We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Quiet Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
Ranked #65 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Bensalem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Quiet Resort”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

If you're looking for a place on the Disney property where you can relax in peace and quiet away from the parks, this is the place to stay. This moderate resort is definitely a step up from the value resorts. The landscaping is beautiful and everything is very clean. The room was nicely decorated and had plenty of storage space. If you're looking for more hustle & bustle and activities, then you can take a quick walk over to the neighboring Riverside resort. I'd say that the only knock on PO-FQ (for being a moderate) is that there is no sit-down restaurant, but if you're on the dining plan like we were, it probably doesn't matter as we chose to eat out elsewhere. The food court, specifically the area where you order/pick-up food could be bigger, but the seating area has plenty of space. A nice touch is that the resort is along the Sassagoula River and you can take a ferry ride to Downtown Disney. Overall, the cost to stay here is just a fraction of the price of a Disney Deluxe resort; the value you get is uncomparable. Finally, we found staff to be very helpful when needed.

Room Tip: Book a standard room and request "river view". Chances are they will accomodate you w/ no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BBandFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,702
    1,929
    555
    153
    69
See reviews for
3,225
1,140
86
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,428)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
171 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We decided to go for some value this vacation (previously stayed at Polynesian on monorail line with a theme park view) so we booked the POFQ for five nights over President’s weekend 2013. The room is just perfect for a family of four with non-toddler children (ages 7 and 9). Two beds, two sinks, one TV, one fridge, one safe, coffee service, and most importantly, a curtain between the sink area and the sleep/room area. We love this because it offers some privacy while dressing (I have a boy and a girl). Everyone gets a refillable coffee/soda mug and the soda fountain and coffee station is free refills at the resort during your stay. We had a river view on the ground floor in Building five, so we were next to the pool, but with a river view. Very nice and very quiet. So serene in contrast with the madness of the crowds at Disney. Spent an hour at the pool before dinner on the day we flew to Florida. Note that there is only quick service food at POFQ. No sit down restaurant so if you are on the regular dining plan and you want to eat at the resort, you have to go over to the sister property. So we strolled down the carriage path to the PO Riverside to eat a sit down meal at Boatwright’s (there is a review by me for that). There is boat launch service at both POFQ and PO Riverside that takes you to Downtown Disney. We walked at dusk to the restaurant and enjoyed it. A horse drawn carriage went by. The architecture at POFQ is obviously the French quarter of New Orleans. The PO Riverside architecture was more southern plantation on the river… Lots of Mardi Gras them at FQ!!! It started raining during dinner and by the time we left the restaurant we knew we would be soaked if we walked back (no jackets/umbrellas on our person). So we went into the lobby to inquire about a bus that goes to Downtown Disney that might stop at POFQ. The cast member said, “Let me drive you in the van!” We were thrilled to get a ride back to our resort and stay dry. She explained in the van on the way that van service is part of the plan when it rains because the boat ride between the resorts isn’t very enjoyable in the rain. Wow. We were thrilled to be driven back (just the four of us) in this van. Thanks Disney!!!!
Housekeeping has been very generous so far with shampoo and conditioner (we go through a lot with four of us). The weather was a little chilly in Florida this long weekend for the adults to swim/enter the Jacuzzi after the first evening (temps in 80s before rain started). The resort also has a lot of what they call recreation activities. They have a schedule of events posted but honestly, we stay at the parks too long every day to enjoy them. I am sure our days would be different if we were in the sweltering heat- we would be spending much more time at the resort and in the pool!
Overall, two thumbs up for POFQ. Although the room is a little smaller than the Polynesian (last visit), and there is no castle illuminated outside our balcony, this river view is just perfect for us and we enjoyed the castle and nighttime entertainment inside the parks!!! Also note that the boat between the Port Orleans properties also goes to Downtown Disney. We didn’t partake this trip… But we have enjoyed spending a few hours down there on non-park days in previous trips.

Room Tip: Building 5 is next to pool and has a river view side so you can have the river view steps away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank jocomitchells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Although I have been vacationing in Disney for many years, this was my first time staying at the Port Orleans, French Quarter. It's one of the smaller moderate hotels which is a plus because everything is easily accessible. I did not have to walk far to the pool, hot tub, main lobby, food court or transportation. The food court is not large but because the resort is smaller, it was never overly crowded. The pool is large for the resort size with a water slide and a pool side bar. There is also an inside bar with live music. The resort is very festively decorated and all staff was Disney friendly and accommodating. The one negative, for me, was the food offered in the food court. There were the standards such as chicken, hamburgers and pizza. But I am not a fan of the muffaletta, po' boys or other "New Orleans" specific foods, with exception of the beignets! I do not consider this a reason not to enjoy this hotel in the future however, because with so many other restaurants to choose from throughout the parks and Downtown Disney (which could be reached by boat), we only ate at the food court once.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cbannon00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage la Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Our stay at Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter was very nice. The room was clean and well supplied. We had lots of space to unpack our suitcases (drawers and hangers) as well as lots of room to move around. The a/c worked great and was very quiet. The beds and pillows were very comfortable. The resort is quite small so it was an easy walk to the bus stops. Would for sure stay here again when we return to Disney.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RiverManitobaCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deltona, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Check in was great. From the outside it looks a little unimpressive for Disney. The grounds on the inside are nice. The rooms are like any other hotel nothing special. My kids all 3 woke up itching. I called the front desk because they had red marks all over. The front desk first asked if I wanted a manager to come to our room, I said yes. Then a few minutes later they called back and asked if we needed them to call paramedics, I said no. They then said they would put double rinsed sheets on the bed because maybe that was why. No one bothered to come check. Check out is at 11 a.m. We went to the pool on our last morning leaving our belongings in the room. When we returned at 10:30 our room was being cleaned and all our belongings were being sent to lost and found. Luckily the person was just around the corner. We ended up changing into dry clothes in our car. The maid actually tried to take our drinks that were in the fridge. She only gave them back after we asked where the items were. Will never stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincoln
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Yes just got back from my third stay at this hotel. We love it so much we keep going back. It's the smallest most compact of the Disney resorts and this is what we love. It doesn't really matter which building you get a room in as none of them are too far from anywhere else. This time we looked out, we paid for a garden view room but actually got upgraded to a river view room in Building 6. It was a wonderful location to see the river as you walked out of the door. The room was spotless. The Housekeeper was wonderful, she kept leaving us towel animals and putting the various soft toys we had in amusing poses. The food court is small but that's what I like. It has some great choices - fried chicken and cornbread my favourite. We tried the famous Beignets - unfortunately I don't like them but that's not reflection on the hotel just of me, my husband thought they were great. All the staff we met were friendly. Check in was quick and efficient. The gardens and fountains are very pleasant just to sit and relax in after the hussle and bussle of the the parks. The resort as a whole is quiet. My only criticism is that the swimming pool is definately not heated, which makes for cold swimming in January/February (we had temps of 87 degrees - record high). I have never had an issue with the Disney bus service at this resort. The bus sometimes shares with Riverside but since the resort tends to be the first pick up and usually first drop off that's not a problem. We never had to wait more than 15 minutes for a bus this year including prime bus pick up times e.g. after wishes. The boat to DownTown Disney is another great perk- a relaxing 15 minute ride. You can also walk to its sister hotel which is a short 10 minute walk down the river if you want larger hotel facilities or a table service dinner. All in All I LOVE French Quarter (and I have stayed at other Disney properties for comparison) It continues to be my favourite WDW hotel and if I'm lucky I hope I will the writing my fourth review in 2014 !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DISNEYFANLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
91 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed just one night. Chose this hotel for a number of reasons - had stayed previously and was a very comfortable and clean room. But mainly because we had tickets to see Cirque du Soliel at Downtown Disney. This allowed us to take the boat directly from the hotel to Downtown. We spent the day there, went back to the room to change for the evening and return for the late show. Avoided all the hassle of parking and then getting out and driving to a hotel late at night. All things considered, the extra cost for the hotel far outweighed the problem with driving around an unfamiliar area at night to get to a hotel off the Disney grounds. Ate lunch and dinner at Downtown but had breakfast on the resort grounds. As expected, mediocre food for exorbitant prices.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
0.9 mi away
Disney's Saratoga Springs Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside
1.3 mi away
Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
2.7 mi away
Disney's Coronado Springs Resort
2.1 mi away
Disney's Art of Animation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Property: Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
Address: 2201 Orleans Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8424 (Formerly Port Orleans Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#33 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#43 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1008
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Revel in the romance and pageantry of New Orleans's historic French Quarter at this Resort hotel, where cobblestone streets, gas lamps, wrought-iron balconies and fragrant magnolia blossoms evoke the Antebellum era and colorful Mardi Gras characters and jazz keep things lively. Then stroll along the Sassagoula River to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside, home to Cajun and Creole specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Port Orleans Resort
Port Orleans French Quarter
Port Orleans Orlando
Disney Port Orleans French Quarter
Disney Port Orleans Hotel
Disneys Port Orleans Resort French Quarter
Port Orleans Disney
Disneys Port Orleans Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing