We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best 2 weeks of our life!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
Ranked #65 of 336 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Worksop, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best 2 weeks of our life!”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Wow! What can I say about Port Orleans French Quarter Resort? We were staying in Block three which was pretty close to the pool, bus stops & restaurant. The room itself was immaculate in every way possible-we especially liked the mickey mouse ears made from towels which were there to greet us. All staff were friendly, in fact we couldn't spot a member of staff with a frown!
We had the standard Disney Dining Plan. If anything you get to much! My daughter (who is 11) couldn't eat two meals per day AND you get one snack! We were worrying so much about not having enough to eat...don't worry. If anything you get more than enough!
Bus service is quick & sharp. The locations, station signs and information is clear. Animal Kingdom and Magic Kingdom are the furthest away at an average of twenty minutes. Epcot is so close we could see the fireworks at night from our hotel!
No, the pool doesn't have lots of slides but we didn't really need it!
So once again Disney has given us another great family holiday and risen above average. Although, parks do get busy so get there early!
Lauren, England

Room Tip: I would request getting a room in block three as it's closet to everything! Oh, and make use of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Lauren E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,676
    1,903
    550
    151
    69
See reviews for
3,190
1,130
82
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,408)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We have three girls under five, and stayed for a week at Port Orleans - French Quarter. A little disappointed that the boat to Downtown Disney was down because of wind warnings, but other than that it was everything we had hoped for! Great staff, beautiful setting, close enough to the parks, and you can't beat the Disney service. They took great care of us! Oh, and if you go to French Quarter - HAVE A BEIGNET! Mmm!

Room Tip: The resort is small, so don't pay extra for a preferred room. Even the farther buildings are a n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KLaugh10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

One of my most beloved childhood vacations was when we stayed at the Contemporary Resort hotel, so I was excited to plan a first time WDW vacation for my 9 year old daughter and my husband. Granted, that was back in 1987 when Disney only had the Ft. Wilderness campground, the Polynesian, and Contemporary Resort (The Grand Floridian was just a framed wooden structure across the lake!). And my Dad said it was just $45 a night (!) But I remember how convenient staying on a Disney property was and how much there was to do. I thought the Port Orleans resorts looked the best of the Moderate category resorts.

However, after reading many of the reviews here on Trip Advisor, it looks like when a guest has a problem (or, like us, a SERIES of problems), the hotel doesn't really know how to rectify the situation. We went into this holiday really excited. It's a shame that we had the experience we had.

Here is the letter we just sent to WDW Guest Communications. I apologize for the cut and paste, it's just easier that way!

Dear WDW Guest Communications,

We hope you will help us resolve some issues we had during our first ever stay at your Port Orleans Resorts (and first ever trip to your Orlando theme parks) the week of July 24th - July 31st.

Basically, we were told by three different Cast Members that we had $300 credit applied to our bill due to the issues we had at both Port Orleans Riverside and Port Orleans French Quarter. We were satisfied with that and felt it was fair for all that we had been through. However, when we received our bill on the morning of check out only $100 had been applied to our bill. We called Guest Relations and they said $100 had been applied and another $200 had been applied the next day so we would have to speak to the Front Desk at Port Orleans French Quarter to find out why the $200 had been removed.

We asked to speak with a Manager at French Quarter but Front Desk told us no manager was available. The Front Desk Cast Members couldn’t give us an answer as to why the $200 had been removed, other than we had been given the wrong information by those three Cast Members. They said they would call the Manger and see what they could find out. After a five minute call, the Front Desk returned and said they were authorised to give us an additional $100 credit but that was it. They had no explanation as to why $200 had been revoked.

Here is an outline of our experience at the Port Orleans resorts and why we believe $300 was not over-compensation for what we went through:

Wednesday, July 24th:


We arrived at Port Orleans Riverside around 9:45pm that evening. The Front Desk at Riverside was great, no issues checking in. We booked a Pool View room and we were staying in the Acadia Building. We put our bags in the room and went to the dining hall for a late night dinner.

When we arrived at the dining hall, it was chaos. There were a lot of teenagers around and not many adults supervising. It was pretty loud and the teens were pushy and rude. We were feeling a bit uneasy at this point but were also tired so we just wrote the experience off. We were looking forward to getting to bed for an early start at the Magic Kingdom the next day.

When we arrived at the Acadia Building, there place was in pure pandemonium. Hundreds of teenagers were screaming and running in packs. This is not an exaggeration. They were just running around and screaming, out of control. Our nine year old daughter was nearly trampled by a group of a dozen of them. On the balconies above our room, in the building next to ours, these kids were just going berserk with screaming and running around. There were two security guards standing next to us who looked completely overwhelmed as to what to do, such was the chaos. Other families booked into these buildings were coming out of the rooms, we were all asking the kids to be be quiet, but they would just scream back at us. We had no idea what was the reason for this mass delirium. We were guessing Brazil won a soccer game or something.

It was plain to see that our room was right in the middle of a group stay of these teenagers and we would NOT be having a nice, quiet, tranquil family stay at the Riverside. We went to the Front Desk and asked to be moved to another hotel IMMEDIATELY. They were extremely accommodating and moved us to French Quarter where they said there were no Brazilian group stays booked. As she made the arrangements for us, we let her know that we don't blame the hotel or the staff for our request to move, we just knew we wouldn't be happy staying ANYWHERE where that many unsupervised teens were staying. They told us that these groups had chaperones but the chaperones clearly did not have control of their charges!

We were also upgraded us to a Riverside view at French Quarter. It was around 1am before we got to sleep that night, much later than we had wanted to go to bed because we wanted to be at the Magic Kingdom for the Extra Magic Hour in the morning.




Thursday, July 25th:

To say we woke up after a horrible night’s sleep is a bit wrong because we felt like we never went to sleep thanks to the ROCK HARD mattresses in your resort. Whoever made the buying decision on these should be required to spend a week as a visitor and see what it is like to try and get any kind of sleep on those Flintstone-inspired concrete slabs.

And, like at Riverside, the refrigerator was also broken.

We returned to the resort from the Magic Kingdom around 3pm and Will stopped by the Front Desk to ask if anything at could be done to soften up the beds. The Front Desk said they could send over some egg crate mattress toppers for them. Will said that would be great. They asked if we wanted toppers for both of the beds and Will said, “Yes, please.” She said she would have housekeeping deliver and install them.

Around 5:30pm ONE egg crate mattress topper was delivered by a porter who told us we would have to put it on ourselves. Will called the Front Desk again and told them we received only one topper. The woman at Front Desk said a second one would be delivered and the beds would be ready for us when we returned that evening from the Magic Kingdom.

We returned around 11:30pm and the beds are all neatly made...but they still felt hard as a rock. We pulled back the under sheet only to discover that neither of the beds had the toppers!

In other words, not only did they NOT deliver the second egg crate mattress, they REMOVED the one they delivered earlier.

Yes. Really.

Will called the Front Desk again, explained what happened, and asked for TWO egg crate toppers to be delivered immediately because we were very tired and really wanted to go to bed.

The Front Desk’s response was, “I’m sorry, we don’t have anyone available to deliver those to you tonight. You’ll have to wait until tomorrow.”

We were very surprised with this response. Will insisted they find someone to bring us these toppers otherwise we would be leaving the resort tonight. We could not have another sleepless night. The Front Desk said they would send someone over.

About fifteen minutes later a porter arrives with...wait for it...ONE egg crate topper. We asked where the other one was. He said it is coming from somewhere else and we’d have to wait for it.

By 12:45am we were still waiting and had our fill of this situation

Will called the Front Desk again to find out why there was such a delay. He spoke with a really friendly, conscientious girl named Megan. She was very sympathetic and said she would get everything sorted out. My husband asked if he would be able to speak with the hotel manager and Megan said she would have the manager call us the next day. She also said, “This is not how we do things here and I’m going to give you a $100 credit, and in the morning the manager will call you and apply a larger credit.”

Will thanked her very much for her help and at 1am the second egg crate arrived, which we had to put on ourselves.



Friday, July 26th

We had a late start in the morning after two nights of delayed sleep. At 10am the Housekeeping Manager called, but Will said he wanted to speak to the HOTEL manager, not the Housekeeping Manager. We waited until noon for someone to call us but they never did. We left for EPCOT because it was getting late and we were tired of waiting.
While we were at EPCOT our daughter started to feel ill and we thought we better cancel our tickets for the Spirit of Aloha dinner we had that evening. Holly called the Dinner Reservations number listed on her confirmation e-mail. The Reservations desk said the tickets had already been delivered to the hotel so we had to speak with Concierge at French Quarter. Holly was also told that because we were cancelling due to illness that the Concierge could issue a refund to her credit card since she had prepaid for the tickets. Holly called the French Quarter Concierge desk and explained the situation. Concierge said they would take care of everything.

When we returned to the room, there was a voice mail from the Hotel Manager. The message that was left gave us the impression that he didn’t know much about the specifics of the situation.



Sunday, July 28th

We had laundry to do and went use the facilities at French Quarter. Half of the machines were out of service because the payment system used for those machines was not working. Tensions were high in the laundromat due to only half of the machines being available and the number of guests who needed to use the facilities
In the evening we wanted to go to Downtown Disney via the water taxi service. Three taxis went by...all for service to Riverside. There were approximately forty people in line waiting to go to Downtown Disney via the river taxi. One of the River taxi captains said an empty boat was on its way. When the empty boat arrived the captain said it was going to...Riverside! Not Downtown Disney! A family of three got on the boat, the vast majority of us decided to go and catch the bus.

Not once during our stay were we able to get a river taxi to Downtown Disney because they were either full with guests from Riverside or only going to Riverside.



Monday, July 29th

Around 9pm, Will went to the Front Desk and asked to speak with Megan so he could thank her for her help and to check about the credits that had been issued to us. He asked a woman at the Front Desk named Mary if Megan was there and she said that Megan was not in that night. Will asked if she would be in this week and Mary said she didn’t know, Megan may work during the day or do a double shift.



Tuesday, July 30th

Will ventured to the Front Desk to see if he could find Megan. A slightly older lady working there said they didn’t have anyone working at the hotel with that name. She then said that Front Desk calls are handled by an offsite calling center. She looked at the record of our account and tried to find out who Will spoke with Thursday evening, but she was unable to do so.
Will called the number that he thought was the Front Desk in an effort to find Megan, just to give her thanks, but no one at the call center knew anyone named Megan. They were able to confirm that someone credited our account by $100 on July 26th and there was an additional $200 credit on July 29th. This was consistent with what “Megan” had told us would happen and we were satisfied with this gesture as compensation for our problems.



Wednesday, July 31st (Check-out Day)

The final bill arrived and we noticed that the $100 credit was on there but the $200 credit was not. Will called the “Front Desk” number again and they confirmed that a $100 and a $200 credit had been applied but we needed to find out why the $200 credit had been removed. She said we would have to speak with someone at the Front Desk about it.

We both went to speak with Tom at the Front Desk. He told us that the Cast Members who had told us about our credits made a mistake. A $200 credit had been made, but then was overridden by someone on July 29th and removed, leaving us with only the $100 credit.

Tom also said that we had not received a refund for the Spirit of Aloha tickets, but he would refund that to our card immediately ($166).

This brings us back to the beginning of my letter where we asked to speak to a manager but there wasn’t one present. Tom called someone who authorised only an additional $100 credit, not the full $200, and we never received an explanation as to why the $200 was revoked.

The anger we felt at this point is truly hard to describe. What was otherwise a really great vacation at the theme parks simply fell to pieces at the resort. We left on a very bad note, feeling we had been misled and lied to by your Cast Members. Currently we are under the impression that your properties are poorly run and poorly managed.

What we expect to achieve by contacting you with this letter:

-Find out who we actually spoke with on July 25th. She was the only person we dealt with who sympathised with our situation and gave us the initial $100 credit. We would like to say thanks and recognised her for her service.
-Who took away the $200 credit we were told we would receive and their reason behind that decision.
-Compensate us with the original $300 total credit.
-An apology for how this situation was handled.

As we mentioned, we had a great time at the theme parks and definitely plan to return to enjoy them, possibly even next year. But we would find it very difficult to recommend your resorts after what we experienced.

Many thanks for your attention to this letter and we hope to hear from you soon with answers to our questions.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank auxarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Clare, Ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

My husband and I, and our two boys (7&9) stayed at this hotel for 10 days in May. This was our third time in Orlando, but the first time staying at a Disney hotel. Took the Magical Express from the Airport which was so easy to use and dropped us right to the hotel door. Check in was a breeze, we had requested a room in Building 4 and our request was met and we were also upgraded to a Garden View room.

The facilities at the hotel were great. There was a large pool with dragon slide (which the boys loved), hot tub, bar/lounge with entertainment, counter service restaurant, internet & wifi, gift shop & bus service to the Disney parks and to Downtown Disney. You can also take a boat ride from the hotel to Downtown Disney or to Riverside. Must mention the lifeguards at the pool were excellent, taking their job seriously and never leaving the pool side.

The food at the hotel was counter service only which we knew in advance. We had the Dining Plan which was great and we ate breakfast here most mornings, we had dinner here on a few occasions. The food was good for counter service, however it would be great if there was more variety. The same menu was on each of the 10 days we stayed.

Overall, we had a great holiday here and will definitely be back. I would highly recommend staying at this hotel, it was so easy to get around and everything was to hand

Room Tip: Building 4 is very near the restaurant, pools, and bus stops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank AnClar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berks, England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Just got back from here and we really loved it. We were upgraded to a river view room when we checked in at 10 in the morning and the room was ready straight away. We loved the fact that you could get a boat to downtown disney. I used the spa most days as it was really nice and warm. The resort is so clean and nicely set out. We are going to go back in 2015

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ge0rdiebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

My son picked this hotel by the picture of the pool. I don't think it would matter where we stayed in Disney, the service is unbelievable everywhere you go and this hotel is no exception. I am amazed at how well they anticipate your needs. Ask anyone any question and you'll not only get a helpful answer but additional suggestions, information, and ideas that you didn't even think of. The pool was a hit with my 8 year old too. The Disney transportation to and from the airport made travel almost stress free (the stress coming from traveling with kids not from Disney). Getting around the Disney resort was easy and busses timely and dependable. This was a great vacation. I can't wait to do it again!

One thing, if you need to work out while your in Disney, you will need to stay somewhere else. There is no fitness facility here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

First time, we have visited Disney. The whole experience was second to none. The room was clean and very comfortable, with fridge and safe included. The pool and activities and lifeguards were exceptional. The Disney dining plan took some working out and at the end of the holiday we were left with 18 meals left over. The meals were good but the choice was restrictive after a week. We loved the transport to take us to the disney parks - fabulous! Why go to Universal? Something for everyone.
Thomson Cook online however were not as good as could have been.

Room Tip: All rooms at the French quarter were similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Pickles2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
0.9 mi away
Disney's Saratoga Springs Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside
1.3 mi away
Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
2.7 mi away
Disney's Coronado Springs Resort
2.1 mi away
Disney's Art of Animation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Property: Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
Address: 2201 Orleans Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8424 (Formerly Port Orleans Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#33 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#43 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1008
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Revel in the romance and pageantry of New Orleans's historic French Quarter at this Resort hotel, where cobblestone streets, gas lamps, wrought-iron balconies and fragrant magnolia blossoms evoke the Antebellum era and colorful Mardi Gras characters and jazz keep things lively. Then stroll along the Sassagoula River to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside, home to Cajun and Creole specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Port Orleans Resort
Port Orleans French Quarter
Port Orleans Orlando
Disney Port Orleans French Quarter
Disney Port Orleans Hotel
Disneys Port Orleans Resort French Quarter
Port Orleans Disney
Disneys Port Orleans Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing