We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Impeccable Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa
Ranked #23 of 334 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
midwest
Level Contributor
234 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Impeccable Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed here over Thanksgiving with family. It is by far the prettiest Disney Resort I have seen. It was decorated beautifully for Christmas. The large gingerbread house store was all I thought it would be and the ginger bread was very fresh and yummy. The room was much larger than moderate and value resorts. It was beautifully decorated but definitely showed wear and tear and could have used some attention. Closet was large but, would have liked more drawer space (the equivalent of 4 sock drawers for 4 guests). It would have been nice to have a curtain in the vanity area. The shower/toilet area is very small making it much easier to dress in the vanity area. No curtain made privacy difficult for four people. Housekeeping staff were fantastic. Toiletries were very nice. Much nicer than moderate or value resorts. Our room was always immaculate. Turn down service was a nice touch (mostly for the chocolates). The staff always gave me extras knowing our room liked it so much. Did not have a remote control in our room the first night but, housekeeping brought it quickly. Had a light go out in the bathroom which was fixed promptly but, dimmer in the bedroom never was fixed. Water is not filtered in the rooms so it tastes terrible and I had to drink bottled. However, all of the eating areas at this resort have filtered water. I have found Disney Resorts and parks are hit or miss when it comes to filtered water. We had good neighbors the first night. Unfortunately nights 2-5 we had bad neighbors who had their TV. turned high all night. It was so bad we all had to wear ear plugs to sleep. Never have I experienced that at a hotel anywhere. However, we never complained. We knew our family was coming in soon and did not want to try to get a room switch during Thanksgiving. Saw a lot of irate customers at this hotel yelling at staff members. It was very disappointing as the staff at this hotel really work hard to ensure a pleasant stay. The Location can't be beat. If we were too tired we just stepped out of our building to watch Wishes at the Magic Kingdom. It is the first monorail stop to magic kingdom and first boat stop from magic kingdom. Buses seemed to run well for parks with extra magic hours but, if you were going to another park it would take forever. Literally you would watch 4 buses go by for the same park before your bus came which was very frustrating. This should definitely be improved. That being said buses were never as crowded as the moderate and value resorts which was nice.

Grand Floridian has some wonderful restaurants
Narcoossee's - Wonderful, upscale dining in the gazebo while you look out at the Magic Kingdom. Food and staff were fabulous.
Citricos - A little more upscale than Narcoossee's. Food was very rich and seemed a bit more stuffy (we felt a bit under dressed compared to Narcoossee's) however, we were treated wonderfully and food and staff were fabulous.
1900 Park Fare - breakfast and lunch buffet with characters very upbeat, fun and great for kids.
Grand Floridian Cafe - had good food and service except one woman who worked as a host. She was not very friendly but, the rest of the hosts and staff were wonderful.
Pool - food was much better than anticipated. Gourmet sandwiches, salads and the like with very good staff except one gentleman working the pool seemed confused, overwhelmed and not as customer service oriented as staff throughout the hotel
Tea service - Delightful. Our server was starting his first day and had a manager shadowing him. He did a wonderful job. Had a wonderful time.
Mizner's Lounge - did not find this place until our last evening. Upon our return from Disney we received a letter giving us information about the construction, closures at Grand Floridian while we were on vacation. It would have been nice to receive the letter before we left for Disney. I lost out on 3 snacks not knowing about Mizner's lounge and we so could have used Mizner's when we did not want to go to the pool area for a snack.

Overall I will remember the overall beauty, decor and mostly the customer service from the majority of people who work here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank midwest4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,310
    830
    347
    154
    82
See reviews for
2,284
526
34
285
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (825)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

The Floridian is an excellent hotel. Disney pays attention to the details and it shows. Rooms are clean,mstaff is friendly, everything works properly. The property is spread over several buildings so bring an umbrella.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YS1_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
142 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

to begin with, the views are the best in all disneyworld.....the food in the hotel restaurants is to die for ( IT'S TRUE )..........the service is always to your liking......and you receive special offers when you stay here.......special transportation .....special concierge sevices.....and the rooms are the best in disney....and you can take a ferry to magic kingdom and beat all the crowds waiting for a bus at midnight.....have fun

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the magic kingdom and don't miss the water parade right outside your balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CICADA100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chesterfield, mo
Level Contributor
130 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I had to stay here for business- while they did advise on their website that construction was going on, it wasn't evident until you got there exactly how much was going on. Pools were closed and when the one was open, there was so much loud and heavy construction going on that you wouldn't want to use it. We ended up walking to another hotel in order to relax. There were a number of amenities in the hotel that were under renovation also. This hotel was also a bit stuffy and formal for my taste but again, I didn't choose it. Monorail access was good.

Room Tip: Rooms in buildings near the conference center are closer to amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saratogasue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Walton Beach, FL
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We travel to Disney every two years or so. From the first time we stayed at the Grand Floridian, many years ago, to our most recent visit during Thanksgiving week 2012, we have never been disappointed. Several years ago we decided to try Club Level in the Main Building and have reserved our room there ever since. Our room this trip was the theme park view and we watched the fireworks from our balcony every night. The first night we were in a room with adjoining doors and the guests in the next room had children who screamed frequently. We requested a room change and our room was changed the next morning to a quiet room down the hall, same view. The staff took care of moving our luggage and had our room keys reprogrammed remotely so when we returned from the park everything was in our new room and our keys worked on the new room. The room was spotless and the attendants at the club level lounge were friendly and always anxious to serve. Although the food and beverage offerings were plentiful, it would be nice to switch out the one hot breakfast choice of oatmeal with scrambled eggs, since there are plenty of cereal and grain (breads,bagels,croissants,Danish) products. The Club Level allows the Club Level guests to enjoy the afternoon and nightly music from the lobby on a separate floor, away from the crowd, but enjoying the beautiful lobby view. Although there is construction nearby, we did not hear any construction noise. All staff were outstanding, from the Club Level Hosts who met us when we disembarked from our vehicle, to the valet parking attendants, bell hops, concierge and housekeepers. Although this property is very expensive, in our opinion, the quality of service and the convenience of location makes it all worthwhile.

Room Tip: Ask for Theme Park view if you want to see the Castle and fireworks from your room. If you request...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoisandAllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Got here after a cruise, and we arrived early. I thought we were going to have to wait a while (Which was fine) but the staff were extremely nice and got us a room right away. The property is composed of one main building and many minor buildings with the rooms. The rooms were very cozy, and made it feel like you were living during the Victorian period! There is a monorail stop right in front of the hotel that will get you to the Magic Kingdom in one stop or Epcot with a transfer. Also, reliable bus service can take you to Downtown Disney, Hollywood Studios, and Animal Kingdom. While this place is luxurious, you can be absolutely comfortable in this hotel because hey, it's Disney. Great hotel and I would definitely take this any day over the nearby Polynesian.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vwporsche1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
103 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is a hotel that can only be described as Grand Old Style. It is just an amazing place. As a guest at Disney World you can visit any hotel whether you are staying there or not. Take a ride on the monorail and get off at The Grand Floridian. Take it all in and get as many pictures as you can. There are quite a few shops to visit and the grounds are beautiful. It is close to the Magic Kingdom and the monorail will take you from the hotel to the park whenever you are ready to go. During the Christmas Holidays they build a "real" gingerbread house in the lobby and there is a sign that tells how much of each ingredient is used. This gingerbread house is life sized and big enough for people to actually stand up in. The sell replicas you can take home and eat. The Christmas Tree they display in the lobby is another sight to see. It's enormous and beautiful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 334 in Orlando
5.0 of 5 stars 1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa

Property: Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa
Address: 4401 Floridian Way, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8451
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#5 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#6 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#23 Family Hotel in Orlando
#27 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#32 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 867
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian elegance meets modern sophistication at this lavish bayside Resort hotel. Relax in the sumptuous lobby as the live orchestra plays ragtime, jazz and popular Disney tunes. Bask on the white-sand beach, indulge in a luxurious massage and watch the fireworks light up the sky over Cinderella Castle. Just one stop to Magic Kingdom park on the complimentary Resort Monorail, this timeless Victorian-style marvel evokes Palm Beach's golden era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon and Jetsetter so you can book your Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Grand Floridian Resort
Grand Floridian Resort
Grand Floridian Disney
Disneys Grand Floridian Hotel
Grand Floridian Orlando
Disney Grand Floridian Hotel
Grand Floridian Hotel Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing