We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Disney Moderate Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
Ranked #58 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed at this hotel back in 2006 on our very first journey into Magic! It was our family's very first real vacation and the trip my husband learned what vacation is. The hotel was beautiful, magical, and just down right amazing! It was not too big either, which is very important! (At Caribbean & Coronado the walk to breakfast was 10 minutes or more, not a huge deal except if you forget something in your room, have a key card issue, or have to blot through a down pour! Yes, all of these events have taken place...) We have since stayed at: The Wilderness Lodge, The Animal Kingdom Lodge, The All Star Movie Resort, The Caribbean Beach Resort, & The Coronado Spring Resort. We have enjoyed each resort for the different feel they have, but Port Orleans French Quarter is the best. Out of the 3 Moderate resorts we have enjoyed we found the French Quarter to have nice rooms, easy access to everything, and only one bus stop is so nice. You can visit any resort on property for food and the water launch to Downtown Disney is such a nice touch! I would stay here in a heart beat! Rooms are

Room Tip: The water view rooms are very nice, but with this location every room is a good room!
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank pumpkinkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,535)
There are newer reviews for Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,422 - 3,428 of 5,535 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2012

This resort is small compared to the other resorts at Disney but it is very peaceful. The rooms are good size and beds were updated to queen. Very comfortable and maid service is excellent. Very helpful and friendly staff. Pool is nice but it is the only pool at the resort. Would recommend this resort.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tjcat98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

The staff were very helpful and gave us a Magical experience. The room was clean, attractive and well presented.
After a long day at the park, it was delightful to be met by Disney water art on the ground, welcoming us home. The pizza was just sensational and was available until quite late which was convenient. We never had a problem getting a bus to or from the parks.
We did have a problem with the 'magic express' to the airport which we requested months in advance online. Staff were able to help us sort out the problem eventually and we a somewhat rushed exit, but made it to the airport on time.
We loved the Disney experience, it was very different to staying at the Holiday Inn near Downtown Disney which was also an outstanding stay.

Stayed: January 2012
6  Thank Marg1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We bit the bullet and stayed at this Disney World resort in June. With my husband at a conference off-site, it was very convenient for the kids and I to bus to the parks, and then in the evening go back for dinner. The pool was fun, the room was adequate, we only had lunch once in the food court. Staff are very friendly, and it's a quieter setting, which I appreciated.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thanesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We had a nice 2 night stay in this hotel; although the hotel is huge, it didn't give us a packed feeling. Staff was great and hotel and rooms were clean.
Room itself was nothing special, but had all necessary facilities and was spacious.

We only went to the hotel restaurant once to get breakfast the first morning. Don't expect too much healthy/light food at reasonable prices... As we were here to visit the parks, we just took something to eat on our way to the park. (you can get a croissant etc in the parks as well)
Shuttle bus service worked excellent, all was clearly indicated.

At night we drove to Downtown Disney, which was nice and only a 5 mins away from the hotel by car.
The hotel has got plenty of parking space, so you don't need to worry about loosing your parking space by the time you get back at night.

We would recommend this hotel if you prefer one of the on site hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank l1eve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Myself and my husband and two sons aged 16 and 13 have just returned from a fortnights stay at the French Quarter in hot and thundery August.Prior to going we had done a lot of research into the resort and found many of the tips left by reviewers helpful.
The resort did not dissapoint,we were in building 4 on the ground floor,we had a garden view and were central placed only 2min walk away from food court,car park and Disney bus service - very welcome in the heat of the day or when returning to the room late at night.The rooms were Clean and pleasant ~we just about managed with 4 adult sized people,my only gripe was the lack of clothing storage space for a fortnights stay,we had to leave a the bulk of clothing in our cases and get out as needed.l was also dissapointed that our maid never did any towel art !!
We hired a car,useful for travelling out an about.However we found the Disney bus transport very efficient and never had more than a ten minute wait even after fireworks late at night.Occasionally they were full and we stood but the French Quarter is well located and no park more than 10 mins away.
The food court was busy,staff very glum and unsmiling ~ certainly no Disney magic in this area,food was ok but to be fair we only ate breakfast there and used our Quick service dining plan to try the food courts at other resorts.
We slowly fell in love with the resort,it's lovely gentle ambience.It was a refreshing and calm place to come back to after the madness of the parks.
Tips we found useful !!!
Always use your refillable mug at meal at resort if on dining plan then you can get bottle of water/soda to take to parks.
You can get any snack up to value of $5 on plan - we discovered the delight of disneys kettle corn and also were able to get wonderful icecream from the corner icecream
Parlour of main street in Magic Kingdom.
We bought an aqua pack to store our car keys etc when at water parks and saved a$10 charge but more importantly the mayhem around the lockers !!
Use the fast pass !! Even in busy August we never queued for more than 15 min !!! It's a no brainer.
Try to get things done early - we were always at the parks by 9am - there were thunderstorms most afternoons and rides/watermarks would close.
So overall we LOVED it,going to start saving ASAP for our next trip.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dorettamsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We just returned from our Disney vacation and experienced our first stay at a Disney Resort. This resort, Port Orleans, French Quarter was absolutely amazing. The staff, from Check-in to Check-out was warm, helpful and truly interested in making our stay as enjoyable as possible. We didn't have to think about making any decisions since every park was easily accessible through the Disney Transportation system. Even when we spent 1 day at Universal, the staff had taxi's on the property to transport us and suggested this mode of transportation because it was less expensive. We did not use the Disney dining plan because we weren't sure if it was worth it for our family in the long run. (all older children). Consider this resort, it was wonderful for any size family.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Batman658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Buena Vista
Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Address: 2201 Orleans Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8424 (Formerly Port Orleans Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#33 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#43 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $225 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1008
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Revel in the romance and pageantry of New Orleans's historic French Quarter at this Resort hotel, where cobblestone streets, gas lamps, wrought-iron balconies and fragrant magnolia blossoms evoke the Antebellum era and colorful Mardi Gras characters and jazz keep things lively. Then stroll along the Sassagoula River to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside, home to Cajun and Creole specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Port Orleans Resort
Port Orleans French Quarter
Port Orleans Orlando
Disney Port Orleans French Quarter
Disney Port Orleans Hotel
Disneys Port Orleans Resort French Quarter
Port Orleans Disney
Disneys Port Orleans Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing