I get that they have to bleach them but they are rough and don't make you feel fresh after showering. I am big on clean floors and surfaces. Also, have a strong fear of bedbugs. Thankfully, none were spotted or seemed to present themselves during our 6 night stay. The food options were just ok. Our sister resort which by the way, was way more affordable had wonderful options like make your own pasta and great variety. The Riverside is the way to go for dining at least! Keep in mind it is more populated and wait lines for buses to the parks are going to be long and cramped. Next time I will stay at Riverside to save on expenses because it seemed to trump its over-priced counterpart. Side note: The door man was awesome though!!

Room Tip: Ask for building 4 or 5 because they are close to the bus stop and food court.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amee78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

I stayed at this resort during the last 2 weeks of January 2014. Although the weather wasn't nice and the Pool was under renovations, we really enjoyed our stay here. The resort was easy to find our way around and the front counter staff were friendly and helpful. We got the usual towel art mickey when we arrived in our room but although I tipped everyday, we didn't receive anymore towel art which was a bummer. The buses weren't as crowded as the value resort buses had been when we stayed at POP and there was no big school crowds at this resort while we were there. POP had a few hundred cheerleaders while we were there in January 2013. The rooms are a nice size and the food is ok. I loved that we could hop on the boat to Downtown Disney and we did that A Lot!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 2Wonderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

This resort is compact in size. It was a close walk to the food court, pool and bus stops. The room was nicely decorated with two queen beds, a flat screen TV, bureau, small refrigerator, coffee maker and table for two. There were double sinks and a place to hang your clothes in an adjoining area next to the separate toilet and tub bathroom.

The grounds are well manicured and there are walkways (with cute names) and garden areas throughout the resort. There is a boat dock where you can board a boat to the Downtown Disney area, or visit the resort next door (Port Orleans Riverside). Only busses run to the parks from this resort.

We only ate lunch one time at the food court. We had tuna sandwiches and they were good. The food court can get very crowded at times. We found some of the staff to be friendly and some were not. Housekeeping was hit or miss, but we always had fresh towels and toiletries.

We did have a nice stay at this resort and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Deb L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

This was the second time I have stayed at the French Quarter at Disney. The resort has a great feel, you can tell it is a small resort when you step onto the property but it does not feel like it is missing anything for it. it only has one bus stop for onsite buses, but you do not have to walk as far to your room. The rooms feel larger than they are, very open and clean,

The grounds really feel like you are in New Orleans, old trees, cobble streets, bright colors. the Cast members are very helpful, as always, even helping to replace a teapot that broke in shipping to the room when we received it the day before we left.

This is probably my favorite of the moderate resorts, the size being a main part, it keeps the buses from being overly crowded most of the year. You can take the boat into DownTown Disney, the bus everywhere else or stay by the pool and enjoy the sunshine.

Room Tip: corner rooms, building 3 is far enough from the pool to miss the noise but close to the main entranc...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Galaxcytraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Very nice hotel. The hotel was very clean. The staff were friendly. The grounds were beautiful. Transportation to the parks was excellent. Food was pretty good but dining options were limited. Activities for children were very good. Nice pool too.

Room Tip: Courtyard facing are better than the parking lot.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank momtosaranc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

What a great resort for our first Disney experience! The staff was extremely friendly and they treated our son like a little prince for his birthday visit! The dining plan gave us many options and was a great value. The grounds to the resort we impeccable. The resort location in proximity to the parks and Downtown Disney were great. Pool was great and the movie on the lawn was a relaxing family experience at the end of a long day! Truly magical experience and we can't wait to return!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shanyrisley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Buena Vista
Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Address: 2201 Orleans Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8424 (Formerly Port Orleans Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#33 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#43 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $223 - $382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1008
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Revel in the romance and pageantry of New Orleans's historic French Quarter at this Resort hotel, where cobblestone streets, gas lamps, wrought-iron balconies and fragrant magnolia blossoms evoke the Antebellum era and colorful Mardi Gras characters and jazz keep things lively. Then stroll along the Sassagoula River to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside, home to Cajun and Creole specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Port Orleans Resort
Port Orleans French Quarter
Port Orleans Orlando
Disney Port Orleans French Quarter
Disney Port Orleans Hotel
Disneys Port Orleans Resort French Quarter
Port Orleans Disney
Disneys Port Orleans Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing