We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
Ranked #62 of 338 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I was there with my wife and 2 daughters for 8 nights.

We arrived very late but the font desk service was very efficient. Something nice is that this is a small hotel so every building is close to parking, main building, etc.
I have to say that the drawers were dusty and we had to clean them before use them, but beside that everything was ok.
An important difference with value hotels is the beds size, the moderate have queen size beds and as our princesses are growing is way better for them to share this beds vs full size beds.

The food court area is not that big, but as we were there on kind of low season it always had room for us. We only had breakfasts.
Other great thing is that it included the Dining plan as part of the moderate hotels package and we really enjoy lot of different restaurants like Le Cellier, Teppan Edo, Chef's Mickey, Yak & Yeti and Cinderella's Royal table.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Juan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,411
    1,719
    496
    135
    65
See reviews for
2,859
1,006
69
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This resort is smaller than many Disney properties which makes all the amenities a very short walk. Like most other moderates it has a standard hotel room layout, small table and chairs, bed/s, dresser, small fridge,flat screen tv. Bathroom sinks are separated from the room by a curtain and separated from the shower and toilet by a door. We opted for a water view which I enjoyed but many rooms face a courtyard area which have a nice square in the middle with rosé bushes, park benches and a fountain in the middle. The pool is nice sized and the kids loved the water slide. In front of the pool is a small outdoor bar with the usual drinks with a couple geared towards New Orleans style offerings. Not far from the pool on the river is a dock where pontoon boats stop several times an hour. The boats run a little further to the Riverside resort or the other direction to downtown Disney. Riverside is not too far to walk to if you are looking for sit down restaurant service but kids love a boat ride. Downtown Disney has a lot of shopping and a nice selection of restaurants and worth the trip at least one evening for a relaxing boat ride after a hectic day at the parks. The restaurant at the French quarter is typical Disney counter service for the most part with a couple specialties like beignets and muffulettas. The beignets where nice as a breakfast especially on the dinning plan as they only count as a snack. They are not close to a real New Orleans beignet but I have to admit the muffuletta was a decent recreation of some I have had in Louisiana. The bus service was decent, Animal Kingdom seemed a bit far but for the most part this resort is close to the other three parks. I have stayed at Riverside and enjoyed it also but if I had to choose between the two would probably go with French Quarter all things being equal.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have more windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boudreaux519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My wife and I love staying at Port Orleans French Quarter ! A small resort, convenient to all the parks. An enjoyable boat ride to Downtown Disney is just minutes away. It is quite, clean, and for a Disney property, a good value. The front desk has always tried to accomodate any special requests for room change (as we prefer 1st floor room). Our home away from home !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
98 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful landscapes and city streets, ala the French Quarter, and a lovely pool. The cafeteria was good, especially the Beignets. Ferry services to downtown disney, and bus services to all the parks. They do a campfire every night with smores and all the guests are welcome, it is a wonderful hotel.
Get your beads when you arrive..

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank YoYoBumchuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This is the first Disney resort we have stayed at personally but my husband and I thought it was fantastic. We stayed in September, which is off season, so there was no trouble requesting a corner room away from the bustle of the food court and pool. The grounds are immaculate and the whole resort is so quiet compared to other places we visited. Each time we needed to talk to the front desk or concierge, we were helped immediately (again, this could have been because it was off season and slow). We used the Sassagoula River boat as a great, and different, way to travel to Downtown Disney, even in the pouring rain! The food in the food court was great, especially the beignets. I highly recommend this resort to families look for some peace and quiet while visiting Disney World!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jessica m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We chose Port Orleans Resort and were not disappointed. A tasteful resort beside the river which provided transports to other attractions. Disney attention to customer care without rival.

Room was always spotless and cleaned immediately we went for breakfast.

Busses always on hand to take one to the multi Disney Worlds.

Food? Well, plenty of it - but no cuisine - buy hey, we are in the USA for a good time!

If one wants a day away from the attractions there is an open air swimming pool and even in January it was in use!

Highly recommend a trip to Nasa.

Room Tip: One near to the dining area as the resort is well spread out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ScottishVoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

If your looking to save a little money (It is Disney) then the selection of a moderate resort is the way to go. The French Quarter is a small Disney resort in a great location. There are three floors per building so if you have a problem with stairs then ask to be on the bottom floor. The size of the rooms are the same as all the other resorts. There is one main building for food located right across from the check in desk and is easy walking distance from every facility within the resort. Of course you can get to every Disney park via the bus service but you also have the option to take a relaxing boat ride from the rear of the resort to Downtown Disney (That was alot of fun). Check the seasonal rates on the Disney web site and book in advance but not to far in advance as they release the discounted seasonal rates about 4 months ahead of time or so. On a moderate resort the normal nightly rate is about $189 but with the discount you can generally get it for about $129-159 a night not a bad deal considering its a Disney resort, the main advantage of staying onsite is the early entry to the parks or the late nights for resort guests only and the bus service (Some people tend to complain about the service but it really is a very well run service). September used to be a great time to visit but it has become a very busy time of year suddenly with Disney adding events. Over all a moderate resort is great as your generally not in the rooms too long and it is Disney.

Room Tip: The building near the front check in is the best option for those that want quick access to the bus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tony s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Property: Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
Address: 2201 Orleans Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8424 (Formerly Port Orleans Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#33 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#43 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1008
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Revel in the romance and pageantry of New Orleans's historic French Quarter at this Resort hotel, where cobblestone streets, gas lamps, wrought-iron balconies and fragrant magnolia blossoms evoke the Antebellum era and colorful Mardi Gras characters and jazz keep things lively. Then stroll along the Sassagoula River to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside, home to Cajun and Creole specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Port Orleans Resort
Port Orleans French Quarter
Port Orleans Orlando
Disney Port Orleans French Quarter
Disney Port Orleans Hotel
Disneys Port Orleans Resort French Quarter
Port Orleans Disney
Disneys Port Orleans Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing