We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Disney's Yacht Club Resort
Ranked #52 of 338 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Augustine, Florida, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Our family are anual passholders and visit Disneyworld often. We've stayed at the majority of the Disney resorts; and we stayed at the Yacht Club our last visit. We initially wanted to stay at the Polynesian; but they were sold out. We've never stayed there before, but decided to give it a shot.

My overall experience was less than steller. First off, you MUST use the valet service (12$ a day). The parking lot is located behind the conference center and about a 15-minute walk. The ambiance of the resort was nice though. The overall feel was very upscale and the decorations were fantastic! The resort grounds were well maintained and beautiful, however the layout was... curious to say the least. The pool was basically spread out through the entire grounds. Which was kind of cool, but confusing at the same time. For example, to ride the slide; you had to walk to the far end of the resort.. near the beach... and then it dumped you in almost a small side pool. Very odd. Probably the best feature of the resort is the actual 'pool'. I use the term loosely, because it's more of a glorified lazy river. I absolutely LOVED how there was sand at the bottom of the pools. My kids also loved the whirlpool area. Overall, I would give the pool area an 8 out of 10... It lost points just because it was confusing and so spread out.

The biggest disappointment in the rooms were actually the location of them. They should have named the hotel 'labyrinth', because it was a huge maze trying to even find our rooms. Multiple directions, corridors and hallways were scattered throughout the resort. It doesn't seem like a big deal, but when you are getting from point A to point B; it's very frustrating.

The room itself was fair. The decor was not up to par with other Disney resorts. The rooms weren't much larger than other resorts, and I still felt a bit squeezed. The vanity area was nice though, and we loved having a deck. I'm sure we just had bad luck, but we were on the third flood and outside of our room was the roof of the 2nd floor with a horrible view. All we saw were AC units and the tops of trees in the horizon. We were teased with just the tips of the fireworks at night.. :D

Overall, I was highly unimpressed with this resort; especially for the price. At this price range I would have MUCH preferred to stay at the Polynesian. If I had to give advice to newbies to Disneyworld I would recommend on of two options... Spend the cash and stay at the Polynesian or save some money and stay at Port Orleans Riverside (which we love).

Best of luck!

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room that does NOT overlook AC units!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,239
    686
    233
    80
    46
See reviews for
1,209
383
25
352
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (568)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

WE arrived on September 18th on 5th floor... Betty and Steve made our stay over the top... our room 5147 was perfect... We have stayed all over Disney World, this was our first but not last stay at this hotel... Comfortable bed, clean well appointed room, great view. Could not ask for more.. WE had great snacks in the Lounge and great meals in their famous Steakhouse... do your self a favor and check this place out

Room Tip: we were very near elevators and Lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New jersey
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

The yacht Club is second to none on Disney property. The location, cleanliness, access to restaurants and the staff are beyond compare. Stayed 3 times, always perfect. Concierge floor amazing. Restaurants and Epcot within walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ScottgNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

From the moment we got off Disney's Magical Express the customer service was amazing! The room was very comfortable and the amenities was extremely nice. The best part of it was the Crew's Cup Lounge which had fantastic service.

If you are going for a work meeting, the meeting space was equally comfortable, including the food. There was a great presentation on "The business behind the magic."

Room Tip: Ask to be close to the lobby - the resort is HUGE!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingoutofNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Spent 3 nights recently for a conference. The room accommodations were exceptional, clean staff very attentive. The conference rooms were comfortable, food And drinks perfect! Have attended numerous conferences this place I can without hesitation is the best hands down!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobkat53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holyoke, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

We loved it here. The resort was clean and the staff were Disney friendly. The pool is just great we took a day and just hung out there. We stayed for 7 nights and loved the location. A short 5 min walk to Epcot and that was great because we always get the dining plan and we had a chance to try many of the Epcot resturants. The boat to Disney studios was also nice. Then you have the boardwalk right across the lake. A gray place for a walk at night or a drink and dancing. I would spend the extra money again and stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steelpearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Going to Disney World ~ staying on property is they best way to enjoy this adventure. No car, no worries, no parking fees. Disney World management & training is wondrous to behold ~ they will pick you up at the airport, deliver your bags to your room, give you 1 magic key that open your room door, is your pass to the park, credit card for charging, tracks your meals ~ starts your vacation in a grand style and keeps it going though out your visit. Every where you look is spotless, how they do it is a wonder but the magic of Disney is apparent everywhere ~ We went to Disney World for the Epcot food & wine show ~ well worth the trip and I think doing the meal plan is the best cost affective way to go. Only need to figure out how to do the meal plan with a Premier Pass to Disneyland & Disney world ~ since we are going back for the flower show in the spring of 2013.

Room Tip: Book in advance, ask for a view, close to elevator would be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HBCarroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Disney's BoardWalk Inn
#62 of 338 in Orlando
1,684 reviews
Disney's Beach Club Villas
#99 of 338 in Orlando
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Buena Vista
Walt Disney World Swan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Yacht Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Yacht Club Resort

Property: Disney's Yacht Club Resort
Address: 1700 Epcot Resorts Boulevard, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8407
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#19 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#48 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#52 Business Hotel in Orlando
#65 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Yacht Club Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 621
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delight in the formal grace of a grand New England-style yacht club at this lakeside hotel. Relax in the inviting elegance of a plush lobby replete with nautical touches, explore the whimsical Stormalong Bay and rent a variety of watercraft from Bayside Marina. Sharing many amenities with its pastel-toned sister, Disney's Beach Club Resort, Disney's Yacht Club Resort is walking distance to Epcot and a convenient boat ride to Disney's Hollywood Studios. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Disney's Yacht Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Yacht Club Hotel Orlando
Disneys Yacht Hotel
Disneys Yacht Resort
Yacht Club Disney
Disney Yacht And Beach Club
Yacht Club Orlando
Disney Yacht Club Resort
Disneys Yacht Club Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing