We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hotel, less than awesome staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa
Ranked #22 of 336 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Awesome hotel, less than awesome staff”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We stayed at the Villas as DVC members for our honeymoon and it was perfect! The room is impeccable, bathroom being split was SO helpful. Having pocket doors in the bathroom was a little different/weird but it wasn't really a problem once we actually used them.
The view from our room (which was a lake view) was great, although we had a bit more of a view of the other side of the building than we would have liked. We could see the water pageant from our balcony which was so great! It was a much better view of it than from the Contemporary.
We did have a few issues with the cast members being stand offish, and at some points downright rude. However, aside from dealing with the CMs directly at the resort it was an awesome time. The onsite spa is really great, possibly a little overpriced but the service and quality of treatments are wonderful, especially for being on vacation (read: you'll probably spend more anyways). Didn't have experience in in-room dining but I always love the restaurant options and the food court is so yummy!
Overall, stay here if you get the chance. It was much better as we were staying on points though, so it can be pretty expensive if you're paying cash, but the resort is worth it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tellemarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,632
    899
    385
    169
    86
See reviews for
2,568
609
35
321
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (938)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

This was our third trip to Disney, and we decided to try a hotel right on the monorail for the first time. Our family of four (kids are 9 and 6) really enjoyed our stay here. We did 6 days at the parks, and did 3 nights at the Grand Floridian to take advantage of the monorail access to Magic Kingdom and Epcot. Kids loved the pools, and we really enjoyed the room...spacious and beds were amazing. Great live jazz music in the lobby everyday, and nice restaurants at the resort. We did the character breakfast at 1900 Fare...kids loved it. You can also see the nightly fireworks show right from the resort, so you don't have to go back into the park if you are tired. We moved over to the Hilton Bonnet Creek for the remainder of our stay to save money, and we saved the non-monorail parks for that portion of our stay. We will likely stay at the Grand Floridian again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liberty K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

I read all the reviews and was not exactly looking forward to staying here. I will add a disclaimer that I was fortunate enough my inlaws payed for the whole trip. They had booked us a garden view room and to our pleasant surprise we had probably one of the best rooms at the resort. It looked out to the pool and to the left you could see the evening water electrical parade. Siblings were on the other side and they had a view of fireworks. There is no way this was a garden view and I don;t know how, but we were definitely upgraded to a nicer room. We had two sets of connecting as well, which is what we suggested.

The rooms were way more spacious and very clean and smelled new. As mentioned we could hear the electric parade. The downside is if you have kids that go to bed early, it is VERY loud and goes off at 9:00-9:30 every night. You will be singing that tune in your sleep! The staff was very friendly and I did not feel like I was having disney overload while at that hotel. They have two pools one is definitely geared towards kids and if you want peace and quiet you can go to the other.

To get to magic kingdom so convenient the boat was steps outside our door. Downtown disney pain in butt to get to. Took about an hr both times between all the stops we had to make, waiting on bus, ect.

The one giant downside is the food. It is just horrible in my opinion. I am not a foody but by the end of the trip everything starts to taste the same and I would be fine never seeing a french fri or potato chip again. We finally ate at the fancy hotel restaurant the last night and it was the first time I could order a salad that wasn't iceberg with ranch or caesar as my only two choices.

Other complaint is there is no hotel lobby bar. I realize this is disney but it would be nice to sit and have a drink and watch a sporting event if you have the option. They do have this very very tiny bar behind the band that has a tv the size you would have in a kitchen and people from all over the world are vying to watch their particular sporting event. If you want to have a drink and you don't like beer or wine, you are out of luck once the pool closes (with exception of that tiny bar size of a closet). If you do like beer or wine they sell 6 packs or bottles in the gift shop for a much better price than if you were to buy an individual one at the cafeteria. Cheers!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cbgChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

This is a beautiful resort. The accommodations are comfortable, the facilities are excellent (including the pool area) and the location is good (accessible by monorail). However, in my opinion the resort is overpriced and better value can be had in Disney World.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank youngmontrealer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

Loved this resort, very clean, friendly staff, good onsite restaurants, and super easy access to all disney theme parks and attractions. No need to drive and feel stressed when visiting the parks as the disney shuttles, monorail and boats are ready to pick you up and take you to your destination.Highly recommended to friends and families!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank MommylovesLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed at the Grand Floridian (two adults and three children). Our first room was a studio at the Villas and the second was One Bedroom Suite in the same building. The One Bedroom was awesome, plenty of space, full kitchen, huge balcony, washer dryer, everything you need when traveling as a family. The studio was not as nice. There were NO DRAWERS in the room. Not one single place to story clothes. We basically had to live out of three large suitcases that ended up taking up a lot of space in an already small room.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChicagoGrizwalds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Virginia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Concierge level room with a view of the park was our selection and a great one it was. The room was spacious and spotless. At night we watched the fireworks exploding over the castle from our room; it doesn't get better than that. Each day, morning, lunch time, afternoon and evening, there were special treats at the concierge only lounge. Great variety at each setting and a relaxing atmosphere too.

Room Tip: The extra money for this resort and the concierge level in particular is well spent. Our Disney exp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kwaichang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#25 of 336 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,136 reviews
Disney's BoardWalk Inn
#62 of 336 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa

Property: Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa
Address: 4401 Floridian Way, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8451
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#4 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#5 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#23 Family Hotel in Orlando
#27 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#32 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 867
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian elegance meets modern sophistication at this lavish bayside Resort hotel. Relax in the sumptuous lobby as the live orchestra plays ragtime, jazz and popular Disney tunes. Bask on the white-sand beach, indulge in a luxurious massage and watch the fireworks light up the sky over Cinderella Castle. Just one stop to Magic Kingdom park on the complimentary Resort Monorail, this timeless Victorian-style marvel evokes Palm Beach's golden era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Grand Floridian Resort
Grand Floridian Resort
Grand Floridian Disney
Disneys Grand Floridian Hotel
Grand Floridian Orlando
Disney Grand Floridian Hotel
Grand Floridian Hotel Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing