We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Extended Weekend Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
Ranked #65 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Walled Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Extended Weekend Getaway”
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here in December 2012 for a long weekend. Our room was great. Simple, clean, quiet, and comfortable. The decor of the resort is very fun with unique details all over the resort. We took the boat to Downtown Disney to avoid the crowds - worked out well! We ate at the food court as well as the restaurant at Riverside. Food was delicious at both locations. We had no issues with bus transportation. I would recommend this resort for a couple with a moderate budget.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,702
    1,927
    554
    152
    69
See reviews for
3,222
1,139
86
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,426)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Nyack, New York, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed at the Port Orleans French Quarter for six nights between Christmas and New Year's. This was the second time we stayed here. The first was in 2008. First the good things. The property is clean, attractive and well-maintained. The self-serve restaurant serves affordable meals with a broad selection. The staff is friendly and helpful. The environment is safe for tweens to walk around alone to go to the arcade, restaurant and gift-shop. Rooms are big enough for four. Transportation to parks is reliable. Now for the less than optimal. There's not much going on at the hotel. There's no big lobby area to gather, so it felt a bit boring on New Year's Eve. The decor of the rooms is dated. Dark furniture, small bathrooms, gold curtains and carpet. Kind of dark inside. Overall: a well-priced Disney property, but you have to make some compromises in ambiance.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in building 4 or 5. They are closer to transportation and restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston
Level Contributor
105 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This is a charming resort with the "New Orleans" influence. Everything is within easy walking distance. Nothing is more than a couple minute walk. We went at Christmas time and the resort was just beautiful! I loved the ability to take the boat to Downtown Disney. This is a great resort for small children and older adults.

Room Tip: I really don't think you can get a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fun2gogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed for 5 nights late November, just the wife and I. Since we don't have kids we looked for a resort that was for both couples and families. Check-in was pretty easy. They already had us in their system when we arrived and brought us right up to our room with no delays (around 2pm).

Room: We stayed on the 3rd floor which was pretty nice since there is no one above us, we had quiet nights. We asked for a kind size bed but instead we got 2 queens. Since I was getting over a cold I just slept on one bed and my wife slept on another, no biggie. The bathroom was separate from the sinks which gave you a little more room. Cleaning service always did a great job keeping the room clean and gave us new towels every day. Bed was a little firmer than I like but it’s a hotel so that’s expected.

Food court: Its true they do not have many healthy options however, if you don’t mind eating oatmeal every morning you’ll be ok. Lunch time they have a few selections that are decent. If I stayed more than a week I would have to get food somewhere else.

Grounds: Overall the layout of this resort is quite nice. It’s fairly small and easy to get to everything. They even have elevators in case you have problems with stairs or are in a wheel chair. As for the bus schedules, you are the first to be picked up and the first to be dropped off. This was a very nice convenience!

Overall this resort did exceed my expectations. It’s a great “moderate” with some extras here and there. One thing to note is if you have a large family, this may not be the best selection. The rooms were plenty large for us 2 but if you have 4 people in the same room you may be walking over each other. Hope this helps.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tappan, New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

My fiancé and I stayed here while we visited Disney and universal for 4 days. After booking my parents informed me we stayed there when I was younger. The rooms were nice but modest. The bathroom was small but okay for the two of u. For a family I could see this being a little tight. The cafeteria eatery was okay. The portions were decent but their options were a little lack luster. Us being foodies that was a but of an eh. The restaurant at the riverside was nice but wasn't impressed. The boat to downtown Disney was nice. Overall the hotel was decent and provided what we needed. A bed a bathroom and ac. The service was nice too.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
79 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We just stayed there at the beginning of January. The rooms were very clean and we had a nice view of the river. We were allowed to check in early and our rooms were adjoining as requested. The resort food was good and the kids enjoyed the heated pool. The bus service to the parks was easy and timely. I would recommend this hotel, just wish it was a little more affordable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KCH143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We really enjoyed our time at the POFQ. It was a great experience from check in till the time we left.

We organised a private transfer rather than the Mickey Express - we arrived at the hotel, and reception area was empty - we were met by a cast member who checked us in online, and got our magic bands for us (these really are a great idea).

We stayed the week before Christmas, and it wasnt as busy as we were expecting which was nice. Things did start to get busier in the days before we left, so our timing ended up being quite good.

The kids loved the pool, and the activities during the day - particularly marshmallows around the campfire. The movies on the lawn were also a great way to end the day.

We didn't eat on a dining plan, which suited us - and often the food court was sufficient for our needs.

We hired a car to get around the parks, which we quite liked not having to constantly wait for buses. We used the boat to get to Downtown Disney most day - but by the end of the week the wait was a bit ridiculous even in the mornings - being second on the pickup, the boat was close to full by the time it got to POFQ - so they were only taking 4-6 people each time.

Staff were always very helpful, and our room was kept nice and clean.

Our only disappointment was not being able to check in our bags at the hotel on the morning we were leaving - but that was not the hotels fault.

Room Tip: We stayed in Bld 6 - while a bit further from the main areas, it was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dore2dore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
0.9 mi away
Disney's Saratoga Springs Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside
1.3 mi away
Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
2.7 mi away
Disney's Coronado Springs Resort
2.1 mi away
Disney's Art of Animation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Property: Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
Address: 2201 Orleans Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8424 (Formerly Port Orleans Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#33 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#43 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1008
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Revel in the romance and pageantry of New Orleans's historic French Quarter at this Resort hotel, where cobblestone streets, gas lamps, wrought-iron balconies and fragrant magnolia blossoms evoke the Antebellum era and colorful Mardi Gras characters and jazz keep things lively. Then stroll along the Sassagoula River to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside, home to Cajun and Creole specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Priceline, HotelPower, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Port Orleans Resort
Port Orleans French Quarter
Port Orleans Orlando
Disney Port Orleans French Quarter
Disney Port Orleans Hotel
Disneys Port Orleans Resort French Quarter
Port Orleans Disney
Disneys Port Orleans Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing