We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient & pretty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
Ranked #65 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Convenient & pretty”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Husband, 8th grade daughter, 2nd grade son & I stayed from Nov. 14-21st. Lovely grounds, nice room (relatively spacious by Disney standards), compact layout. We stayed in Building 2, garden view, 3rd floor. We had requested a corner room but none were available so we were given a room that was the next best thing, on an inside corner. I suspect the extra window on the outside corner rooms would have made it too bright anyhow, at least at night, when the lighting tended to seep into the room around the curtains and through the blinds. Son was very disappointed to get only one towel animal the entire time we were there (7 nights--you'd think we'd get at least one more while we were there!). Housekeeping was also stingy with the conditioner, although we kept getting new bottles of shampoo--it was a little ridiculous. Not the most comfy beds or pillows...the bedsprings were stiff and squeaky and the pillows were the excessively large rubbery foam type which meant that one pillow was too flat and two pillows were like sleeping on a marshmallow. Five-to seven minute walk to the bus stop from our room, even less to the boat dock that went to the other Port Orleans resort or Downtown Disney. Great pool, although it was a little chilly at night which seemed to be the only time we were there to swim. Best part was that we had the Disney dining plan for free because we stayed at a moderate resort. It made what could have been an pricey trip (Disney does milk you for every dime) seem quite a bargain!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pamela225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,702
    1,929
    554
    152
    69
See reviews for
3,224
1,139
86
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,427)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I travel to WDW almost every year and I always stay on “Value Resorts” such as Disney´s Pop Century or Disney´s All Stars due to our large group of people. Especially this year, we decided to upgrade and stay at Disney´s Port Orleans – French Quarter, just me and my mom.
We had an amazing and restful experience! The atmosphere is just outstanding with the tree lined cobblestone streets and fountain and lawn areas. We picked up this hotel because it seems to be the smallest of Disney’s moderate resorts and as an intimate resort, you can really relax without all those kids screaming and running, like in the other value resorts (ok, I love kids. But sometimes, we just need a quiet place, don´t we??).
Even though it seems this resort is less "kid-friendly" than some of the other on-site hotels, I think the resort is an excellent place to kids too, since I saw many of them playing in the grass court and having so much fun at the pool (especially at the dragon slide). They also had a playground.
The rooms were nice, clean and quiet. The hotel really brought back the spirit of New Orleans. Actually, the Sassagoula River pathways add to the charm of this quiet little resort, where you can’t be more than a five minute walk away from the Sassagoula Floatworks (quick service dining), the pool for a quick dip, the bus stop after a restful break, or the boat dock for an evening at Downtown Disney.
The resort dining was ok: the Sassagoula Floatworks didn´t have many options other than hamburgers, pizzas or pastas. The value resorts have healthier variety of food not only on the counters as well to on the fridges to grab-n-go. Additionally, the food court is small and can be crowded during peak times.
I would stay there again for a really restful vacation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AdrianaDem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bensalem, PA
Level Contributor
180 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

My companion and I recently visited Disney's Port Orleans French Quarter hotel (Nov 15-19th), and we were quite pleased (overall) with all aspects of our stay! Our check-in was smooth, the room faced the river and was clean, and the staff was adequately polite.

Pros: The room was spacious, the hotel was quiet, and the rooms have small fridges. The location (all rooms) are close to the pool/bus stop. This is a small property, which is amazing because everything is pretty convenient. The grounds were well kept and pretty. The whole place has a very tranquil vibe. It's great for families, solo guests, and couples. Very fun and romantic! The Disney bus service ran smoothly, and bus service came every 15-20 mins. There is only one bus stop and it is in front of the main entrance. Since the hotel is so small, there is no need for multiple bus stops (as other hotels have them).

Cons: Housekeeping did a minimal job each day. They did not provide us with a towel animal (as Disney advertises) at all, and did not give us new soap/shampoo each day. The service seemed skimpy and minimal at best. Note to guests: you have to call the desk to request a linen change as they will only change bed sheets after a 4 day stay. Also, the beds were firmer than we recalled, so they were less comfy to sleep on. The staff was polite, but...very perfunctory. Not as bend-over-backwards nice as in previous years.

The hotel has a small gift shop on property, and the pool is great for kids. They have a hot tub as well, which looked awesome. The food court has lots of options for all meals, and we enjoyed eating there multiple times. Buy a refill mug as this saves a lot of cash on soft drinks and soda during your stay!

This was a great hotel, and we would stay there again. Not too many complaints at all.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to a River View as it is peaceful and romantic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank msspungen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas VA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Room was clean, spacious and well appointed. Room was ready when we checked in. Given a first floor room as requested. Housekeeping was fine. Small resort so never too far to walk. Never waited too long for buses. One night we were going to Port Orleans Riverside and a bus driver went off his route and drove us over there so we didn't have to wait for another bus. Front desk was friendly and informative. Food court offered good variety and food was good. Very quiet. Only issue was when we tried to book a fishing trip through the concierge desk. They advised it was all booked. We called the 800 number instead and were able to make the reservation. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed here for 2 weeks with husband and 2 children. Had an amazing time and could find very little fault.
Arrival and check in was easy, plenty of staff on duty so seen to immediately.
We were in block 1 as i had requested a quiet room. It was probably the furthest walk from reception but still only 5 minutes so great to pop to the restaurant for a quick drink fill up and also to carry tired children from the bus at night.
There was very little external noise in the room however we could hear other people flushing the toilet and the fridge hummed a bit!
The room was fine for our needs, we were hardly in there anyway, the fridge and coffee machine were a bonus and they were cleaned to a good standard.
The pool was good and kids loved having a late evening swim in the dark while mum and dad had a sneaky beer from the pool bar!
We had the free dining plan which worked well for us. The food wasn't the best ever but was edible and we are not the type to let food rule our holiday, we found there to be enough choice for both us and the children for the few times we were around at meal times to eat there, we mostly had a snack for breakfast such as a bagle as this was better use of the dining plan rather than using a meal credit credit. The resort mug was great and meant that we could get plenty of bottles of water to take to the parks for the daytime as we would have the free refills with our meal and the water as the drink with the meal plan. The pizza's were particularly good and fed 3 of us.
We didn't have a car and the buses were fine never had to wait 20 minutes, we mostly had a bus just for french quarter, on the occassions we did share with riverside it was a pain having to drop them off first as they have 4 stops and we just wanted to get home, but we still would rather this than hiring a car. we did go off disney and used lynx bus, mears or taxi's.
The dressed up door man made our childrens stay at this hotel, he would give them a coin each day and really made a fuss of them.
The grounds were lovely, we visited animal kingdom lodge as this would be my dream hotel if money were no object, and although it was lovely i didn't return to fq feeling like we were the poor neighbours, I am no longer bothered about staying at akl.
We did visit riverside and although it is a nicer looking hotel, especially the restaurant and outside by the river i would rather stay stay at fq due to the smaller size.
All in all had a wonderful stay at this hotel and would highly recommend it for a very relaxing holiday, especially for a first visit where you will mostly be staying fairly local.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wendyf71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We went for a week to spend my daughter's 4th birthday. The resort grounds were very nice with lots of areas to sit and enjoy the weather. My little girl enjoyed the pool. They show movies each night on a grassy area between some of the buildings and have a campfire for Smores. Our room was in Building 4 on the top floor, which was very close to the bus transportation and food court. I'm glad we got this building as we had about a minute walk to each. If I'd have been further, I think the longest walk may have been 5 minutes. The room was fine, although I prefer rooms that the doors are on the hallway and not the outdoors. Mousekeeping was good throughout the week and left us a few towel animals. The food court was loud, but when you have a large number of people in a place, I don't know how it could be much quieter. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BPncsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in building 7, top floor, with a river view. We stayed for 10 days.

The resort has a food court called Sassagoula's and they accommodated our gluten free dietary needs. For each meal, we asked to speak with the chef and he would make something for us from the back. We had pancakes, sausage, bacon, with syrup. Chicken strips and fries (our favorite) with the honey mustard sauce. Plus, pizza and hot dogs. They could use some more GF snacks and desserts though. There are only potato chips, brownies and cookies.

There is no sit down restaurant at this resort. However, Riverside has one.

Good
*our room was very quiet
*flat screen TV
*liked the curtain vs. a door to separates the sink area to the sleeping area.
*liked tile in the shower and it was clean
*we slept in a couple of days in order to take in Magic Kingdom being open until 1am, because of this we missed having our room cleaned. However, they left us a bag of towels, soap, Kleenex etc. We really appreciated this.
*bus service worked very well for us
*laundry facilities are right by the pool and were very good.
*Sassagoula's had a very good food court with a drink island that was awesome!
*all staff were great!
*good location to all of the parks and Downtown Disney
*souvenir shop had a good selection of Disney memorabilia.

Poor
*dusty- there was a layer of dust on the rod and on the shelf in the open sink area, in all of the corners of the room
*stain- there was a white stain on one of the bedspreads. This should have been changed out and it never was.
* mattress - uncomfortable, you can feel the springs, and you can hear them when you move.
* bedspread - would prefer a simple white duvet and duvet cover that get changed on regular bases.
*decor- was updated but it was poorly done and doesn't fit with the style of the resort. The room felt dark and dingy.
*pool - slide is cool but its slow. The kids preferred the one at Riverside.
*smelly room- might have been from the river. Air fresher was used but it didn't work
*coffee - was the worst we have ever had!!!
*tv channels - very few channels to watch
*food court- wished that the beverage station stayed open past midnight on the nights when the park was open late.
*boat service-the boats were always full of guests from Riverside. We took the bus instead.
*Resort grounds and decor - needs to be updated. The grounds are well maintained. However, it looks like it did in the 80's.

Overall, we wouldn't stay here again. This isn't our type of resort. We prefer a room that is a bit bigger with a brighter decor. In addition, we learned that we would like to be closer to Magic Kingdom.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TDTGFfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
0.9 mi away
Disney's Saratoga Springs Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside
1.3 mi away
Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
2.7 mi away
Disney's Coronado Springs Resort
2.1 mi away
Disney's Art of Animation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Property: Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
Address: 2201 Orleans Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8424 (Formerly Port Orleans Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#33 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#43 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1008
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Revel in the romance and pageantry of New Orleans's historic French Quarter at this Resort hotel, where cobblestone streets, gas lamps, wrought-iron balconies and fragrant magnolia blossoms evoke the Antebellum era and colorful Mardi Gras characters and jazz keep things lively. Then stroll along the Sassagoula River to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside, home to Cajun and Creole specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelPower, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Port Orleans Resort
Port Orleans French Quarter
Port Orleans Orlando
Disney Port Orleans French Quarter
Disney Port Orleans Hotel
Disneys Port Orleans Resort French Quarter
Port Orleans Disney
Disneys Port Orleans Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing