We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The price is for the perks, not the room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa
Ranked #22 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The price is for the perks, not the room”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I stayed here with my husband the beginning of February, we had a standard room with the Garden view. The hotel definitely has its pros and cons.

Pros: Extra Magic hours were great, we'd hit the rides with the biggest waits then and be in and out! Proximity to Epcot and Magic Kingdom via the monorail was a plus, however the monorail was down twice during our stay, and we finished dinner at Epcot after the monorail closed so we still ended up on the bus. General service, the staff was always more than happy to answer questions, they even printed our boarding pass which saved us major time at the airport! The grounds of the hotel were gorgeous, very relaxing and it was always a treat to walk through the lobby when the live band was playing some familiar Disney tunes. Walking around the grounds with Cinderella's castle across the water only added to the experience

Cons: The rooms were nothing special. The walls were paper thin so if you're a light sleeper beware. The rooms were in desperate need of a refresh - everything looked worn and old. Gasperillas was convenient for breakfast but the food was...eh. It was fine for quick fare I suppose but I've stayed at hotels with included breakfast buffets with equal or better quality. The offering was too limited and still pricey. I expected better from the GF. If you have the time definitely go to the polynesian one morning - their breakfast was only slightly more but LOADS better. Also there was quite a bit of construction going on so the main pool was closed. Not that big of a deal but worth noting. Bus transportation was just ok...always crowded and it would stop at the other hotels. I would have expected dedicated busses from the individual hotels.

With all of that in mind, I'm not sure I would stay at the GF in the future, I'm just not sure the conveniences are worth the price. Being a Disney resort I was expecting top notch and I just don't think it was there for the price you're paying, and you still seem to pay for everything.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JenJ0710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,674
    909
    388
    170
    88
See reviews for
2,599
623
35
325
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (952)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

This is the second time we are staying at the Sugar Loaf building at the Grand Floridian and what a difference from last time! The pool was under construction, which messes up the whole atmosphere of luxury outside; the vacation club construction is super noisy as well. The lobby was always so crowded that you had to bump into people constantly to get to the food (last year this time, we had been one of two families usually getting food, this year there must have been 15 families at a time there). The room we stayed in was extremely tired with a disgusting stain on the couch.
The only bright spot for us was the new kiddie pool play area with Alice in Wonderland theme. The kids loved going down the slides while the hat was topping off and spilling water on them.
The monorail broke down several times during our 4 night stay, so in retrospect, we should have changed our reservations as soon as we received a letter that the main pool will not be finished on time for our visit as previously expected.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tennisfan93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessup, Maryland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed three nights at the Grand Floridian in late January. The lobby, surrounding spaces, and the rooms are beautiful. The courtyard pool was closed due to renovations but we rarely if ever use the pools while at Disney World so that was no big deal. Access to the Magic Kingdom and Epcot is outstanding and we used both the monorail and the boat system.

The Magical Express is convenient but may not be for everyone – we may not use it again. When we got on the bus at the airport, we heard people complaining that they had been waiting about 45 minutes for the bus to fill up before they departed. A perk of this system is that they will deliver your luggage to your room within 3 hours of check in. We checked in around 9:30 and didn’t get our luggage until well after midnight so that aspect is kind of a pain.

I am glad we stayed here and since it was a special occasion, it was a neat experience. It is hard to beat the location and elegance of the Grand Floridian but even with everything it has to offer, I am not sure it is worth the cost. I also make this statement because when we are at Disney World, we don’t spend much time at the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dsnyfan08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
166 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Our first stay on site was at the Grand Floridian and what an amazing hotel. The staff is so accommodating and at your disposal 24/7. We were there 5 nights and we will be coming back. A much deserved vacation for my special lady, this hotel is centrally located so that all parks are easy to travel to. The boat was our favorite way to get to the Magic Kingdom. Being located on the monorail makes it an easy choice to stay here to get to any of the parks. Each night there is a pianist located in the main hall and then there is a live jazz band that plays once he has completed his time tickling the ivory. It truly is a magical experience, one that we did not want to end.

Thank you Mickey and Friends!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

What a beautiful hotel!!! The rooms were clean and unexpectedly roomy, the lobby was magnificent, and as usual, the staff was very hospitable and helpful.
I would definitely stay here again.

The only downside was the construction currently going on, as they are renovating the original pool, and adding some luxury ownership villas, but these minor inconveniences didn't deter from our trip.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Boca Chica building, and if you have a lake view, you can see the nightly electric...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heff66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

My wifes dream hotel, we stayed two nights, everything was fantastic. we would come back, after renovations! wonderful setting, long trip back to hotel from some of the parks. very clean, and comfortable

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank kickbutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Even without club level this is a GREAT place to stay. When we first drove into the main gate they asked for our name and by the time we got to the front door a team member was waiting to take us up to our room, tell us about the amenities of the room, club level and the hotel in general. She then arranged to have a bell hop drive us out to self parking, move our luggage into the golf cart, drive us back to our room and deposit our luggage.

They are currently undergoing huge renovations but that was OK by us. The new children's outdoor splash pad was available and looked really fun though we were too exhausted from the park to partake. The 24 hour snack bar was great! The service impeccable throughout the resort! Short trip to the Magic Kingdom on the Monorail and short trip back via the water shuttle.

From the resort you can see the fireworks over the castle and the light boat parade without going far from your room. They also were doing movie night under the stars... just awesome!

The only downside for us was that my husband found the bed quite uncomfortable and bothered his back quite a bit. For me it was fine. I think the mattress was a bit saggy and likely needed to be replaced but this was our only complaint. This was our second trip to the Floridian (last was about 6 years ago) and we have enjoyed both our stays. January was a great time to visit with great deals on rooms and best time for the weather! Expensive, but you cannot beat it!

We did the character breakfast here which I will review under the restaurant section.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 337 in Orlando
1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#24 of 337 in Orlando
4,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa

Property: Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa
Address: 4401 Floridian Way, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8451
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#4 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#5 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#23 Family Hotel in Orlando
#27 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#32 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 867
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian elegance meets modern sophistication at this lavish bayside Resort hotel. Relax in the sumptuous lobby as the live orchestra plays ragtime, jazz and popular Disney tunes. Bask on the white-sand beach, indulge in a luxurious massage and watch the fireworks light up the sky over Cinderella Castle. Just one stop to Magic Kingdom park on the complimentary Resort Monorail, this timeless Victorian-style marvel evokes Palm Beach's golden era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Grand Floridian Resort
Grand Floridian Resort
Grand Floridian Disney
Disneys Grand Floridian Hotel
Grand Floridian Orlando
Disney Grand Floridian Hotel
Grand Floridian Hotel Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing