We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
Ranked #65 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Glastonbury, CT
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Enjoyable short stay”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

My two sisters and I stayed 3 nights at Port Orleans French Quarter last week. This was my 23rd trip to Disney World, with my previous 4 visits being at Pop Century. At first I missed the whimsy of Pop, but then realized that I was enjoying the more grown-up atmosphere of POFQ. And Disney captures the essence of New Orleans quite well with this property. My sisters also enjoyed the change of pace of staying at POFQ (they also have previously stayed at Pop, which was 7 years ago for both of them).

We also had none of the cleanliness issues that other reviewers have mentioned. Everything was spic and span. All of us also slept well, finding the beds and pillows very comfortable. They actually used the type of pillows I have at home, not those mushy, sandbag-type ones. And one day I left a note for the housekeeper to bring us 3 extra pillows. When we returned to the room after our day in one of the parks, there were the pillows I requested. In short, the room was spacious, clean and comfortable.

The reason I chose POFQ this time was two-fold. First, the week we were visiting, Disney was offering their meal plan for free! But to get the meal plan that included table service meals, the hotel had to at least be one of Disney's "Moderate" properties (which are both Port Orleans resorts, Caribbean Beach Resort, and Coronado Springs). If I had chosen to stay at Pop Century or any of the other "Value" resorts (the 3 All-Star resorts and the new Art of Animation Resort), the free meal plan would have only had quick-service meals, no table service ones.
And the second reason I chose POFQ was for the two queen-size beds in the room. All the other "Moderate" resorts have double beds. With two of us having to share a bed, it was nice to have a queen vs. a double.

While this has no bearing on the hotel at all, I do want to say that it was beyond great having the meal plan for free! There is a lot of food and it was all very good. And if you're more health conscious (like we are), it is definitely possible to find healthier options....but beware the desserts (a dessert is included with all lunches and dinners, regardless of it being a quick-service or a table service meal), they were truly delicious (we stopped finishing our desserts because we didn't want all that decadence at every meal, tempting as they were).

And while the weather was so-so (some rain and downpours, but not vacation-ruining), this was a very good week to come to "see the World". It wasn't very crowded and wait times for most rides/attractions (with a few exceptions) were under 20 minutes.

It seems that most visitors to WDW utilize Disney's transportation system. With the exception of having to use a Monorail or the Ferryboat to actually enter the main gate of the Magic Kingdom, we had a car rental to get around (advance reservation made with pick-up and drop-off at airport location). I've never not had one and have been lucky enough to be able to get a good rate that makes it possible to have a car rental. I just like to be able to come and go as I please and not have to wait for a bus to take me somewhere. However, that being said, I can fully understand and appreciate why most people opt for Disney's transportation. Even with all my visits, I occasionally take a wrong turn (though always quickly rectify my mistake).

In closing, I definitely recommend POFQ and visiting Disney during the one week a year when they have the complimentary meal plan offer (which is also a less crowded time to visit).

Room Tip: Rooms in buildings 4 and 5 (we were in bldg 4, room 4337 that had 2 queen beds) are close to all hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CNorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,702
    1,929
    555
    153
    69
See reviews for
3,225
1,140
86
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,428)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olive Branch, Mississippi, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This was our 6th trip, and 3rd time staying on property at Walt Disney World. Our two previous stays were at Pop Century. All I can say is wow! This place was amazing. Normally we would stay away from the moderates/deluxes because we were always trying to save money, but switching from Pop to POFQ was only about $130 total more, so it was very much worth it. We were placed in building #7, which was towards the end, and close to the river. We had a slight view of the river from our window, which was cool. There are quite a few things to do at the resort, such as pool activities, movies at night, horse drawn carriage and the boat to Downtown Disney, which we used. We loved the resort mugs and everything so pretty. It's very doubtful that we'll be going back to the Value resorts after staying here. I would HIGHLY recommend this resort. The 1 and only disappointment is that I was hoping for a "magical" upgrade to a river view room, since it was our anniversary. There were a slew of open rooms throughout the resort, especially in buildings 6 & 7, with about 90% of those buildings being empty. It didn't happen but it was just a wish. We'll be back for sure!

Room Tip: Every room is a good one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnwood, Illinois
Level Contributor
136 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is a relatively quiet and comfortable Disney resort with a good location just a short boat ride from Disney Marketplace. It is nicely themed with clever street names (like Rue D'Baga) and Mardi Gras references. Perhaps best suited for adults without children since it is the most un-Disney of the Disney hotels. All the usual amenities. We've stayed at many Disney resorts and this is the nicest in its price category (although Caribbean Beach comes close).

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shackelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

I booked this hotel as a suggestion from a friend, what a great place to stay! The resort is not very big, unlike the Riverside part of Port Orleans.
We were directly across from the pool in building 5. The room was very comfortable for the three of us. Any more and it would be tight. The only compliant about the room is the toliet! It's jet powered! The housekeeper was great. We got fun towel animals :)
The buses were quick and not too far of a walk!
All in all a great moderate hotel at Disney!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lovethewhites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Ontario
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

This was our second visit to the French Quarter in 2 years. As usual we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Service was great, staff was great, overall atmosphere was great.
We only had 2 minor complaints, bus service to and from the Magic Kingdom was a little disappointing, very long waits both directions. Second complaint was the television reception.

I will highly recommend this resort to anyone I know going to Walt Disney World.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are the most peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bittenbytravelbug10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed here with our daughter and three grandchildren and it was excellent. Room service was superb. Food court was a so-so cafeteria style experience with very bland choices. However, we ate most of our lunches and dinners at the parks. Even though we drove here, we took the buses almost everywhere. They were convenient enough but sometimes the waits were long.

There is a boat ride to downtown Disney which is fun and free, However, the boats, which are metal, do not run when there is lightning for obvious reasons. We were disappointed in downtown Disney because it's mostly shopping and there are a lot of overpriced restaurants, some of which are available elsewhere. We were on the meal plan and ate at the House of Blues. Great atmosphere, not so great food, and performers are only there on weekends. This was our first trip to Disney World and, all in all, it was a great time. Probably the most important thing we discovered was the importance of getting a Fast Pass to the key rides. Everyone lines up to go on the most exciting rides first thing in the day. Thus, we found that, following lunch, many rides have much shorter queues. Most enjoyable ride -- Splash Mountain at Magic Kingdom; most disappointing ride --- Finding Nemo at Epcot.

Room Tip: We had a river view but never really sat and looked at the river. Plus, there is constant gardening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jnjreeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

My partner and I stayed for 18nghts in this resort and found it to be clean, convenient and friendly.
Our room was a lovely corner room in block 6 over looking the river. Spacious and cleaned everyday although some days a little less thoroughly than others there was never cause to complained.
Food was pretty standard fast food and if you stroll to riverside there's much more choice for ddp customers. I would recommend those on the ddp use snack credits for breakfast at the hotel as choice was limited and not particularly worth a full meal credit.
Concierge staff and maintainance staff are second to non and will always help. Some staff in the food hall could do with an injection of personality,however overall a very good experience and would visit again!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Marley196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
0.9 mi away
Disney's Saratoga Springs Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside
1.3 mi away
Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
2.7 mi away
Disney's Coronado Springs Resort
2.1 mi away
Disney's Art of Animation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Property: Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
Address: 2201 Orleans Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8424 (Formerly Port Orleans Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#33 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#43 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1008
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Revel in the romance and pageantry of New Orleans's historic French Quarter at this Resort hotel, where cobblestone streets, gas lamps, wrought-iron balconies and fragrant magnolia blossoms evoke the Antebellum era and colorful Mardi Gras characters and jazz keep things lively. Then stroll along the Sassagoula River to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside, home to Cajun and Creole specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Port Orleans Resort
Port Orleans French Quarter
Port Orleans Orlando
Disney Port Orleans French Quarter
Disney Port Orleans Hotel
Disneys Port Orleans Resort French Quarter
Port Orleans Disney
Disneys Port Orleans Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing