We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced Undervalued!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa
Ranked #22 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel since its grand opening. We use to love staying here....this will be our last stay.
Over the past 5 years down a notch each visit. Every time we check in the is always a problem (new staff, computer system, what ever). Use to be great when you drive up its like open season everyone running around doing nothing. We finally got out pulled bags hunted down attendant then headed inside almost to doors when finally greated

This all needs to be addressed its rudiculous they make you feel like you don't belong at their hotel. Rooms are outdated. Impossible to get a reasonable RSVP at their restaurants.

We won't be back!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank BocaCindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,364)
There are newer reviews for Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,723 - 2,729 of 4,364 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2013

I just returned from a three day stay with my son at Disney's Grand Floridan. Last year we stayed on the concierge level and this time we stayed in a standard room. Although it has a great location in the heart of Disney and easy access to all the parks the "luxury" part of the hotel is not so " luxury." The staff is very kind, but personal attention to detail that you expect from a luxury hotel is not really there. Upon arrival, the staff took my luggage assuring me that it would be in my room once I returned from the park. However, when we returned 5 hours later, the bags were not in my room. I had to go to the concierge and find my luggage. Overall, our stay was OK.

Room Tip: The concierge level is probably worth it. Bigger rooms and all day snacks are available.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ruddyrocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Just returned from 5 nights at the Grand Floridian. Standard rooms are wonderful - large, very comfortable beds, nice little balcony. The landscaping here is beautiful, so don't be shy about booking one of the less expensive garden view rooms. I cannot say enough about the service - excellent in every way. Very convenient free transportation, either by monorail or boat. Our five year old grandson loved the children's pool with its slides and various other water toys. We stayed in one of the out buildings - all of which are close and convenient to the main building. The lobby is most impressive and we loved the evening pianist and orchestra. A great place to relax. We have stayed at 13 different disney world hotels - many of them very, very nice, but the Grand Floridian is the best. Our only regret is that I did not bring a sport coat so we could dine at Victoria and Albert's.

Room Tip: We had originally booked a superior room, but these cannot be adjoining so we switched to standard r...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mmcgannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I stayed here with my husband the beginning of February, we had a standard room with the Garden view. The hotel definitely has its pros and cons.

Pros: Extra Magic hours were great, we'd hit the rides with the biggest waits then and be in and out! Proximity to Epcot and Magic Kingdom via the monorail was a plus, however the monorail was down twice during our stay, and we finished dinner at Epcot after the monorail closed so we still ended up on the bus. General service, the staff was always more than happy to answer questions, they even printed our boarding pass which saved us major time at the airport! The grounds of the hotel were gorgeous, very relaxing and it was always a treat to walk through the lobby when the live band was playing some familiar Disney tunes. Walking around the grounds with Cinderella's castle across the water only added to the experience

Cons: The rooms were nothing special. The walls were paper thin so if you're a light sleeper beware. The rooms were in desperate need of a refresh - everything looked worn and old. Gasperillas was convenient for breakfast but the food was...eh. It was fine for quick fare I suppose but I've stayed at hotels with included breakfast buffets with equal or better quality. The offering was too limited and still pricey. I expected better from the GF. If you have the time definitely go to the polynesian one morning - their breakfast was only slightly more but LOADS better. Also there was quite a bit of construction going on so the main pool was closed. Not that big of a deal but worth noting. Bus transportation was just ok...always crowded and it would stop at the other hotels. I would have expected dedicated busses from the individual hotels.

With all of that in mind, I'm not sure I would stay at the GF in the future, I'm just not sure the conveniences are worth the price. Being a Disney resort I was expecting top notch and I just don't think it was there for the price you're paying, and you still seem to pay for everything.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JenJ0710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

This is the second time we are staying at the Sugar Loaf building at the Grand Floridian and what a difference from last time! The pool was under construction, which messes up the whole atmosphere of luxury outside; the vacation club construction is super noisy as well. The lobby was always so crowded that you had to bump into people constantly to get to the food (last year this time, we had been one of two families usually getting food, this year there must have been 15 families at a time there). The room we stayed in was extremely tired with a disgusting stain on the couch.
The only bright spot for us was the new kiddie pool play area with Alice in Wonderland theme. The kids loved going down the slides while the hat was topping off and spilling water on them.
The monorail broke down several times during our 4 night stay, so in retrospect, we should have changed our reservations as soon as we received a letter that the main pool will not be finished on time for our visit as previously expected.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tennisfan93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed three nights at the Grand Floridian in late January. The lobby, surrounding spaces, and the rooms are beautiful. The courtyard pool was closed due to renovations but we rarely if ever use the pools while at Disney World so that was no big deal. Access to the Magic Kingdom and Epcot is outstanding and we used both the monorail and the boat system.

The Magical Express is convenient but may not be for everyone – we may not use it again. When we got on the bus at the airport, we heard people complaining that they had been waiting about 45 minutes for the bus to fill up before they departed. A perk of this system is that they will deliver your luggage to your room within 3 hours of check in. We checked in around 9:30 and didn’t get our luggage until well after midnight so that aspect is kind of a pain.

I am glad we stayed here and since it was a special occasion, it was a neat experience. It is hard to beat the location and elegance of the Grand Floridian but even with everything it has to offer, I am not sure it is worth the cost. I also make this statement because when we are at Disney World, we don’t spend much time at the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dsnyfan08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Our first stay on site was at the Grand Floridian and what an amazing hotel. The staff is so accommodating and at your disposal 24/7. We were there 5 nights and we will be coming back. A much deserved vacation for my special lady, this hotel is centrally located so that all parks are easy to travel to. The boat was our favorite way to get to the Magic Kingdom. Being located on the monorail makes it an easy choice to stay here to get to any of the parks. Each night there is a pianist located in the main hall and then there is a live jazz band that plays once he has completed his time tickling the ivory. It truly is a magical experience, one that we did not want to end.

Thank you Mickey and Friends!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 340 in Orlando
1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Buena Vista
Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa

Address: 4401 Floridian Way, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8451
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#4 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#5 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#23 Family Hotel in Orlando
#27 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#32 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $539 - $1,112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 867
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian elegance meets modern sophistication at this lavish bayside Resort hotel. Relax in the sumptuous lobby as the live orchestra plays ragtime, jazz and popular Disney tunes. Bask on the white-sand beach, indulge in a luxurious massage and watch the fireworks light up the sky over Cinderella Castle. Just one stop to Magic Kingdom park on the complimentary Resort Monorail, this timeless Victorian-style marvel evokes Palm Beach's golden era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Grand Floridian Resort
Grand Floridian Resort
Grand Floridian Disney
Disneys Grand Floridian Hotel
Grand Floridian Orlando
Disney Grand Floridian Hotel
Grand Floridian Hotel Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing