We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over promised and under delivered”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa
Ranked #23 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2009

We took a family vacation to Disney over Christmas break and spent three nights at the Grand Floridian. We were expecting a high level of luxury and service given what we've heard and read about the property. Our check-in process was difficult. First, we were sent to the wrong rooms (our last name was similar to the last name of another guest, even though the first names and number of people in our party were different). Second, we were sent to other rooms only to find the rooms did not connect. At the time we reserved the rooms we were told the connection was guaranteed since we have small children. Finally, after more than and hour we got rooms that connected. We've stayed at other Disney properties and found that, other than being on the monorail, the Grand Floridian was no better than the mid-priced properties. Food options are limited and the service is spotty. We had a great vacation, but we were not impressed with this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank familyguy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,399)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,623 - 3,629 of 4,399 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2009

I'm 25 years old and i have visited Disney sence i've been 6. And also with my children my husband and i have taken our children at least 4 times to all the parks and they are only 2 and 1. Our last Vaca we stayed at the animal Kingdom and we enjoyed it besides the Bus rides to all the Parks so this year we chosen the Crem' De' La' Crem "Grand Floridian" ... Beautiful up on arrival it looked like the vaca my little princesses dreamed about.. Yes i was discussed of the room it was small, smelly and bad maid service it was not what i would have thought for the price. The food was bad but thats expected from Disney where used to that by now but what had really upset me was my 2 year old twins and 19 mo old little girls was in the bath tub and the door shut and locked them in the bath room with the water running a moms worst fear!!! After running threw the buliding trying to find a maid she did'nt under stand me she was more intrested in cleaning the water up that was going to over flow on the floor not my "could be" drowneing babies... coaxing her to my room and her not complying with "Please Give us the Key!!" And her " I don't have one i'll call somebody." My husband had to bust the door down, wich was a thick door.and hard to do. Thank god to Find my 3 babies Live but,Scared Crying and water to thier neck ... Later only to find Mangers and maids being very Rude LIEING to us trying to tell us that a paper clip would open the door but We tryed every thing!!.. And only To find out that we was right only a Key could open that bathroom door that no maid carries only certain security people carry and to prove im not lieing please if you read other reviews it takes 45 min for some one to come to your door with the key . And yes 45 after the last rude maid came to my door The "KEY MAN" showed up. the manager said he had no clue and bla bla bla sence your checking out tomorrow theres not much we can do heres a chocolate tinker bell and we will take care of this matter we never knew our doors did this bla bla bla .. So we headed to the pool we was to upset to do a park that day. Later my 2 year old was in to deep of water for her and she was bobbling UP AND UNDER water and the life gaured just sat there looking directlly at her hoping some one else would see her now. Please I can Get over the fact that there is not a vending machine in each building or a bottle of water placed in your room so when you wake up thirsty your out of luck exept for tap water that tast like chems. and there is no security or any staff in each building (talk about job creation) but for SAFTY I rate it a No, No for familys with children or disabiltys Many Accidents happen in the world each day and to know it would take you 45 min to help your loved one who might have fallen, passed out or have a heart attack in the bath room behind a loked door let lone babys who are sitting in a bath tub by thier selfs Please Its disney Change your Locks or provide keys to the bathrooms like you would do a mini bar (that they dont have)

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theladiesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2009

From check-in to check out we loved the Grand Floridian. We stayed from January 24th through February 1st. Check-in was a breeze and easy...room wasn't ready until 3:00. No problem she said it would be worth the wait.....boy was it. We booked a regular room and received an lake front room right in front of the boat launch to Magic Kingdom. I'm not sure if a better room existed. We had sent a fax to the Grand Floridian asking for a room with a few a week prior and it apparently paid off. We opted for the dining plan as well and found this was a fantastic deal We got a snack, quick service meal and a sit down meal. My wife booked all the reservation about 3 weeks out with no problems. The dinners averaged about 150.00 and all we had to pay was the tip. The quick services lunches were good too...except for Magic Kingdom....limited selection and usually junk type food. Better quick service lunch options at the other parks. The crowds were at a minimum and all of the good rides did not have much of a wait...approx. 15-20 minutes max. The Grand Floridian was grand and loved the Momorail service to Magic Kinigdom and Epcot. The boat service back from MK was terrific too.....and our room was steps from the boat launch. The price was right with flights and I have no complaints. I thnk it would be a good idea to sit down and listen to the vacation club early in on your vacation as I heard the kids like it and they make it worth your while...I think a Disnet gift card for a good chunk of money is given to listen to the sell story. I heard it is worth doing...after the fact. We had dinner all over the parks. Cafe De France, Mexico, Morraco, Grand Floridian and once at MGM...the Italian restautrant...forgot the name. All the meals were great and a little similar. The snack options were also pretty good...escpecially at the Bakery on Main Street USA. You can get a box of cereal and a milk for a snack voucher....good deal. They also had a enormous cinnamon roll listed as a snack option. I would definitely stay at the GF again in a heart beat. If we go again I would most likely try somwething different as we have stayed at the Contemporary the Carribean Beach Resort and now the GF. My wife was looking at the Boardwalk resorts and seemed to like to ability to wasily get to Epcot and Hollywood studios from that area.....I think you can walk to both. I went with my children ages 11 and 8 and they still had a wonderful time woth some great memories. Disney treated us right again. We also rented a car and drove around to many of the parks with ease. The new picture options were great where they just scan your card and you can go online later at home and decided if you want to purchase any of the pictures taken by the many photographers all over all the parks. We also stopped at a local grocery store and bought some milk OJ and cereal and snacks for the kids. The refridgerator in the room was nice to have. Each morning they had breakfast on the cheap as this saved a lot of money on not having to purchase breakfast.....this was a good idea.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Greenwaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2009

From the time I was a little girl my family has always enjoyed spending time together by traveling to Walt Disney World and staying at our favorite Grand Floridian. After going again in the spring I was again satisfied and enchanted! Though pricy, the lobby is amazing, the rooms are beautiful, the pool is great, and the service is impeccable! Sometimes it was even hard to get myself to go to the great parks.
I dined at 1900 Park Fare and it was so fun! With new character additions at dinner (ugly stepsisters & wicked stepmother) we had a great time. They were so funny! Also, the food is pretty good (buffet) and the dessert was fabulous.
The pools, the lobby, Gaspirillas, make the GF just like home...except better. I'm so excited to be going back in March!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank LoveToTravel1129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2009

We had a very nice 3-night stay at the Grand Floridian. Everything was spotless, the service was consistently attentive without being overbearing or annoying, and the concierge was very helpful with everything from theme park tickets to dinner reservations. The hotel is right on one of the monorail lines, which made it very convenient to travel to Epcot and the Magic Kingdom, and the bus to Animal Kingdom was nice, although there was a bit of a wait both to and from the park. We also took advantage of the Magic Express airport transportation service, both to and from the Grand Floridian, and we used the airport check-in service at the hotel, which made heading home much more pleasant (until our connecting flight was canceled, but that's another story...).

We enjoyed an afternoon tea which was very nice, and ordered room service one night for dinner, which came quickly and was tasty and well presented.

We did not use the pool or jacuzzi, but they appeared clean and well-maintained.

All in all, we had a wonderful stay at the Grand Floridian, and I would definitely be interested in going back. I will say that, as nice as it was, everything seemed overpriced, which is something I expect at Disney. We paid about $150-$200 less than the standard room rate because we were there with a wedding party, and I can't possibly imagine paying that much more to stay at the Grand Floridian- the price we paid seemed about right for the service and amenities we received.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank ktregar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2009

Stayed at this hotel when it first opened in 1989 and 20 years later, it is still a beautiful resort. Our room, which was located in a lodge building, was completely updated with new bedding and flat screen TV's. I believe this to be the best Disney resort. No complaints regarding anything at this resort.

I have previously stayed at the Contemporary, Polynesian, Beach Club and Swan, all were very nice, but, The Grand Floridian is the best in Disney World to me.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Suzi02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2009

This resort made me feel like a princess! Turn down service, chocolates, hospitality, and complementary gifts, ah I could list forever. The food is wonderful too. Save the money, take the time, and go. Even if you only stay at this resort a few nights out of your disney vacation, it is worth all the hard hours you spent working to pay for this experience. That is what it is-not a resort to sleep in at night- but an experience. It is also close to magic kingdom!
Oh yes! Please don't listen to reviews claiming the cast members appear robotic or that the food is bland or whatever. I have been to disney eleven times in my young life and have many friends from college who worked as cast members (summer jobs). Cast members are almost always sincere because disney not only keeps its guests happy, but it's employees too. Be civil to the cast members and they will go out of their way to make sure your stay is perfectly magical. In fact, the only issue I have with this resort was it is very awkward and disheartening watching rich people snub and dehumanize the cast members and watching the cast members handle it so graciously. America is a glorious country, but let us not forget who it is that holds us up at our foundation- don't snub the people who cook your food, clean your toilette, and change your bed sheets.
As to the food, Disney is a wonderful place to expand your palette and for you family chefs to be refreshed and inspired (especially at The Grand Floridian!). Warning- If you are not willing to branch out beyond american fast food and try new dishes that involve more than chicken fingers you will end up eating very expensive, everyday, american cafeteria food (although not bad for what it is). The food at the signature and fine dining restaurants in disney is pleasant, beautiful, delicious, and worth every cent. Oh, and if you have special dietary needs, the staff really go out of their way to accomodate, so don't let that stop you. There were instances at the Grand Floridian where the food looked so perfect on my plate that I was sorry to cut into it. But I am certainly glad that I did!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank tiredlawstudent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 340 in Orlando
1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa

Address: 4401 Floridian Way, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8451
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#3 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#4 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#23 Family Hotel in Orlando
#27 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#32 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $550 - $1,098 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 867
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian elegance meets modern sophistication at this lavish bayside Resort hotel. Relax in the sumptuous lobby as the live orchestra plays ragtime, jazz and popular Disney tunes. Bask on the white-sand beach, indulge in a luxurious massage and watch the fireworks light up the sky over Cinderella Castle. Just one stop to Magic Kingdom park on the complimentary Resort Monorail, this timeless Victorian-style marvel evokes Palm Beach's golden era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Grand Floridian Resort
Grand Floridian Resort
Grand Floridian Disney
Disneys Grand Floridian Hotel
Grand Floridian Orlando
Disney Grand Floridian Hotel
Grand Floridian Hotel Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing