We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favorite Resort in Disney World”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
Ranked #58 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2013

OK, I have to be honest. We have never stayed at a deluxe resort; our budget just doesn't stretch that far. But we have stayed at all the All Star Value resorts, the Pop Century, and Caribbean Beach, and while all those resorts have something to offer, POFQ is hands down our favorite. We have stayed here 7 times over the years, and are looking forward to our next trip.

First, the atmosphere. This is the smallest of the WDW resorts, and thus the most intimate. It is a 5-10 minute walk anywhere on property (maybe 15 if you stroll and simply admire the gardens), so no marathon hikes like you may have at Caribbean Beach. The streets are cobblestone, with lots of ironwork and lush little garden areas to remind you of New Orleans, and have some lovely puns using French twists. Just walking to the pool is very peaceful, especially after a hectic day at the parks.

On a practical note, because the resort is relatively small, it is an easy job to unload your vehicle if you are driving. Plus, there are elevators (none at CB) and luggage carts are available at the main entrance. This also makes it easier when you must, sadly, leave.

The pool is fun and beautifully themed, with King Trident riding on top of a sea serpent that winds its way over and under the deck, and creates an easy slide with its enormous pink tongue. My 78-year old parents even slid down! There is a nice hot tub as well, separate from the pool so not usually packed with little children the way they often are at other resorts. Plenty of chairs and tables around the pool area make it easy to find a spot, and of course there is a poolside bar if you want a little libation.

There tend to be fewer children and groups staying here (as opposed to the Value resorts), so it tends to be a little quieter. However, there are poolside games for little ones, a playground, plus lots of family activities, like movies on an inflatable screen in the main courtyard.

The food court is also beautiful with a Mardis Gras theme: huge masks, beads and assorted trinkets hang from the ceiling. The food is yummy, and you must try the shrimp po'boy and of course, the beignets - those lovely little pillows of sugary goodness they cook to order. Mmmmm.

If you enjoy visiting Downtown Disney, take the boat from the dock. You have a peaceful 15-minute journey down the Sassagoula River, winding past the Treetop Villas, a golf course, and the Saratoga Springs Resort. You'll end at the Marketplace, all relaxed and no fighting for a parking space. If you just feel like a change of scenery, you can hop on a boat going the other way, any chug upstream to the sister resort, Riverside. You'll pass through the Alligator Bayou section into the Magnolia Plantation sections, and end at the main dock area. You can share the pool at Riverside, rent a surry or carriage ride (we did this once - very romantic), or rent a pole and do some fishing if you like - catch and release, of course!

The rooms at POFQ have all been recently redone and are beautiful. The beds are actually queen sized (not full), and you'll have a mini fridge for convenience. The staff is friendly, and the couple of times we had a problem (fridge not working, running toilet), the response was immediate and the problem quickly solved. When my mother had a medical emergency during one of our trips, the staff went out of their way to help the entire family deal with it (not that I reccommend this as a vacation experience, but it's nice to know that they are equipped to deal with emergencies - and it all turned out OK). Rooms are generally quiet, and we have rarely heard noise from other rooms or even from the walkways.

Buses run about the same as at all the resorts, and are one of the great perks of staying on property. There is only one bus stop, so once you are on board, you are quickly on your way. The buses used to also stop at Riverside (all 4 stops!), but on our last 2 trips it was just the French Quarter.

We have recommended POFQ to several friends and family members, and all have been very happy they stayed at this resort. You will be, too.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
31  Thank Eileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,534)
There are newer reviews for Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,241 - 3,247 of 5,534 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2013

Just spend 4 days there with family. Overall decent sized room though bathroom was disproportionately small-- it was hard to use the toilet with the door closed.

Property was nice with a playground an pool onside. Te dining hall wasn't bad for cafeteria style fare.

Biggest negative is that the property is not well maintained. Lots of chipped paint. The front door of our room had a big gouge which had obviously been there for a while. Several areas of grass were badly in need of mowing

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MarkJMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

The hotel overall was very nice. The grounds were beautiful with large oak trees and pretty flowerbeds. I especially liked the New Orleans style buildings!

We stayed in building 6 room 248 which was small, but adequate for 4 adults. There was a mini refrigerator and a coffee maker which was nice to have.

The toiletries were not replaced after the last guest and I would have liked the bathroom have been cleaner. We called housekeeping and they were very accommodating.

We didn't hear any outside noise while in our room and the beds were comfortable.

The lobby and gift shop were both nice and the staff was friendly. The Mardi Gras theme and christmas decorations were great!

We had beignets in the cafe which were quite tasty! We also had coffee a few times each day and it was always fresh & hot. It was very good!

I would definitely stay here again.

NOTE... If you are traveling with small kids request a ground floor room as the buildings are three stories with no elevators. Also, if you want to be close to the lobby, food court and gift shop request buildings 1- 4 it was a bit of a walk from the other buildings. We didn't mind the walk, but some might.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Rachlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Our family couldn't have asked for a better time. We loved it so much last year, we made it our second stay this year. We had an early flight and arrived at the resort around eleven am. and our online check in packet and room were ready. WOW. Let the magic begin. The holiday decorations were lovely as always. The staff was great as well. The reason we stay here during the winter is that everything within the resort is condensed and you don't spend more time walking alot after walking all day at the parks. Also you can utilize not only the bus line but the water taxi to downtown disney which is very nice. The pool is a hit with the kids and they have fun activities for them to participate in and win little prizes. This was a very nice and relaxing resort to stay at. And quiet I may add. The jazz themed christmas music playing was a nice touch to the holiday season. Our magical express information was left on our door prior to leaving and we were able to check our luggage and have our boarding passes for Southwest printed at the front desk. Very convenient.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

This is our “new” home while we are at Disney World. We have always stayed at the Wilderness Lodge in the past and have loved it dearly. With $$$ being very tight we decided to give POFQ a try. What a great idea!
Pros:
Close location to all the Disney parks.
Wonderful boat ride to Downtown Disney
It is the smallest Resort at Disney. It gives you a very comfy feeling.
Customer service is outstanding
Gift shop has everything you need.
Rooms are very clean and beds are QUEEN size! That’s a major plus for us!
Pool has lifeguards on duty and they are wonderful!

Cons:
Sorry I can not think of any!
We travel to Disney at least once a year. I do lots of planning and research. This is by far my first choice. There are lots to do and see at the Port Orleans French Quarter. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank kimmy04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

I have only stayed at the Value Resorts on Disney property before, but I can honestly say that I think POFQ is a hidden gem. It is small and well groomed, with very friendly staff and a great hot tub and pool with a slide. My boyfriend and I walked around one night and saw horse-drawn carraige rides, a fire with smores, and took a boatride to Downtown Disney.

The rooms were clean and comfortable (I actually got ill during my trip and spent quite a bit of time in them). Housekeeping was very good, and the buses seem to always stop at POFQ first if picking up any other resort guests, so there was always a seat. After taking a bus ride to Magic Kingdom one day and having to stop at at least 4 stops for Riverside, it made me very thankful I had chosen the much smaller resort!!

My only complaint is that my BF and I are both vegetarians, and had NO options besides pizza at our resort. This wouldn't have been an issue except I got sick and was stuck in the room for a day and a half with nothing to eat.

Room Tip: Building 4 is the best!!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank cketzleromaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

This was our first trip out to Disney World. Great staying in the resort area. Hotel was not bad, area was pretty nice, limited on what was there on the grounds. Dining area had 4 small different areas of food to choose from. To cold to swim while we were there. Short walk to a near by resort and a short boat ride to downtown Disney where there was plenty to do. Great staff, nice place.

Room Tip: We had a corner room so there was no issue of neighbors (just on one side)
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Bryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Buena Vista
Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Address: 2201 Orleans Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8424 (Formerly Port Orleans Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#33 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#43 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $225 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1008
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Revel in the romance and pageantry of New Orleans's historic French Quarter at this Resort hotel, where cobblestone streets, gas lamps, wrought-iron balconies and fragrant magnolia blossoms evoke the Antebellum era and colorful Mardi Gras characters and jazz keep things lively. Then stroll along the Sassagoula River to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside, home to Cajun and Creole specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Port Orleans Resort
Port Orleans French Quarter
Port Orleans Orlando
Disney Port Orleans French Quarter
Disney Port Orleans Hotel
Disneys Port Orleans Resort French Quarter
Port Orleans Disney
Disneys Port Orleans Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing