We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family vacation 2008”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
Ranked #66 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2008

Hi

We stayed here for 2 weeks in the summer. Had no complaints at all. Room was cleaned to a high standard every day. Always plenty of towels. Had a corner room on 5th floor overlooking the pool. Don't think we could have had a better situated room.

My brother arrived 3 days after us and i was able to go to reception desk the day prior to his arrival, where i was shown what rooms were available near to us. Got to pick the one closest.

Disney transport to parks was excellent, only twice during our two weeks were we put through the torture of having to drive round riverside!!

Pool area was great for a break from the madness of the parks. Pool area very clean ,always got a sunbed and always plenty of towels.

We would definately chose POFQ over POR, mainly because it is so much smaller and everything was within easy walking distance.

Stayed: June 2008
2  Thank luckiestlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,731)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,836 - 4,842 of 5,731 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at the French Quarter for seven days in September. We enjoyed ourselves and really liked the resort. Having stayed at many Disney properties before, we tried French Quarter this time and really enjoyed the quaintness and small size of this resort. The rooms were clean and comfortable, the pool was great and the Food Court was useful for refilling your Coffee mug and a quick snack or bite to eat. We highly recommend the Disney Dining Plan as it is a real money saver. Disney transportation was fabulous and we also loved taking the boat over to Downtown Disney. We will definately stay again and we really love the customer service Disney has to offer!

Also, September is a great time to go to Disney! No lines and more value!

Please note that we used Disney's Magical Express Service and it was fantastic! Our bags were delivered to our hotel room not long after we arrived at the resort and it is fantastic being able to check your luggage in the lobby on your way home.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sunnyday12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2008

The PO-French Quarter is a nice little moderate resort on the Disney Property. It is the equivalent of a 3 star hotel in my opinion.

The room was clean, the AC worked great (and was down right freezing with the ceiling fan on), and the beds were comfortable. The resort itself could use some painting (the doors are marked up) but nothing was bad about the resort.

We arrived about 9am and we were able to precheck-in with a 5 minute wait. We were then off to the parks and back when the room was ready about 2pm.

I did not eat in the food court but it looked busy and loud (but this is average for a Disney Counter Service place). The buses were good, but the Magic Kingdom bus always seemed to be the one we waited for. Coming back to the resort you usually get lumped in with the much bigger PO-Riverside Resort so waits can be longer after the fireworks.

Overall I would rate this as a great place to stay and worth the Disney Price.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chuckreis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2008

I did alot of research before I booked and I chose the Port Orleans French Quarter for it's smaller size - BINGO!! Everything was a short walk - to the pool, the lobby, Disney transportation. The pool was great although we did not spend much time there. We paid extra for a water view on the river in building one and it was awesome. We had a second storey view of the river and the golf course on the other side. Loved the ferry boat to The Riverside Resort (also a short walk up the path) and Down Town Disney. Our room was roomier then I had imaged and I loved the curtain dividing the sinks and the bathroom which made for a great changing area. We paid for a town car rental from Tiffany Town Car Rentals (would recommend) $60. plus tip from airport which included a stop at the grocery store and purchased food for breakfast , beer and wine. With the fridge in the room we saved $$ by eating breakfast every morning before we left. We were also on the Disney Dining Plan which I loved. You have to research and book your dinner reservations before you leave but it is well worth it. Everything went so smoothly and every meal was fabulous. I preferred early dinners (5pm-6pm) because the restaurants get so busy later. After a day at a park we were ready for an early dinner. The French Quarter does not have a sit down restaurant but food is available until 10pm in their cafeteria. The food is OK but we only ate there 1 time as we were in the parks for the day and had reservations elsewhere for dinner. This resort was PERFECT and I met many other travellers who had been to other resorts and are return guests at the French Quarter.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sassyshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2008

This is our third time staying here. We love the boat to Downtown Disney. The rooms, location and pool were Disney perfect. The grounds are beautiful and it is nice to be able to walk to its sister hotel Riverside. We also loved all of the parks.

This time around, however we did have some problems. The housekeeping department did the the least it had to do to make the room look neat. We came from Hilton Island and had gotten sand on the bathroom floor when we arrived and the floor was still gritty when we left. We went for the free meal plan and the servers were not sure how to make that work. The bus lines were also slow and some bus drivers were not helpful. This was the first time we have ever had such problems when going to disney.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank poppyNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2008

We have just returned from 15 nights at the Port Orleans French Quarter and had a great time. In all we had eight members of family and extended family staying in 3 rooms on the ground floor of block 5, which is convieniently placed near the pool and food court. The grounds are beautifully laid out with extensive planting which gives the whole place a very nice feeling. We have previously stayed at the All Stars and this hotel is a lot smaller, quieter and much more landscaped. The rooms are larger than the All Stars, nicely laid out with a large TV and Refrigerator. The pool area is nicely laid out with a shaped pool and novelty slide. There were a large number of lifeguards who constantly walking around the pool, watching the swimmers. The food court is very small, although you can also walk to the one at Riverside which is a lot larger, as is its shop. There is a regular boat service to Downtown Disney which makes a pleasant cruise on a hot day.
Transport to all the Parks was regular and up to Disneys usual efficiency, although you can easily and quickly get to Downtown and Typhoon lagoon if you have a car. The hotel does not have a full service restaurant although there is one a short walk away at Riverside. The maid service was very good, and left novelty towell shapes for the children (and grown ups) to enjoy. All in all we had a great time and would certainly return in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank WelshTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2008

I was very pleasantly surprised by this resort! It was very clean and I loved the Louisiana style decorations!

Everyone we encountered was very nice, the staff seemed to really enjoy being there!

We had stayed at Coronado last August and the food court at POFQ is probably 5 times better! I loved how fresh it was! Definitely try to get the beingets (sp?) in the morning! Great breakfast treat! 6 for under $4... so you get to use it as a snack! You can choose from pizza, pasta, chicken parmigiana, chicken nuggets, sandwiches, hot dogs, corn dogs, salads, cheesteaks and much more! Something for everyone!

Buy the souvenir cup for sure!! We would fill it on the way to the parks in the morning and everytime we came back it was with us to refill again! Really enjoyed that and I loved being able to bring it home!

Didn't have time to check out the pool or hot tub but there were tons of kids there! The gift shop was full of things you might forget too! Sunscreen, tootbrush, bathroom supplies, etc!

Had a great time! Hope you do too!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank texas07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
1 mi away
Disney's Saratoga Springs Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside
1 mi away
Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
2.7 mi away
Disney's Coronado Springs Resort
2.1 mi away
Disney's Pop Century Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Address: 2201 Orleans Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8424 (Formerly Port Orleans Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#33 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#43 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $243 - $527 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1008
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Revel in the romance and pageantry of New Orleans's historic French Quarter at this Resort hotel, where cobblestone streets, gas lamps, wrought-iron balconies and fragrant magnolia blossoms evoke the Antebellum era and colorful Mardi Gras characters and jazz keep things lively. Then stroll along the Sassagoula River to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside, home to Cajun and Creole specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Walt Disney Parks & Resorts, Hotwire, Priceline, bedfinder AG, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Port Orleans Resort
Port Orleans French Quarter
Port Orleans Orlando
Disney Port Orleans French Quarter
Disney Port Orleans Hotel
Disneys Port Orleans Resort French Quarter
Port Orleans Disney
Disneys Port Orleans Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing