We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of heaven at Walt Disney World”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa
Ranked #22 of 342 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Living an hour away, we have visited WDW umpteen times with our children over the years. We have stayed at all the Disney resort properties. However, this visit (sans children) we stayed at the Grand Floridian. Our accommodations were on the Conceirge floor in the main building. It was truly "heaven on earth"! Our room was large with a balcony over-looking the pools and lagoon. The room was similar to a suite in other hotels. Plush robes and slippers were available for our use. Turn down service and chocolates greeted us when we returned for the night. A Keurig coffee maker with various coffees/teas was a nice addition. The Conceirge floor offered a continental breakfast; afternoon tea-like sandwiches,pastries,and a variety of cheeses; and evening desserts and aperitifs. All day accompanied by wine,juices,beer, coffee and soft drinks. In the afternoon, the hotel orchestra plays on the second floor, which resonates throughout the massive open lobby. A piano player alternates with the orchestra playing Disney tunes. It was so nice to relax after a long day at the Magic Kingdom with h'ors dourves and a glass of wine while being serenaded by a wonderful small orchestra. We also returned to the Conceirge floor after dinner for dessert and aperitifs and coffee and had a nice view of the Magic Kingdom fireworks. We were only there for a weekend, so did not take advantage of the newly renovated spa. The men's and women's shops are excellent,offering stylish high-end brands. Another plus is that the monorail stops at the Grand Floridian, and is one stop away from the Magic Kingdom. I know there are Character meals at the 1905 Cafe-reservations are a must! We did not eat at any of the restaurants, so no reviews.

Room Tip: Rooms in the "towers" do not have a balcony, and the dormer rooms have a smaller balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Margo226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,465)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,294 - 2,300 of 4,465 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2014

I was there for a business meeting and spent one night is this exceptional hotel. The service stands out since all employees are there to help the guests have a great experience. My room was clean and had a touch of Disney everywhere you looked. This was my first stay at one of the higher end hotels on Disney property and found it to be perfect for me. If you want to splurge, this would be great for a couples getaway.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SunflowerGirl_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We are Disney Vacation Club members but do not "own" here, so we were excited for our wait-list wish to come true. This was our anniversary trip, so we were looking for somewhere a bit more romantic than our normal weekend trips over to Disney World. We got a nice stay in a very nicely furnished wheelchair accessible room. I requested that our room be ready upon our early arrival (and it was), which explains why we were put in that room.

Pros about the hotel/rooms:
- new hotel, so furnishings, linens, etc. are new
- we were called by name from the time we arrived at the front door
- very attentive staff
- the monorail ran right near our room, but we barely heard it or any sounds from outside
- transportation options to move around without using a car were plenty (monorail, boat, and bus), and we could walk to the Polynesian

Cons about the hotel/rooms:
- transportation to theme parks and all shops/food (except vending machines) are in the main building of the Grand Floridian HOTEL, which is a couple minute walk from the Villas, something to keep in mind if you get a refillable mug
- our bed was uncomfortable
- had to go over to the hotel's hot tub- don't know why they didn't add one to the pool built right there considering this is a resort that tends more towards adults than kids.
- they were already having to re-do the fountain in the lobby, yet the Villas just opened in Fall, 2013- makes me wonder

All in all, we would absolutely stay there again, but we may not only because it is more expensive (cash for non-members and points for members).

Room Tip: Room 1524 is a wheelchair accessible room but has a tub and is therefore not equipped to roll in to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We spent 1 night in this hotel as we went for our second visit to Magic Kingdom. In 2010 we spent 5 night in the Contemporary resort but I must say that the Grand Floridian it's a lot better. The quality of the rooms and the facilities is superb for a family and the service is really good. Everybody is happy to help you and nice. We had a great breakfast at "the Cafe" that we enjoyed so much for the good service and the superb food. The fact that is link to the Magic Kingdom by the monorail makes it very convinient to get the most of the park. I really recommend it and if we go again this will be our choice.

Room Tip: The ones with the view to the lagoon are really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fernando S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed here for the first time and it was an amazing room. We had a view of the Magic Kingdom and we were able to just sit on the balcony and watch the fireworks, we also sat out there and watched the boats and monorail as well. Our room was clean, as was the entire hotel and the cast members were very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BritKansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Our family has stayed at the GF twice and we love it. WDW excels in customer service. We book through Small World Vacations and use a rep named Jody Ball. She is an amazing expert on WDW and we highly recommend her. In fact, we will be making our third trip July 2014, but will be trying a new resort, the Disney Beach club. We go with our entire family, 14 total, and Jody does a superb job of coordinating dinner reservations, park tickets, magical express, etc. This will be the third trip that we have booked the dining plan and we recommend it with park hopper tickets. This allows you to make the most of your stay on Disney property.

The Grand Floridian is pure Heaven. Many reviews say it is dated, and it was scheduled to begin updates after we left. So I can only imagine how it's improved. I didn't think it was in dire need of renovations. The Magical express delivers you to the front door, where it's like you have stepped back in time. The hotel looks like the Grand Coronado Hotel on Coronado Island in CA. The staff members are full of Disney magic, as they really exceed guests expectations. The pools are big and relaxing. Our first stay was a bayside view and was great for our immediate family of 5, as we have 3 young children. The second stay we had a pool view and I preferred this. We stay in the park until closing every night, so we never watched the fireworks from the room. We tend to stay out late, sleep in, lay around the pool in the heat of the day, then repeat. We usually ate at Sasparillas Grill at the resort, as most of our meals were in the park restaurants. The grill was great and the menu had completely changed in the 2 years between our trips. The best part of the resort IMO is the monorail. Hop on and you're at the Magic Kingdom or Epcot. It's perfect. The busses are fine, but the monorail is a big time saver, especially if you have small kids and strollers to deal with.

Next trip, we will not be staying on the monorail, but within walking distance into Epcot and the monorail station there. Will post a review of that trip to see how the resort and lack of monorail differs from the GF stays we have had.

Room Tip: Get a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JSWUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

I recently stayed at the Grand Floridian Villas. I was in room 1505, a standard view studio on the fifth floor. The elegantly modern décor makes the room a relaxing spot to rest after touring the theme parks. The spacious room sleeps five (with a queen sized bed, queen sized pull out couch, and a twin murphy bed). There is a kitchenette with a small fridge, toaster, coffee maker, and microwave.

The split bathroom was a nice plus. One part of the bathroom featured a toilet and tub/shower, and the other part of the bathroom featured the sink and a shower stall. The extra shower stall is a big time saver in the morning when you have several people trying to get ready to head to the theme parks in the morning.

My room featured a large balcony with two chairs and a small table. The room overlooked a lovely fountain, the main tower of the Grand Floridian, and the monorail. It was pleasant to sit out on the balcony and watch the monorail go by in the mornings.

The room was very quiet--I never heard a noise from outside or the hallways. It felt like I was the only person in the resort.

The resort was a lot more relaxing the most other Disney resorts. I recommend planning to spend some time in the lobby of the main lobby in the afternoon or evenings when they have a piano player performing in the lobby, and a small orchestra playing from the second floor balcony. It is a nice way to take a break from the heat of the day.

The staff at the Grand Floridian is outstanding. Everyone from bell services and the front desk to the servers at the restaurants and clerks in the store are super nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Request a view of the monorail. It's fun to sit on the balcony and watch the monorail pass by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JellyrollsKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 342 in Orlando
1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa

Address: 4401 Floridian Way, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8451
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#3 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#4 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#23 Family Hotel in Orlando
#27 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#32 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $551 - $1,176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 867
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian elegance meets modern sophistication at this lavish bayside Resort hotel. Relax in the sumptuous lobby as the live orchestra plays ragtime, jazz and popular Disney tunes. Bask on the white-sand beach, indulge in a luxurious massage and watch the fireworks light up the sky over Cinderella Castle. Just one stop to Magic Kingdom park on the complimentary Resort Monorail, this timeless Victorian-style marvel evokes Palm Beach's golden era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Walt Disney Parks & Resorts, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Grand Floridian Resort
Grand Floridian Resort
Grand Floridian Disney
Disneys Grand Floridian Hotel
Grand Floridian Orlando
Disney Grand Floridian Hotel
Grand Floridian Hotel Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing