We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
Ranked #59 of 342 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We had chosen this resort both for price and size. The atmosphere was relaxed and casual. We had asked for a room in building 4 because of it's proximity to the bus stop and food court and even though we arrived early and the requested room wasn't ready, another room was found in that building. We had read negative comments about the food court, but we were not at all disappointed - even quite impressed that they were able to use the same space for 4 different menus: breakfast, lunch, dinner and late night. While it was busy we never had long to wait, the food was always freshly prepared and we always found comfortable seating outside. For a dining esperience, take a nice walk, or the boat to the adjoining river front resort. Our room was very clean. The curtain separation between the bedroom and sinks, made dressing easy and another convenience was the separate shower and toilet. There was no closet, just a bar inside the dressing area, but we found the storage sufficient. Our immediate complaint was the lighting. There was a bright overhead light and two very bright lights on the wall over the bed (sconce type) The problem was there were no lamps, so the room was very bright or pitch dark - a real problem if one person wanted to sleep earlier than another. We requested a lamp, and although they didn't have them in any of the rooms, they got one off site and it was in our room when we returned in the evening. Great service.
Moderate resorts do not have balconies, but rather outside entrances. Because we were on the third floor, we were able to view the Epcot fireworks from outside our room (only the high ones).
While the bus rides are not my favorite, we never waited long for a bus, either at the resort or at any of the parks. Although we didn't get a chance to participate, the outdoor movies (on inflatable "drive-in" type screens on the lawn, were a nice wind down at the end of the day.

Room Tip: Resort is small, so all the buildings are close, but for convenience to parking and bus, building 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bombur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,634)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,193 - 3,199 of 5,634 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2013

My husband and I picked this hotel due to its small (for Disney) size and its awesome theme. We weren't disappointed. We were in Building 1. Our week long stay was very quiet. Our room was very clean. The beds weren't the most comfortable but we both slept well so I can't complain too much. My husband and I received a signed card from Mickey and Minnie for our anniversary. We absolutely LOVED the pool. While it was crowded, there was still plenty of room to swim and have fun. Another great thing about this hotel was the boat to Downtown Disney - it was so relaxing and it sure beat riding a bus! Bus transportation to the parks was always timely, and it was never full. Also, you must try the Po' Boy sandwiches at Sassagoula Floatworks. All around, we had a great stay. It was the little details that made our trip awesome! Thank you, Disney, for a great stay on our second honeymoon!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I have stayed at all of the WDW Moderate Resorts and Port Orleans French Quarter is my favorite. It doesn't seem as spaced out as the other moderates. The food court is great, the boat to Downtown Disney is a huge plus, the ambiance is perfect, and the staff are very friendly. I, also, loved how the jacuzzi was never jam packed with kids. The kids stayed by the pool. There is a water slide too if that is your thing. My family and I loved this resort and will most definitely be back.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor near transportation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Justin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

i stayed at this hotel in September. It was my second week in Orlando after spending the first on international drive. After getting the full disney experience, I dont think I will be able to go back to I-Drive. The setting for the hotel is great. Its really quiet and the landscaping around the resort is beautiful. There are lots of little garden areas and walk ways with lots of wildlife to see. There are several different buildings with the main lobby, resaurant, bar, shop and arcade in a central area. We were in building number 5 and had a view of the courtyard. River views were available also. The room was a good size. It had 2 queen beds. A small bathroom, but with a double vanity/sink area outside them. There is a wall safe and a refridgerator also in the room. There are boats that leave from the river dock approx every 15 mins. one direction heads to downtown disney and the other to the Port Orleans - Riverside. The hotel has a wonderful pool also. There is a serpent themed slide and a dedicated toddlers pool.
We had the free dining plan during our stay, so we tended to eat away from the hotel. However we had breakfast there a few times and the food was nice and there was a good varitey to pick from. The beverage area is also easily accessible there to keep your resort mug filled to the brim.
Overall i had a great time staying there any will hopefully go back soon!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sunflower86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for the second time for three weeks. We were not disappointed the quality of service along with the sense of Disney magic were still there.
We found check in to be a breeze we were allocated a ground floor room as myself and my husband have motability issues. The lady at check in was great in helping with this issue.
The rooms were spotless the housekeeping made special towel animals for our anniversary which were great.
One complaint we did have was the food servers were often sullen an rude I understand they have a hard job but when you go out of your way to say please and thank you a smile in return would be nice.
Overall the location of this hotel is perfect the staff are extra helpful and our holiday was perfect

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dottyxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We have stayed at many Disney Resorts and find the French Quarter to be our choice for a family friendly venue. There are great activities planned for familes including outdoor evening movies and games in the grass for kids! You really get the feel that you are staying in a quaint old time version of the French Quarter with quiet streets and sitting areas tucked away in lush greens and lovely water displays. The cleaning staff makes extra effort to add personal touches to the rooms. One day we came in and all the kids' stuffed animals were displayed on the bed watching the Disney channel. Another day we arrived to a group of animals made out of bath towels sitting on the window ledge to greet us. Everyday the kids couldn't wait to return to the room to see what suprise awaited them! The cafeteria offers authentic beignets and you can enjoy them outside on the patio as if you were in downtown New Orleans. The feel of this resort is peaceful and laid back and is a great retreat after a day in the parks!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steph J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

My husband and I spent 3 nights here. We were a bit skeptical staying at Disney since we were kidless, but this was a great option. While we saw lots of kids outside & waiting for buses, we never heard them while we were in our room. We were in Building 7 and had a corner room. The room was bigger than I thought it would be. My biggest complaint is the room safe. You open it and it is only about an inch wide, and 8 inches tall. A wallet wouldn't fit, and our passports had to stay upright. Buses came frequently to take you wherever you needed to go, and the Airport bus was a wonderful feature. Everyone was pleasant, and I have no hesitation recommending this property.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jangale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
0.3 mi away
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside
1 mi away
Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort
4.5 mi away
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Disney's Coronado Springs Resort
2.1 mi away
Disney's Pop Century Resort
2.1 mi away
Disney's Art of Animation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Address: 2201 Orleans Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8424 (Formerly Port Orleans Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#33 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#43 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $213 - $440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1008
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Revel in the romance and pageantry of New Orleans's historic French Quarter at this Resort hotel, where cobblestone streets, gas lamps, wrought-iron balconies and fragrant magnolia blossoms evoke the Antebellum era and colorful Mardi Gras characters and jazz keep things lively. Then stroll along the Sassagoula River to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside, home to Cajun and Creole specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Walt Disney Parks & Resorts, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Port Orleans Resort
Port Orleans French Quarter
Port Orleans Orlando
Disney Port Orleans French Quarter
Disney Port Orleans Hotel
Disneys Port Orleans Resort French Quarter
Port Orleans Disney
Disneys Port Orleans Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing