We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“1st trip to Disney World”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
Ranked #65 of 336 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Kitchener
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“1st trip to Disney World”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The room was spotless, the beds and pillows were so comfortable. The resort was quiet and everything was just a short walk away. The onsite cafeteria food was limited but the quality was excellent. We were close to the buses and the water transportation. Everyday when we returned from the parks, we were excited to see what surprise towel animal would be left in our room. Cannot say enough about how excellent this vacation was. Would definitely highly recommend this resort and would come again. This was a 1st visit for my daughter (28) and myself. What a great trip. Can hardly wait to come back.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor, facing the garden area and had quick access to going everywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Audrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,679
    1,906
    551
    151
    69
See reviews for
3,195
1,130
83
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,411)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We just returned from our 3rd stay at Port Orleans FQ and, as always, they do not disappoint!

My kids love the pool and also enjoy riding the ferry to Riverside. The resort never feels crowded and there is plenty of outdoor space to roam. The grounds are beautiful and I just adore strolling down the "streets" at night when they are all lit up. I also highly recommend the horse and carriage ride that takes you through Riverside and French Quarter. I love the intimate feel of the resort and the fact that the lobby/pool/dining is never far away.

The ferry service to Downtown Disney is a big plus, as parking there is a nightmare. Bus transportation is good and the resort is somewhat centrally located so you are not too terribly far from any one park. Parking is also close to the rooms so loading and unloading is a breeze.

There is no table service restaurant at FQ, which doesn't bother me. If you wanted to be close to seated dining I would recommend staying at adjacent Riverside which, in my opinion, is a little less "kid-friendly" but also a little nicer.

The staff is wonderful and even at 3pm were not terribly busy.

In conclusion, I LOVE this resort and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Having stayed at this hotel in 2009 we decided to return to the same hotel this year, and we weren't disappointed.( September 6th-20th)Stayed in The French Quarter side again in building 2. Close to reception and restaurant area and was pleasantly surprised at how quiet it was at night. Only draw back ( very minor) was the music at 7 in the morning coming from the pool side which meant you didn't need to set an alarm. Some rooms have been updated,very clean and spacious. Maid service is every day with clean towels and top ups of small bottles of shampoo & conditioner just incase you run out. Washing area is good as there is two wash hand basins so its great when getting ready in the morning. Bathroom is small with a bath and overhead shower and toilet. Nice touches by the maids are in the rooms on arrival which is mickeys ears made from towels and other little characters all made with towels. All rooms are air conditioned, and also have a ceiling fan. We had two rooms as there were 5 adults in our party and each room had two queen size beds with lovely comfortable mattresses and pillows which resulted in a very comfortable nights sleep after a hectic day at the theme parks. This time we decided to do the Disney Dining Plan which was well worth the extra money and would definitely recommend it to anyone staying in any of the Disney Hotels. The great thing about this is when at a Disney park you can use your points for drinks e.g water, tea, coffee or bottle of fizzy pop. You can also buy your food at any Disney park, which is great if your out all day and doing the Magic Hours too. The French Quarter side of the hotel is quieter than Riverside but equally as nice. Very nice pool and hot tub with a slide for the younger ones. The "streets" around the resort and very well kept with palm trees and shrubs and there is a water fountain in one of the areas too. Each evening they have a movie night on the large grass area at F/Q which is great if you've been out all day and want a quiet night. There is a boat service to Downtown Disney which is nice and all the captains/pilots were very pleasant and always cheerful.
Would definitely return to this hotel again and would recommend it to others as it was recommended to us. Great place to stay, very pleasant and welcoming staff from the reception area, bar, restaurant, maids, and even the guys cleaning and sweeping the "streets" all round the resort. Very close to Magic Kingdom, Epcot, Hollywood Studios and Animal Kingdom and there is a free bus service from the reception area to all the Disney Parks.
A big thank you to all at this resort for making it such a fab place to spend our holiday
See you all again in the near future

Room Tip: Building 1 is probably the best, very quiet and close to car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We really liked staying here at our first visit to WDW. The resort was very charming and well decorated. It made you feel like you were really staying at Disney World. The food court was convenient and had tons of choices. The food was a little pricey but we expected that from Disney. We never went to the pool but it was a tad chilly when we were there. Everyone at the front desk was helpful and friendly. We arrived in the middle of the night and had no problem checking in. The room was not fancy but comfortable. We were there for the WDW half marathon in January and had a fabulous time!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelfrance2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Alabama
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

While the room is a standard hotel room, the resort is fabulous. Our little ones and big ones too enjoyed the pool and hot tub. The resort is small, quiet and easy to get around. We were close to the bus pick up area, the food court and pool. All the buildings at this resort are convenient. We especially enjoyed the short boat ride to Downtown Disney for shopping. Maid service was adequate and the Counter Serve food court was ok. We got a lot of use from those refillable mugs!
I would return to the French Quarter.

Room Tip: Building 3 is close to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank valsgramy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed here for only one night on our way to Disney's Vero Beach. I haven't stayed here in years so I was really looking forward to it. And our sons were really looking forward to the pool slide - they had seen photos online.

This is a moderate-level resort for Disney, and my favorite of this level.

The things I loved about this resort:
- the size of the hotel is small by Disney standards and it makes it less difficult to get around
- the exterior of the hotel is absolutely lovely, wonderful ambiance
- the rooms are nicely decorated
- I like the presence of what I call a "mess hall" - a food court
- the pool experience is above average for Disney I believe

I would have liked the resort better if they also had a full-service restaurant, but we still loved our stay and will return in the future!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DallasTraveler06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Woods, Michigan
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We just stayed here last week, Sept. 13-18, and I will tell you, it was beautiful. We had stayed here many years ago when our kids were very young, but I honestly don't remember this much detail about the property. We took the Magical Express from the airport and were to our resort in less than an hour. Upon check-in we were told our rooms were ready. We were traveling with my mom & were able to get connecting rooms. We were in building 2, rooms 2135 & 2136, very close to the main building, just across from the pool, and just down the "street" from the boat dock to DTD! Perfect location! It was never too loud, in fact, I kept commenting on how quiet this resort was. I guess having stayed at the values the past 2 times I was expecting it to be just as loud. This resort is quite compact, so I really don't think you could have a "bad location" for your room here. Let's talk about how beautiful this resort really is, you walk down the "streets" and view the palm trees, fountains, luscious gardens, and you really feel like you are in New Orleans! I had looked at all the photos ahead of time, but until you actually get there you have no idea how beautiful it really is. This would be a nice resort for couples. Our room was a good size for our family of 4, we were able to use the luggage rack & the rack over the air conditioner and it worked out great as far as space is concerned. Having the double sinks was a plus when getting ready in the morning and the privacy curtain between the sink/bed area made it easy to change. It was always neat & clean, we had towel animals most days. The man at the front door gave the kids coins almost everyday and beaded necklaces. The kids enjoyed the pool, the slide is very cute. We took the boat to both DTD and up to Riverside, nice trips to both places, relaxing. We ate at the food court once, food was good and plentiful. I recommend you try the beignets, they are messy but delicious!!! We used Disney transportation while there and mostly always had our own bus. I would say that this resort is about 10 min from MK, 5-10 min from Epcot, and 10 min from HS. We didn't go to AK. We rarely waited longer than 5 min for a bus, and the one time we had to wait longer there was a cast member arranging another bus to come for pick up. We will definitely be returning to this resort next time we visit Disney!

Room Tip: Buildings 2,3,4,& 5 are closest to the main building, but they all seem within a short walk to i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank lemonie777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
0.9 mi away
Disney's Saratoga Springs Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside
1.3 mi away
Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
2.7 mi away
Disney's Coronado Springs Resort
2.1 mi away
Disney's Art of Animation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Property: Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
Address: 2201 Orleans Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8424 (Formerly Port Orleans Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#33 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#43 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1008
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Revel in the romance and pageantry of New Orleans's historic French Quarter at this Resort hotel, where cobblestone streets, gas lamps, wrought-iron balconies and fragrant magnolia blossoms evoke the Antebellum era and colorful Mardi Gras characters and jazz keep things lively. Then stroll along the Sassagoula River to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside, home to Cajun and Creole specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Port Orleans Resort
Port Orleans French Quarter
Port Orleans Orlando
Disney Port Orleans French Quarter
Disney Port Orleans Hotel
Disneys Port Orleans Resort French Quarter
Port Orleans Disney
Disneys Port Orleans Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing