We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A trusted brand doesn't disappoint.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
Ranked #65 of 338 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A trusted brand doesn't disappoint.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I stayed here during October 2012 with my 2 children, 11 & 15 on our first Disney World holiday. Obviously its a very flamboyant place & the experience begins from the moment you get on your bus from the airport & we were impressed from that moment on. The hotel did not disappoint. The attention to detail is wonderful & the quality of our stay was high. It's a very clean environment with very helpful & friendly staff. Our room was of an excellent standard & I really cannot fault any of the services the hotel provide. There are lovely little touches everywhere; an outdoor cinema club, showing a different Disney classic each night on a small area of grass right next to our accommodation block, a camp fire party toasting marshmallows next to the river where steam boats take guests to & from Down Town Disney, pool-side games with enthusiastic staff, a large hot tub that we relaxed in every evening & a pool side bar that I used on a couple of occasions to watch a game over a beer, or 2, are just a few of our favourites. The food was of a decent standard & the meal deal we had opted for was marvelous value. I particularly enjoyed eating breakfast outside in the sun, but had to hope for a table as there are only a few located outside. Towards the end of our 2 week stay there was only one small niggle. I started to grow quite tired of hearing the omnipresent New Orleans style jazz music that is piped in to all areas of the resort, including the toilets! This is more of a personal negative though, I'm sure some people may find it positively charming, but not me!

All in all, this was a wonderful holiday, based in a wonderful & attentive hotel. We were very happy with our stay & would highly recommend. Disney may be taking over the World, but they'll obviously be doing it in a very clean, efficient & polite way! ;)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank noonoo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,381
    1,708
    494
    133
    64
See reviews for
2,827
997
68
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
184 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Just spend 4 days there with family. Overall decent sized room though bathroom was disproportionately small-- it was hard to use the toilet with the door closed, boats are great instead of buses food court not the best

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theellitts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

It was my first time staying at the Port Orleans French Quarter Resort. Having stayed numerous times at the Port Orleans Riverside Resort, I opted to try out its sister property.

The Port Orleans French Quarter Resort is much smaller than the Port Orleans Riverside Resort. This was nice but sometimes it felt way too quiet. The nice New Orleans (Mardi Gras) theme was not overwhelming but kept you feeling like you were not in Orlando.

The rooms were spacious. Housekeeping (Mousekeeping) left a lot to be desired with my first room. The first room was dirty with a few bathroom stains in the bathtub and the toilet areas. The room are tastefully decorated but not as nice as the Port Orleans Riverside Resort.

This resort had more of an adult guest mindset rather than the Riverside that is more catered towards families. And, Yee Haw Bob is not at this resort although they did have nice entertainment in the lobby at night.

Boat ride to Downtown Disney is a great offering here, too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend stayed here last week for 2 nights. The hotel is excellent value compared to other disney hotels. Upon arrival you are greeted with the warm disney welcome you expect. The hotel staff are attentive and always willing to help, nothing is too much trouble. We requested a corner room with a view of the river and this is what we received. Beautiful room with a huge bed. Little details like towels folded in the shape of Mickey Mouse are a nice feature. The resort is quiet and peaceful which is nice when you come back from a busy day in the sun at the parks. The resort has a reasonable size disney shop and a large self service restaurant. We only had breakfast once there but we were pleasantly surprised by the quality. French quarter benefits from being first pick up on the port Orleans bus route meaning you are guaranteed a spot on the bus. Some buses run solely to French quarter and miss out riverside resort which is an added bonus. Overall I have no bad things to say about this resort. And I would recommend it to anyone.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
119 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The hotel staff was consistent with the overall Disney image - the staff was very pleasant and friendly. We loved the swimming pool - especially with the water slides for the children.
We also appreciated the conveniences that came with the hotel:
1. We used the Disney transport (buses for going to the parks; boat for going to Downtown Disney) and found the frequency very good
2. The convenience store at the hotel was well stocked
3. The food court, although a little limited for vegetarian options, was still sufficient for our 3 night stay
4. There was a small gaming area, but we did not use it
5. The most useful part of staying in a Disney resort is the Disney card - which serves as the entrance ticket and also a credit card. It was very handy and we used it at all restaurants / shops in the parks as well.

The rooms were a little small for 2 queen size beds and felt a little cramped for our family of 2 adults and 2 children (ages 11 and 8). So was the bath area. But these did not bother us much, as we did not spend much time in the rooms.

The hotel is not very large, and hence easy to find your way. Very short walks to the bus stop / boat stop / food court etc. Unlike Port Orleans - Riverside which seemed a little intimidating.

Also, the hotel is on the banks of the river and a little away from the park madness - which was very welcome after coming back from the parks.

Please note that there is no fitness centre at the hotel.

Room Tip: We had the standard room. But since the hotel is small, we were still fairly close to the river. Hen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RamVenkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

We've stayed in a number of other resorts from All-Star to Grand Floridian and French Quarters is still our favorite place. The resort is small with everything conveniently located as well as beautiful(its so pretty we had a family photo session all around the resorts grounds which turned out great). Not all moderate resorts have queen size beds but French Quarters does. We like staying in building 2 facing the courtyard because you are close to food, main desk, bus stop and pool and yet it's very quiet. Corner rooms are larger. There is also quick access to boats which take you to Downtown Disney. The only category of guests that I can think of that may not love this resort is those who hang around the hotel and need multiple dining options and lots of resort activities.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Melissa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

My family really enjoyed this hotel! My daughters, who are 8 and 10, LOVED the pool! After a long day of walking around the parks, it was great to go swimming and just relax by the pool. The hotel itself is absolutely beautiful! It is much smaller than Riverside, and very quiet, even though there were kids everywhere. The food at the Sassagoula Floatworks and Food Factory was very good! Especially the dinner menu. Overall this Hotel met our expectations and exceeded them on many levels. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennipher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
2.9 mi away
Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge
0.9 mi away
Disney's Saratoga Springs Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort
2.7 mi away
Disney's Coronado Springs Resort
4.5 mi away
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Property: Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
Address: 2201 Orleans Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830 (Formerly Port Orleans Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#33 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#43 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1008
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Revel in the romance and pageantry of New Orleans's historic French Quarter at this Resort hotel, where cobblestone streets, gas lamps, wrought-iron balconies and fragrant magnolia blossoms evoke the Antebellum era and colorful Mardi Gras characters and jazz keep things lively. Then stroll along the Sassagoula River to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside, home to Cajun and Creole specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Port Orleans Resort
Port Orleans French Quarter
Port Orleans Orlando
Disney Port Orleans French Quarter
Disney Port Orleans Hotel
Disneys Port Orleans Resort French Quarter
Port Orleans Disney
Disneys Port Orleans Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing