We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too crowded; too noisy; not too grand this time around.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa
Ranked #23 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2013

This is the second time we are staying at the Sugar Loaf building at the Grand Floridian and what a difference from last time! The pool was under construction, which messes up the whole atmosphere of luxury outside; the vacation club construction is super noisy as well. The lobby was always so crowded that you had to bump into people constantly to get to the food (last year this time, we had been one of two families usually getting food, this year there must have been 15 families at a time there). The room we stayed in was extremely tired with a disgusting stain on the couch.
The only bright spot for us was the new kiddie pool play area with Alice in Wonderland theme. The kids loved going down the slides while the hat was topping off and spilling water on them.
The monorail broke down several times during our 4 night stay, so in retrospect, we should have changed our reservations as soon as we received a letter that the main pool will not be finished on time for our visit as previously expected.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tennisfan93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,542)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,890 - 2,896 of 4,542 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed three nights at the Grand Floridian in late January. The lobby, surrounding spaces, and the rooms are beautiful. The courtyard pool was closed due to renovations but we rarely if ever use the pools while at Disney World so that was no big deal. Access to the Magic Kingdom and Epcot is outstanding and we used both the monorail and the boat system.

The Magical Express is convenient but may not be for everyone – we may not use it again. When we got on the bus at the airport, we heard people complaining that they had been waiting about 45 minutes for the bus to fill up before they departed. A perk of this system is that they will deliver your luggage to your room within 3 hours of check in. We checked in around 9:30 and didn’t get our luggage until well after midnight so that aspect is kind of a pain.

I am glad we stayed here and since it was a special occasion, it was a neat experience. It is hard to beat the location and elegance of the Grand Floridian but even with everything it has to offer, I am not sure it is worth the cost. I also make this statement because when we are at Disney World, we don’t spend much time at the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dsnyfan08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Our first stay on site was at the Grand Floridian and what an amazing hotel. The staff is so accommodating and at your disposal 24/7. We were there 5 nights and we will be coming back. A much deserved vacation for my special lady, this hotel is centrally located so that all parks are easy to travel to. The boat was our favorite way to get to the Magic Kingdom. Being located on the monorail makes it an easy choice to stay here to get to any of the parks. Each night there is a pianist located in the main hall and then there is a live jazz band that plays once he has completed his time tickling the ivory. It truly is a magical experience, one that we did not want to end.

Thank you Mickey and Friends!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

What a beautiful hotel!!! The rooms were clean and unexpectedly roomy, the lobby was magnificent, and as usual, the staff was very hospitable and helpful.
I would definitely stay here again.

The only downside was the construction currently going on, as they are renovating the original pool, and adding some luxury ownership villas, but these minor inconveniences didn't deter from our trip.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Boca Chica building, and if you have a lake view, you can see the nightly electric...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heff66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

My wifes dream hotel, we stayed two nights, everything was fantastic. we would come back, after renovations! wonderful setting, long trip back to hotel from some of the parks. very clean, and comfortable

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank kickbutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Even without club level this is a GREAT place to stay. When we first drove into the main gate they asked for our name and by the time we got to the front door a team member was waiting to take us up to our room, tell us about the amenities of the room, club level and the hotel in general. She then arranged to have a bell hop drive us out to self parking, move our luggage into the golf cart, drive us back to our room and deposit our luggage.

They are currently undergoing huge renovations but that was OK by us. The new children's outdoor splash pad was available and looked really fun though we were too exhausted from the park to partake. The 24 hour snack bar was great! The service impeccable throughout the resort! Short trip to the Magic Kingdom on the Monorail and short trip back via the water shuttle.

From the resort you can see the fireworks over the castle and the light boat parade without going far from your room. They also were doing movie night under the stars... just awesome!

The only downside for us was that my husband found the bed quite uncomfortable and bothered his back quite a bit. For me it was fine. I think the mattress was a bit saggy and likely needed to be replaced but this was our only complaint. This was our second trip to the Floridian (last was about 6 years ago) and we have enjoyed both our stays. January was a great time to visit with great deals on rooms and best time for the weather! Expensive, but you cannot beat it!

We did the character breakfast here which I will review under the restaurant section.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Living in Florida, we frequent Disney a lot, as we are Disney Annual Passholders. We have stayed at many Disney Resorts in the past. Some Deluxe (Contemporary, Animal Kingdom Lodge, Wilderness Lodge, Beach Club, & Polynesian), all of the Moderate, and a few of the Value resorts (All-Star Music, Pop Century). This was our first stay at the Grand Floridian, and it was such a disappointment. The grounds, the castmembers, the pool, and the proximity of the Magic Kingdom were excellent. The rooms are very outdated, and to be honest the value just isn't there. This was the first Disney resort that we have been to with the kids, that we actually felt out of place. It was just too stuffy, and honestly, we think that we saw more adults than kids. If you want an adult vacation, with no kids, this may be the resort. The fitness center was good, but absolutely not a five star facility that you would expect. Just my opinion, but I would save the money and stay at either a Moderate, or Value resort. We had our best vacations while staying at those resorts.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cde48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 340 in Orlando
1,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa

Address: 4401 Floridian Way, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8451
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#5 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#6 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#23 Family Hotel in Orlando
#27 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#32 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $542 - $1,187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 867
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian elegance meets modern sophistication at this lavish bayside Resort hotel. Relax in the sumptuous lobby as the live orchestra plays ragtime, jazz and popular Disney tunes. Bask on the white-sand beach, indulge in a luxurious massage and watch the fireworks light up the sky over Cinderella Castle. Just one stop to Magic Kingdom park on the complimentary Resort Monorail, this timeless Victorian-style marvel evokes Palm Beach's golden era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Grand Floridian Resort
Grand Floridian Resort
Grand Floridian Disney
Disneys Grand Floridian Hotel
Grand Floridian Orlando
Disney Grand Floridian Hotel
Grand Floridian Hotel Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing