We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eh...not worth the money.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa
Ranked #23 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

This is supposed to be the best and fanciest Disney resort - it's where everyone wants to get married on property. We stayed in the summer and my biggest complaint is that they still have never completed the walking path to MK. Yes you can use the monorail, but during fireworks rush and morning rush it would be a lot faster to just walk over! Contemporary has a walking path - why can't they just build a bridge over the 5 feet of canal?? At the end of the day the rooms are just regular hotel rooms and nothing to write home about. The service isn't even the best Disney offers, I've had better service at a Value resort

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grangerdanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,399)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,853 - 2,859 of 4,399 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2012

We have just returned from a 2 week stay at the Grand Floridian, we got married at the wedding pavillion and had our honeymoon at the GF. Our room was in the Sago Cay building, ground floor.

Positives:
- Gorgeous lobby and buildings, always immaculately cleaned and smelling fresh
- Great character breakfast at 1900 Park Fare
- Easy access to Magic Kingdom and Epcot on the monorail (although also note negatives)
- Room was cleaned well everyday and the nightly turndown service was a lovely touch
- Boats available to rent from right outside the room. We hired the Grand 1 and also one of the smaller boats you can take out yourself
- Loved the little towel animals the cleaner left us!
- Lots of the staff took a moment to say good morning or congratulations
- We liked the fact anything you buy in the park can be sent to the hotel which saves carrying it around all day

Negatives:
- Monorail. Probably 7 out of the 10 times we used the monorail it was delayed due to traffic or broke altogether, we are glad we had a car to use aswel
- We found the resort concierge a little difficult / sometimes rude. Although we are not sure if that was we are from the UK and they had trouble understanding us at times!!
- The main pool is closed for a refurb and the smaller pool was quite a walk from our room
- Dining options. Although i commented the character breakfast is very good it has to be booked in advance. There are 2 quick service options but we didnt find them that great. GF Cafe was lovely but i believe that also has to be booked in advance
- Guest parking. The car park is a good walk from the hotel which can be tiresome after a long day at the park
- The bathroom in our room could do with a little updating. Although the double sinks were a lovely touch and seemed much newer
- The price! We paid ALOT of money to stay here for 2 weeks but as it was our wedding / honeymoon we felt it was justified as a once off

Overall we really enjoyed our stay at the Grand Floridian and if the price was to come down at anytime we would definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fonz86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Just returned from a multi-night stay - was attending a conference for 3 of the nights. Very disappointing. We were in building 9 - I would imagine most of the buildings are the same. The room was nice, great beds, plenty of room, the tub and bathroom needs refurbishing - would not have taken a bath in the tub - the finish is wearing off, and the double sinks seem ready to break.

We had a small balcony that looked as if it had not been wiped down in some time - cobwebs, grime, etc...

We knew that the complex was undergoing some renovation, but had no idea how much. Not only was the pool in the middle of the complex closed, but there was no access to the beach whatsoever, which was not mentioned in the conference literature or on the website. For most of our stay, there were jackhammers in the main lobby doing who knows what behind partitions - we could not use the main lobby for meeting other attendees, or to relax. Finally, the only pool open on the property is closed off from the beach and there is a large hotel under construction very close by and the crane was a constant presence.

When we checked in very late on Monday night, the vending machine in our building was completely empty of all drinks, except for some diet Cokes which were so far back that they could not be vended. When I called the front desk to notify them, the woman on the phone told me she would give me the number of the outside company that services the vending machines so I could complain to them. Really? Very unlike the Disney "magic" that one reads about online.

I would have been livid had I paid full price to stay in this hotel. We, thankfully, had a reduced conference rate. I understand that every property has to be refurbished and updated from time to time - but this was too much, all at once and really detracted from our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank erinmdil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

My family stayed here for a 10 day vacation during the summer. We can't say enough about how wonderful our experience was here. We have satyed here in the past and I can't imagine staying anywheres else. The staff and front desk were so helpful and accomodating and the housekeeping was amazing. Our room was beautiful and peaceful...truly magical. We can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deen444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

You pay through the nose for everything. $60 for bottle of cheapest white wine after tax, service charge, and built-in gratuity, 65 if you tip the person who delivers, like I did. Pay for breakfast, coffee, EVERYTHING! But Disney characters at breakfast just may make up for it! Ask for quieter room if they put you by noisy elevator like they did us.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We just returned from a stay at the Grand Floridian. I was hoping for so much more that I got. The rooms really need to be updated, along with the bathrooms. We booked our vacation along with our airline tickets about 4 months ago. I was unaware of all the construction going on. They never mentioned it to me in any of our conversations. I happened to see a note on their website and called to see what it entailed. I was told it was basically one of the pools and the cafe for quick dining, which we had signed up for. He said there would be 2 options for us so not to worry. Upon arrival we went to check out our options. The first was on the second floor of the main building. It was a very small room with pre-made food in refrigerators. It didn't look very appetizing so we decided on the other option, the pool bar. Every morning we had to dry off the tables & chairs before sitting. There was a small window to place orders, which they never got straight. It took 5 people to complete one order. You can imagine the lines!! This was at 7:30 am. The food was not to appetizing and there were no "mickey pancakes or mickey waffles" as advertised on their menu. It took speaking with the manager finally on the last day to get an order delivered to the pool bar. The quick dining as advertised on their site claims it is very easy to use. Not true. At one point I looked at my reciept and it had nothing on it that I ordered. I asked the clerk and was told "we don't have all the buttons on the computer so I tell the cook what to prepare"!! Also, during our stay the whole computer system went down and stayed down for 2 days. We could not get our bill upon checkout. It had to be e-mailed when the system came up. On our last day at the resort we decided to relax and swim. Again, not possible. All the pools were closed, 1 for construction, 1 for chemical levels & 1 for emergency cleaning. I was told I was welcome to go over to the Contemporary Hotel and use their pool!!!
Disney is full of junk restaurants. Hamburgs, hotdogs, chicken fingers etc. unless you want to make a reservation for a sit-down meal. For that you need a reservation 6 months in advance. The character breakfasts are another joke. They are very limited, very expensive and very unavailable unless reservations are made 6 months in advance. All in all the parks were enjoyable but at the prices ad the Grand Floridian charges for their rooms it was a definite ripoff.
I thought they were nuts when they said you need to allow 90 minutes travel time for dinner reservations. But when we were at Animal Kingdom it took us an hour on their bus go get back to our hotel. The same with Hollywood Studios. The area is huge and things are very spread out. Young children need a stroller as with all the walking, to and from the monorail, from one end of the park to the other is very exhausting. Our child is 5 years old and he appreciated the stroller.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank maggiegirl42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Terrific hotel! Fun for adults and kids! There is a great water area for children and older kids. The adults have the ability to relax and watch the little ones in the "little kids" water park area. The hotel was clean and the staff was very accomodating. We had stayed at the Polynesian 2x before and this is much nicer, even though they are rated the same by Disney Resorts. Would stay here again...

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rebb_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 340 in Orlando
1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa

Address: 4401 Floridian Way, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8451
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#3 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#4 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#23 Family Hotel in Orlando
#27 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#32 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $550 - $1,098 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 867
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian elegance meets modern sophistication at this lavish bayside Resort hotel. Relax in the sumptuous lobby as the live orchestra plays ragtime, jazz and popular Disney tunes. Bask on the white-sand beach, indulge in a luxurious massage and watch the fireworks light up the sky over Cinderella Castle. Just one stop to Magic Kingdom park on the complimentary Resort Monorail, this timeless Victorian-style marvel evokes Palm Beach's golden era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Grand Floridian Resort
Grand Floridian Resort
Grand Floridian Disney
Disneys Grand Floridian Hotel
Grand Floridian Orlando
Disney Grand Floridian Hotel
Grand Floridian Hotel Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing