We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and quiet, but not "deluxe"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Disney's Yacht Club Resort
Ranked #59 of 336 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
205 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
“Nice and quiet, but not "deluxe"”
Reviewed November 7, 2005

We spent three nights at the Yacht Club resort and were surprised at how quiet it was for a Disney resort. We never heard our neighbors or anyone in the hallways and were pleased to see that the hotel was not overcrowded. The hotel is nice, but not what I would classify as "deluxe." I have not stayed at any other Disney resorts to offer a comparison, but would compare this hotel to a Renaissance or other Marriott property. The rooms were of a nice size with plenty of storage space. The double vanity was also a nice touch, but the actual bathroom was very small and cramped with the toilet and small tub/shower. The shower curtain was hanging on broken rings and had an awful smell. The floors of the room and bathroom were dirty and there were several smudges on the walls of the room. I think this is probably one of the better hotels on Disney property for adults, but don't expect luxury.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank MrTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,210
    674
    232
    80
    46
See reviews for
1,179
380
24
348
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (558)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vero Beach, FL
Level Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2005

I've stayed at the Yacht and Beach Club with family six times over the past five years. Initial stays were incredible. However, our stay in August '05 was a big disapointment. Expensive, as expected, but the place is not as well maintained as it once was. Our room over looked the pool with a private balcony, but the decor is really starting to show its age. Shabby carpet, faded spreads, and lumpy bed. Unusual for a Disney property. The pool and water slide are fabulous, but the bathrooms near the pool were dirty by noon and were't refreshed until the next day. Yuck by 5 p.m.! The restaurants on sight were a disaster. The Yachtsmans Steakhouse was EXORBITANTLY over priced $$$! Everything $30. +. Crazy with kids. The Yacht Club Galley, a mid price restaurant ($15. - $20.), was just AWFUL! We tried everything on the limited menu and none of it was edible. It all tasted like frozen food. The pool restaurant, Hurricane Hanna's, is just blah sandwiches, but expensive too. The resort is a long way, (mostly waiting for the bus) to the Magic Kingdom and MGM. Overall, other Disney resorts are a better choice until price here is lower and the furnishings are updated.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank nys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazlet, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2005

Have been to several moderate and deluxe Disney resorts but first time at Yacht and Beach. Can't understand going to WDW and not staying at a Disney resort. The Yacht club is a perfect example as to why. Visually stunning resort across the lake and walking distance to the beautiful Boardwalk resort. Also walking distance to Epcot and MGM (also boat service here as walk is a bit long). Across a footpath from the Swan/Dolphin resort complex. Yacht and beach share a "pool" that is actually a mini water park called Stormalong Bay. Also the reort has "quiet pools" and jacuzzis if you need to get away from the din of the big pool. Access to many restaurants both at Yacht & Beach and Boardwalk including ESPN Zone, a Steakouse and seafood buffett. However no food court per se, very handy for small families and usually a Disney staple. Fabolous ice cream parlor and burger joint that is a must visit (Beaches & Cream), but be prepared to wait a bit as it it is very popular (remember no food court!). Rooms are nice but a bit small for a hotel of this class. However all have balconies that add to the space and charm.

Stayed August 2005
Helpful?
17 Thank falsesmall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2005

I stayed at the Yacht Club for two nights when my company bought out most of the resort as part of a 20th anniversary celebration. It is one of the nicer Disney resorts I've stayed in, and lives up to the expectations of a Disney deluxe resort. My room was nicely decorated and extremely clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and was well prepared to deal with over 1000 people arriving and checking in at the same time. The resort's proximity to Epcot is a real convenience, and the boat ride to the studios might not be any faster than the busses (which were very efficient), but was a nice change.

The only negative would probably be the price. If I had been the one paying for the stay, I probably would not have felt the hotel worth it - not that it wasn't a great place, but the moderate Disney resorts are almost as extravagant, for a lot less money.

  • Stayed May 2004, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Stow_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2005

I have been to the Disney resort about 15 times and I must say that this is my favorite spot (& the adjacent Beach Club Resort). It is in a perfect location - walking distance to Epcot, the Boardwalk, and a short boat ride to MGM Studios. The pool is wonderful, Beaches & Cream is the best ice cream shoppe, & Cape May breakfast buffet leaves out nothing!
I would (and will) stay here over and over again!

  • Stayed July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank PAP179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2005

My family of 5 just returned from an 8 day stay at the Yacht Club and loved it!!!! I am a Disney Expert and work for one of the top travel agencies in the US. I have sent many clients here and was so happy to have such a great experience at this property.
We stayed in a standard view with a view of the tennis courts. Our room was immaculate and anytime we needed something, we had it immediately. This property is expensive but it is worth it. I highly recommend the new Disney Meal plan. We were not able to get it and I was disappointed-due to the fact that my trip was on travel agent rates.
The pool is awesome!!! My three little ones loved it and we spent a lot of time there. Hurrican Hanna's had good food and the servers were friendly. Buy the re-fillable mug for $11.99 and use it during your stay. Beaches and Cream was always crowded but delicious. Split your Sundae's among your group.
The concierge's helped us through a few different problems that we encountered. They were very professional and polite. Bus and launch service to the various properties was fairly fast and easy.
As you can tell, we were very happy with our stay and I will continue to recommend this property to clients. Please contact me if you have any questions. Have fun! Amy AmyNDC@comcast.net

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank madisonreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 2, 2005

Stayed in a water view room and had a small private balcony that overlooked the bay area and the Epcot fireworks! Room was fair sized for 5 of us, and cleanliness was no problem.
I did find the walk to our room annoying as we were in a wing that required a loooong windy journey down the hallways, and the lighting seemed too dim.
The pool area is shared with the Beach Club (and yes there is a beach) it is the best pool area on property! 3 Acres of lazy rivers, pools(heated) whirlpools, jaccuzis, a huge water slide all very well themed-very nice. (a bit of a walk from the Yacht club if you swim stay at the Beach Club which is attatched to Yacht club and has the pool area directly behind it)
This is an adult oriented resort-LOTS of business people walking around with cell phones- which is kind of annoying when you're on vacation! (there's a huge convention center there)
Housekeeping made little bunnies and puppies out of the towels with little eyes and everything-a nice touch for the kids!
Directly behind our room was dock for water taxi that takes you to Epcot and/or MGM studios-very convienient and a lovely ride too!

Helpful?
18 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
0.3 mi away
Disney's BoardWalk Inn
Disney's BoardWalk Inn
#62 of 336 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
0.2 mi away
Disney's Beach Club Villas
Disney's Beach Club Villas
#95 of 336 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
2.7 mi away
Boulder Ridge Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Disney's Beach Club Resort
0.4 mi away
Disney's BoardWalk Villas
2.8 mi away
Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Yacht Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Yacht Club Resort

Property: Disney's Yacht Club Resort
Address: 1700 Epcot Resorts Boulevard, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8407
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#22 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#48 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#52 Business Hotel in Orlando
#65 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Yacht Club Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 621
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delight in the formal grace of a grand New England-style yacht club at this lakeside hotel. Relax in the inviting elegance of a plush lobby replete with nautical touches, explore the whimsical Stormalong Bay and rent a variety of watercraft from Bayside Marina. Sharing many amenities with its pastel-toned sister, Disney's Beach Club Resort, Disney's Yacht Club Resort is walking distance to Epcot and a convenient boat ride to Disney's Hollywood Studios. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Disney's Yacht Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Yacht Club Hotel Orlando
Disneys Yacht Hotel
Disneys Yacht Resort
Yacht Club Disney
Disney Yacht And Beach Club
Yacht Club Orlando
Disney Yacht Club Resort
Disneys Yacht Club Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing