We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Another wonderful vacation at Disney's Port Orleans FQ!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
Ranked #66 of 338 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Poulsbo, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Another wonderful vacation at Disney's Port Orleans FQ!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We just got back from another stay at the WDW Resort in Florida - staying at Disney's Port Orleans, French Quarter Resort. It was FANTASTIC. We had a party of 13 and although we had different check-in days, the front desk did everything they could to keep us close together (within the same building/floor/etc).
The resort had been refurbished since our last stay two years ago and what an improvement! Now there are two queen beds (vs the previous two double beds) and the bathroom has been upgraded to include pedestal sinks with much more storage room for toiletries. We thoroughly enjoyed the space and additional shelf space!
The resort is just beautiful, kept remarkably clean and landscaping is just lovely.
The pool area is perfect for kids (and adult-kids, too!) and they have pool-side activities daily - so there's something for just about everyone. The lifeguards came up to my family and told us that we could "rent" lifejackets for our little daughters so that they could enjoy the pool more during our stay, which was awesome.
Our Mousekeepers were fairly good - some days better than others. (they didn't replace our soap or tissue boxes so we had to take care of that ourselves which was the only bad part - and that's a very minor issue)
The location to the parks is ideal at PO - only a couple minutes to each park, especially EPCOT and MK - the farthest park is AK, and even that is only 5 more minutes away.
I would highly recommend this resort to any family looking for a wonderful, on-property stay (with out breaking the bank!).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michelle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,383
    1,711
    494
    133
    64
See reviews for
2,831
998
68
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Old Bridge NJ
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Visited the French Quarter in early November. First off we used the Disney Magical Express which means that once we checked our bags at the airport Disney made sure they arrived in our room once we arrived. It's a great service coming and going home.
As far as the French Quarter, as expected it was amazing. Even though it is a typical shape room it was nicely laid out. Every thing was clean and cared for. Our room was relativily close to both the pool, lobby and food court. The grounds were very well manicured and like most things in Disney was clean and maintained.
I would recomend this place to friends and family. We had a magical time!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JohnT106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

the disney french quarter is a very nice and clean hotel , the room was fine and clean but the furniture was stained and dated the check in was easy and fast but the concierge was of no help when i asked to make reservations at schulas steak house they wouldn't help me ( the dolphin hotel is on disney property but not a disney hotel) i was told to take the bus to down town disney then transfer. There is no direct bus service there you must take a boat or walk through epcot i learned this after being stuck on a bus for two hours yes two hours a bus hit a tree in front of us and all bus service was halted tou could not board or exit the bus until the accident was cleared. i would however like to thank wadson the bus driver who took time to speak with me and my wife and explain how to get to the restaurant he even called dispatch and asked if he could take us, dispatch said no. i would also like to thank chris woo was a bus escort who helped us get a bus on a sat night at 12 pm leaving pleasure island ( bus service is horrendous ) .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve907_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasilla, Alaska
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The main attraction of this property would have to be it's beautiful and relaxing outdoor experience. The rooms are standard "moderate" category, with features similar to a holiday inn express, but at least with a Disney theme. But you're not here to spend much time in your room (you'll be worn out and fast to sleep anyway).

You do need to walk around between the many buildings, but it is a relaxing stroll around well-tended landscaped pedestrian streets (with horse carriage available). The pool area in the center was well-loved by our kids, and the large hot tub by the adults. The self service laundry is also located here, and it is stocked with many machines to get your laundry done quickly.

The cafeteria actually does prepare very good food, but after a few days you'll have tried just about everything on the menu. We got a free dining plan, so we used it extensively. I think the best part was the drinks and deserts. Purchase the refillable mugs and you'll be able to get a drink anytime you're at the hotel (they don't work in the parks). There is a sit-down restaurant at the neighboring Riverside hotel, which is served by a shuttle bus, riverboat, or 10 minute walk.

The location of this property is pretty good to use the resort shuttles to each park. It's kind of in the middle of them all - which means it isn't really fast to any park. But it's closer and probably less congested than the "value" hotels. Anyway I do recommend using the shuttle buses, it's a good low-stress way to get around. And this vacation should be all about low-stress :)

The staff are all the typical Disney Cast Member excellent.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MaCroPlanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Thought I'd give some tips as we're just leaving French quarters. I know it sounds crazy but I thought it was going to be hot this time of year but hurricane sandy disturbed our weather and wished I brought some more woollies!! Especially in downtown it gets quite chilly in the evenings. The refillable cups are a great idea but I suggest to bring washing up liquid!! The cups have a twisted top make sure they're closed around the pool, they attract wasps. Food at French quarters can get a bit boring as they don't change the menu, we ate also at the port Orleans and recommend downtown for quick service meal deal for more choices. We used Alamo for car rental which we recommend we also hired a sat nav it was a god send!! Bring extra coat hangers. We booked through virgin and we didn't realise that cause we went to the new arrivals meeting we got a pass for universal studios to get in an hour early and free parking for the day :-) Hotel staff very helpful, life guards were great I've never seen lifeguards so attentive.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Shaner_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Definitely worth the money from an upgrade from the value resorts. The staff was great and friendly. The room was big and comfortable. The decor was top notch. Beds were comfortable, Good WiFi signal. Nice TV, refrigerator and coffee maker in room. I would visit again the next time we go to Disney.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony5673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

The French quarter is a nice moderate level resort. Nothing compares to a Disney resort, everything is top notch. I have stayed at almost every resort on the Disney World campus so I have a few recommendations to make. If you have stayed at any Deluxe resorts, you will be disappointed with this resort. Nothing beats a deluxe resort, and we were trying to do Disney on a budget this trip. However, if you have never stayed at a moderate resort, this will be a great experience for you. You will definitely notice the differences between a Value & Moderate resort. With that said, you will also notice a big difference between moderate & deluxe. Overall, this was a nice, clean, family friendly resort. Only negative was that there was an issue with the buses this week because there were very few running. We would see 5 or more buses going to the same place before 1 for our resort even came by. At Downtown Disney we waited 1 hour for the bus to come by.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 30252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
2.9 mi away
Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge
0.9 mi away
Disney's Saratoga Springs Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort
2.7 mi away
Disney's Coronado Springs Resort
4.5 mi away
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Property: Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
Address: 2201 Orleans Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830 (Formerly Port Orleans Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#33 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#43 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1008
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Revel in the romance and pageantry of New Orleans's historic French Quarter at this Resort hotel, where cobblestone streets, gas lamps, wrought-iron balconies and fragrant magnolia blossoms evoke the Antebellum era and colorful Mardi Gras characters and jazz keep things lively. Then stroll along the Sassagoula River to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside, home to Cajun and Creole specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Port Orleans Resort
Port Orleans French Quarter
Port Orleans Orlando
Disney Port Orleans French Quarter
Disney Port Orleans Hotel
Disneys Port Orleans Resort French Quarter
Port Orleans Disney
Disneys Port Orleans Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing