We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfort and elegance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa
Ranked #21 of 341 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2012

The hotel is elegant both inside and out. Everyone goes out of their way to be friendly and helpful. Of course this is true throughout all of Disney. I stayed in the Garden View building and would stay there again. The inside of the main building is beautiful and has all the shops and restaurants. The other buildings are quieter and almost as pretty plus nearer the pool and beach.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VacationUnitedStates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,512)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,982 - 2,988 of 4,512 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the GF for 2 week commencing 27th August 2012 for our honeymoon. We decided to stay at the GF despite it being very expensive we wanted it to be special as we had waited and saved for over 2 years to get married and go on honeymoon. We were not disappointed. We booked a standard garden view room and upon arrival we were told we had been upgraded to a Magic Kingdom view room as it was our honeymoon. We were overwhelmed by this as the room they upgraded us to was the exact room we wanted, sago cay, room 5445. We were greeted by the friendly staff from the magical express when we arrived and were asked if we needed help with luggage. We walked into the grand lobby and the orchestra were playing Pachelbel's canon which I had walked down the aisle to only 2 days before, this was all so much to take in. Our room was large and clean and as soon as you enter the room you can see Cinderella's castle. My husband and I could not believe the upgrade which reduced me to tears! A lady called Renee checked us in & offered the upgrade, she was so kind and polite, could not have done enough for us. Her service could not have been any better. On the second day I dropped our new camera on the floor by the pool and found that it would not switch back on. As we had a reservation at Cinderella's royal table that night we really needed a camera, however we did have our i-phones as a back up. My husband went to concierge who were more than helpful and offered for one of their driver's to go to the nearest walmart and pick the same camera up at no extra cost and have this put in our room within 1 hour so that we had a camera in time for our reservation. In the end, my husband got the camera working so we informed concierge who advised that if we had any more problems with the camera to let them know and they will still arrange for a new one to be picked up and just charged to our room. All the staff, including housekeeping, always talked to us in the corridors, always smiled. We felt very welcome by everyone at the hotel and felt very special the whole 2 weeks we stayed there. We ate at 1900 Park Fare, Narcoossee's and the Grand Floridian cafe during our stay. All the restaurants were exceptional and in our opinion, faultless, especially Narcoossee's where we had the best restaurant meal we had ever had, the service was amazing too. There is a lot of maintenance being carried out at the hotel, however, we weren't really affected by it as the pool closed on our last day. This work has to be carried out at some point of the year and so the hotel cannot please everyone. All in all, we had the most memorable honeymoon and the hotel exceeded our expectations. It was worth every penny we spent and the long wait we had. We only hope that one day we can afford another 2 week stay here!!! :) Thank you so much to all the staff at the Grand Floridian, our stay could not have been better!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank NJBatley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I stayed at Disney’s Grand Floridian hotel for business in late June 2012 for six nights. While it is not my favorite Disney property at Walt Disney World, it is Disney’s most elegant option at the Resort.

OVERALL
If you’ve got the dough, or you’re spending someone else’s liberally, staying at Disney’s Grand Floridian hotel is a pleasant, excellent experience. This is as close as you’ll get to Four Seasons quality service and ambience in Central Florida, at least until the new Four Seasons opens, and definitely worth the investment for hoteliers.

WHAT I LIKED:

LOCATION: If you’re a Magic Kingdom fan, this is a pretty great location—one monorail stop away from the entrance. It’s also on the Seven Seas Lagoon and has a beautiful view to the Magic Kingdom and Contemporary Resort. Also, being set on the water just seems nicer for some reason.

--Tip: Magic Kingdom fireworks can be viewed, with the music, at the water sprite (boat) area in front of Gaspirilla’s.

RELAXING FEEL: Despite it’s Victorian-inspired design, the Grand Floridian has a relaxed feel with a huge airy lobby, and breezy walkways between the buildings that house the rooms of the hotel. I think this is also aided by the slightly smaller proportion of kids vis-à-vis other WDW resorts. Don’t get me wrong, there will be kids running all over the place, but as a percentage of the total population it will be somewhat smaller than in other resorts.

--Tip: if possible ask for a dormer room (generally 5th floor at a corner). The ceilings are vaulted and they have ceiling fans that are great to keep air moving in the room when you’re in or out.

--Note: the bathroom amenities at the Grand Floridian are different from other places on property (they’re the spa amenities). Still H2O brand, but you can actually squeeze the bottles and the product inside is nicer. Great shampoo!

SHOPPING: The shopping here is more refined than almost anywhere else at WDW—Park or Hotel. My favorite shop (the men’s shop) is on the second floor where you will find Tommy Bahama, Kahala, Polo, Quicksilver and other non-Disney, higher-end brands. There is a companion store on the first floor for women. There is also a Basin White (which would make my allergies explode, so I’ve never been in) and a store with more child-oriented merchandise.

WHAT COULD HAVE BEEN BETTER:

SELF-PARKING: Can’t do much about this based on the property, but it sucked. The self-parking is across the street from the hotel. That means a 10-15 minute walk from your car to your hotel in Florida humidity (which in late June means bring your squeegee because you’re going to sweat).

--Tip: Valet is $12/night and includes in-and-out privileges. The Valet service is also great. I would totally do this if I stay there again.

ROOM INTERIORS: The Victorian-style is not my favorite, but that notwithstanding, the room interiors could be refreshed. The TV has been updated to a flat screen, which is nice, but everything else could use a bit of a refresh too.

SHEETS: This is a note about EVERY WDW property! The sheets are so crisp you could practically spread some pate on them and serve them as canapé. Now, every linen at WDW goes to a central plan for processing, I think they just need to either amp up the fabric softener or tone down the starch.

FINAL RECOMMENDATIONS
Valet park for sure. Avoid the boat launches to the Magic Kingdom at night, lest you get stuck behind a traveling water show that is like a very early version of the Electrical Parade. The Monorail can get you to the Magic Kingdom, Epcot, and other hotels on the loop.

Always make dining reservations—at hotels and in Parks, in advance! As early as possible!

Room Tip: Dormer rooms (5th Floor corners) have higher ceilings. If you're concerned about firework noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank oxman78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

My family and I vacationed to Disney World in March and all I can say about the Grand Floridian is WOW! The grounds are stunning, and well maintained and the rooms were large and clean. The attention to detail here is impeccable and really put that Disney touch on our stay. The convenience of staying here was also a huge plus with the monorail running right though the hotel. Be sure to keep your eyes peeled for hidden mickey's/minnies etc. in the carpet and wallpaper.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meghenmill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We spent 4 nights here, attending a Disney wedding and touring the theme parks as a couple. It is a lovely hotel. Cast members were without exception friendly and welcoming, attending to our needs. The room was spacious and comfortable, though the balcony was TINY. However, they are undergoing a major renovation. The first day, the pool was open. Then it wasn't....nor was the pool bar. An ugly wooden fence that required a major detour from room to main building. A replacement pool, also with ugly wooden fence. No drinks at the pool after 4:30pm. Very spotty snack availability. No ping pong table. No spa. The bar area in the main lobby building is also closed, so the only place to get a drink in the evening is the elegant restaurants, or the snack bar (which is due to close on Friday the 14th). We didn't think the renovation plans were well thought out, nor were they well communicated to guests. The snack bar is filled with video game machines, very noisy and annoying. Eggs were cold by the time we made our toast (yes, you have to make it yourself). The cafe was much nicer for breakfast. We ate at both Citricos and Narcoosees for dinner, both nice.

Room Tip: Ask to be near the main building. The walk around the closed pool is long to building 8, as is the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Virginia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

This was my 17th visit to WDW (been visiting since I was a small child and now have young children). We have stayed at nearly every WDW resort and the Grand Floridian is definitely one of the best. It is a beautiful facility with large rooms and great restaurants. We spent 3 nights at the Grand Floridian prior to departing on a Disney cruise. The property is presently undergoing some significant construction and renovations. The next Disney Vacation Club property is being built on the property and beginning mid September the main pool will be shut down for renovations. The hotel does need some updating to bring it up today's standards for a luxury resort. The pool area and especially the poolside bar/food service or lack thereof is an issue. The service is very spotty. We had a wonderful reception and greeting upon our arrival by the front desk, the concierges are all very helpful. We did encounter attitude with a bartender at the pool bar. Our four year old would have been run over by a bellhop driving a luggage cart if not for me grabbing them and pushing them out of the way. The other issue, which is not unique to the Grand Floridian, but is the Disney central reservation system. There is no way to contact the front desk or concierge desk directly. I had to spend 25 minutes on the phone transferred to numerous parties to try and change a dinner reservation and finally had to walk from our room to the concierge desk to get help. Disney will never be able to compete with the Four Season's of the world with this type of service. We are big fans of Disney and are actually DVC owners so I highly recommend this hotel. You just should be prepared to know that this resort is not up to the standards you receive at many other five star resorts. It has all the possibilities with some updating to the facilities (pool cabanas, better pools, etc.) and some significant training to improve service levels. The service we received on the Disney Dream really stood out after staying at the Grand Floridian.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the pool courtyard during construction and a room overlooking the lagoon or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LudwigNewportBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed one night here at Sugarloaf Key conceirge level. It was wonderful. The room was comfortable and clean, the service was impeccable, and the atmosphere was amazing! We did not even need to go to dinners or breakfast due to the wonderful food and drinks provided through the conceirge. We were able to spend some time relaxing by the beautiful pool, watched Wishes from the porch at Narcoosees and took in the wonderful music of the Grand Floridian Society Orchestra and the piano players in the main building. What a great way to start our trip, we LOVED the Grand Floridian!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheriff3477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 341 in Orlando
1,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa

Address: 4401 Floridian Way, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8451
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#3 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#4 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#23 Family Hotel in Orlando
#27 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#32 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $525 - $1,139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 867
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian elegance meets modern sophistication at this lavish bayside Resort hotel. Relax in the sumptuous lobby as the live orchestra plays ragtime, jazz and popular Disney tunes. Bask on the white-sand beach, indulge in a luxurious massage and watch the fireworks light up the sky over Cinderella Castle. Just one stop to Magic Kingdom park on the complimentary Resort Monorail, this timeless Victorian-style marvel evokes Palm Beach's golden era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prestigia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Grand Floridian Resort
Grand Floridian Resort
Grand Floridian Disney
Disneys Grand Floridian Hotel
Grand Floridian Orlando
Disney Grand Floridian Hotel
Grand Floridian Hotel Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing