We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Room & Lovely Pools & Great Boat Ride.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
Ranked #64 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely Room & Lovely Pools & Great Boat Ride.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Lovely room. Mousekeeping was great too with a dog made out of towels, which we then took home. The main pool was lovely and the kids enjoyed the slide. The boat ride to Downtown Disney was a different way to get there. Yes, the buses could get crowded but at least it saved you parking costs. The onsite "restaurant" served average food for above average price but it was ok for the days you couldn't be bothered to drive to eat anywhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,650
    1,882
    541
    149
    69
See reviews for
3,151
1,120
81
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,394)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
155 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

French Quarter is charming, it is a smaller "moderate" Disney resort--room is average-but pool is big and nice, has a small slide- and pool bar with good drinks and reasonable prices-what I like about the resort is every building is fairly close to the main building/dining hall/shop etc....you do feel like you are in New Orleans, what with the wrought iron on the buildings, tree lined streets , mardi gras decorations...
has a good food court--they even have beignets! just need the cafe au lait to go with them :)
Every Disney moderate hotel has a sit down restaurant as well, but we've yet to try them--my 8 year old prefers the pizza/hamburger fast service meals, and they do have good sandwich offerings at the food courts

Just a short walk up the river is the Port Orleans Riverside resort, has a larger food court with more choices--love the hot turkey dinner there---

we didn't have any problem with the bus transportation--we made sure we hit it at the right time, buses run on the half hour mark

We have been Disney annual passholders for going on 3 years now, we are slowly making our way through all the Disney resort hotels---although they can be quite pricey at times, you just have to keep watching, as the prices do fluctuate greatly depending on seasons

Room Tip: we always choose the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spacemountainmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Choppington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Having never stayed in a Disney Hotel or in an US Hotel this review is hard to compare to others in the area.

The grounds are well maintained, the rooms a bit dull in decor and small with the bathroom in particular too small. The staff in generall are very polite and welcoming, with the odd exception in the dining hall. The odd one clearly not enjoying their role. The food in the hall is average and ok for breakfast and snacks. We had the dinning plane inclusive of evening meals, so we tended to eat at restaurants for this. The pool area is very good and well supervised until 8pm, although you can stay in the pool until midnight. The bus service in general was well used and at the most we waited was about 20 mins. The boat service to Downtown again very good but stopped on occasion due to the storms (as does everything outdoor in Disney when lightning appears to be on its way). The location of the hotel is excellent as everything is only a 15 minute bus ride away, we had a car for the two weeks we were there but only used it to get to supermarkets and Universal studios.

We stayed in block 4 which was at the front of the building near the car park and kitchen. This was annoying in the early hours when vehicles reversing had there bleepers sounding to warn.


All in all a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a fridge in the room, it saves you a fortune!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NAD1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

My family and I stayed at this resort 9/2 through 9/8. The room was a little small but very clean and comfy. The grounds were immaculate and beautiful. Had it not been for the busing issues we encountered, I would give the resort 5 stars. However, French Quarter shares buses with Riverside. I have seen reviews where very lucky families only share the bus with Riverside once, maybe twice. This was not the case with my family. On several occasions, when leaving the park for the night, ALL other resorts had completely empty buses and hardly any guests waiting in line for the bus. It would seem that the Port Orleans resorts had an inadequate amount of buses to handle the guests staying there. I'm not sure these issues would have existed had French Quarter and Riverside had separate busing. Also, when you are returning from a park and sharing a bus with Riverside, most times you have to stop at all FOUR of Riverside's bus stops before getting to the ONE bus stop for French Quarter. It seems unfair that they make French Quarter guests sit (or most likely stand) through all of Riverside's stops when you shouldn't even be sharing a bus with them in the first place (at least not when they are both fully booked). Also, don't plan on staying for the fireworks in Magic Kingdom. You will be waiting for 3 or 4 buses before you get on and it is about 15 to 20 minutes for each bus to get there. So you are talking about an hour wait while you watch all other resort buses go by empty. We left Epcot early one night before fireworks to avoid this issue but were unsuccessful. We should have just stayed for the fireworks...

On the plus side, like I said, the resort is gorgeous. The pool was awesome! Also, we really liked the food court. The boat to Downtown Disney was very relaxing and enjoyable (unfortunately, also shared with Riverside lol).

Because of issues with the buses, we would not stay at this resort again unless we rented a car. I wish I would have rented a car the day I got there because it was really a downer on our vacay. I had not anticipated spending hours a day on transportation or being jammed onto a packed bus and standing in the aisle with a toddler and a stroller. We booked Wilderness Lodge for next year. It seemed like the deluxe resorts had many more buses. If not, I will be renting a car! ;)

Room Tip: Buildings 4 and 5 were very close to everything. We stayed on the top floor and it was very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nuggetsmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown Heights, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Just got back from POFQ. Overall great resort, smaller than other Disney resorts, so very manageable walks to/from room to bus or restaurant. Beds were comfy, rooms were a decent size, housekeeping was OK.
Buses: Overall very good, never shared with POR. Only had one problem in 5 days (45 min wait for MK bus), every other time bus was there within 10 min.
Water taxi to DD was a nice change of pace.
Overall the resort seems more laid back and quiet. People were very nice and helpful.
Room suggestion: I like the upper floors. The walkways outside the first floor rooms always had a lot of dead worms, lizards, and frogs. It was a little gross. I wouldn't want that right outside my door.

Room Tip: Upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mommatish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

My wife and I spent our honeymoon at this hotel in April. The resort has received many excellent reviews so I just wanted to highlight a couple of points that we thought set this resort apart (plus a recommendation on which buildings to request at the bottom):

1) Grounds - the Sassagoula river flows through the resort and there are pristine garden areas throughout. It's ideal for a peaceful stroll after a day in the parks. We explored many of the other resorts during our stay and amongst the moderate or value resorts it stood out to us for its peaceful and romantic feel.

2) Transport - the FQ tended to have its own bus to and from the parks rather than sharing with other resorts (during quieter times it does share with Port Orleans riverside). For example, one evening we ate at the boardwalk and on catching the bus back to downtown Disney, it called into 3 other hotels. FQ tends to be really direct, getting you 'back home' sooner

3) Boat Trip - Port Orleans resorts offer a boat trip to downtown Disney along the Sassagoula. This is a relaxing ride and a lovely change from taking the bus

4) FQ v Riverside - Riverside looked beautiful too, both sharing similar looking grounds along the Sassagoula. Riverside has four bus stops as it's so much larger. This isn't a big deal but calling into four stops every time you take a bus to or from the parks could become a little bit tiresome. FQ only has one stop so again it's really direct. Riverside does have a table service restaurant but as it's only a 5 minute walk along the river from FQ it's really accessible.

Finally, I'd recommend staying in building 6 or 7. It's toward the top end of FQ so is the closest to the riverside resort meaning it's ideally located to take advantage of the amenities in both hotels.

Room Tip: I'd recommend staying in building 6 or 7. It's toward the top end of FQ so is the closest to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AL4N99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed here for 8 nights with my family (we were 2 adults and 2 girls). In contrast to a previous stay at the cheaper All Star resort a few years ago this felt just average. Have Disney been cost cutting too much? The biggest positive is the fact that this is part of the Disney eco system, so transportation to all the Disney parks is excellent. Our room was large enough but - and this was a big surprise - not as clean as I wished. A squashed bug on the shower wall that was present when I arrived was present when I left, soap scum from previous residents was visible in the shower bath tray and our bedcover had dried blood stains on the inside (the bedcover was at least changed very efficiently when I complained). Aircon was effective but very loud which disturbed our sleep. The landscaping is ok but there's not much atmosphere about the place and the Port Orleans theming didnt really work. Last time we stayed the maids made animals with the towels every day, this time they gave up after day two. We had the quick service dining plan so ate breakfast every morning and dinner on 3-4 occasions. In 8 nights there it was very disappointing that the dinner menu did not change once. Breakfast is ok as long as you want waffles, pancakes or a variety of dishes involving scambled egg. The dining experience itself is no different from the value resorts - self service counters and food served on paper plates with plastic cutlery.

Finally, the itemised bill that was promised to be emailed to me at check out didn't happen.

So overall it provides a functional experience and the kids were happy, but don't expect the hotel itself to be a highlight of your stay. Based on my experience at All Star Magic previously I was expecting more.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony_No
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
0.9 mi away
Disney's Saratoga Springs Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside
1.3 mi away
Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
2.7 mi away
Disney's Coronado Springs Resort
2.1 mi away
Disney's Art of Animation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Property: Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
Address: 2201 Orleans Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8424 (Formerly Port Orleans Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#33 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#43 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1008
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Revel in the romance and pageantry of New Orleans's historic French Quarter at this Resort hotel, where cobblestone streets, gas lamps, wrought-iron balconies and fragrant magnolia blossoms evoke the Antebellum era and colorful Mardi Gras characters and jazz keep things lively. Then stroll along the Sassagoula River to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside, home to Cajun and Creole specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Port Orleans Resort
Port Orleans French Quarter
Port Orleans Orlando
Disney Port Orleans French Quarter
Disney Port Orleans Hotel
Disneys Port Orleans Resort French Quarter
Port Orleans Disney
Disneys Port Orleans Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing