We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"NON DISNEY" VACAY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Disney's Yacht Club Resort
Ranked #58 of 341 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2012

3 adults stayed at the Yacht Club on the Concierge Level for a non disney vacation. We wanted to get a away for a few days to use the pool and get some sun. We did not visit any of the parks.

POOLS:All we heard about was how the Yacht club had the best pool in Disney, it was the biggest and the best. It may have been the biggest but I dont think the best. The pool area is split up into different sections that DO NOT connect so you have to get out of one pool to get into another pool. The sand bottom was kinda cool but wouldnt be a deciding factor to go again. Most of the pools are only a few feet deep so you cant really even float around in them which is kind of stinky.

Concierge Level: was nice, the moment we pulled up we were greeted and escorted to the elevators for a personal check in on our floor. The perks to this level would be that they offer a light breakfast in the mornings: cereal, hard boiled eggs and breakfast breads, juices. mid after noon snacks of chips and pretzels, sodas. Mid evening they offer hot appetizers such as little spring rolls and dumplings along with chips and at night they have small bit seized varied deserts and wine and desert liquor offerings.

Restaurants at the Hotel: Cape May Cafe $$, we had dinner there and I DO NOT RECOMMEND IT. the food was not good and service was questionable. not even sure why it was so expensive because it really was bad. Yachtsman Steakhouse $$$ but we expected: service was great and the food was good but not exceptional for being rated so highly for a steak house. Captains' Grille was pretty standard with service and quality of food, slightly above average in food and slightly below average in service. Beaches and Cream soda shop was tasty but we only had dessert there. we also grabbed lunch at the restuarant by the pool and that was pretty decent for a burger pool side.

The resort is right next to Beach Club, it connects so Beaches and Cream Soda shop was within walking distance, we also played some games in the arcade which was fun. 2 of the 3 adults got a massage which is not offered in a spa setting but a gym setting with private rooms. The actual room was okay and the massages were good.

Other things to do at the resort. We also rented the personal watercrafts and they allow to ride around the lake which is shared by the Boardwalk resort and Hollywood studios so that was nice to do one afternoon and the price I think was $30.00 for the half hour so it was reasonable. We also roasted marshmellows and watched a Disney movie one of the nights (they offer the campfire nightly along with a Disney movie outside by the lake. OOH another perk was we could see the fireworks from the pier!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingLadyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,432)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,695 - 1,701 of 2,432 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

After years of staying at the Boardwalk or Beach Club or other resorts, we FINALLY stayed at Yacht Club last week. We were there four nights, and during this same trip we also stayed at Art of Animation and Port Orleans French Quarter. So when we walked into our room, I was in love! It was much bigger than our rooms at the value-level Art of Animation and the moderate-level Port Orleans French Quarter, and so nicely done.

The staff had upgraded us to a view where we could see the lake, and the lighthouse, and to my children's delight - we could also see the Epcot fireworks from our balcony.

I will say that our room seemed like it needed to be updated, particularly in the bathroom, though I know it is difficult to keep ANY hotel room spotless and perfect. But we did find that the shower drained very slow, which is always kind of gross.

In-room dining fell significantly short of what I would have expected for what we paid. But the Captain's Grille breakfast buffet was great, and we enjoyed a late-night dinner at the Crew's cup as well. In the morning I would go down to the coffee bar and enjoy having the lobby basically to myself. The Yachtsman steakhouse was actually a bit of a disappointment, probably because we had such high hopes. The experience was pretty good though. Great service, and my kids loved the "Mickey Puzzle" dessert. More food should come with a paintbrush!

The pool (which is shared with the Beach Club) is second to NONE. My children LOVED playing in the sand-bottom pool and would have liked to stay there for much longer than we did. Unfortunately for us, the pool slide from the crow's nest of the shipwreck was closed during our stay - they indicated that some people had complained that the slide was hurting their back.

The location of the Yacht Club, just like Beach Club and Boardwalk, can't be over-sold. You can walk (or boat) to Epcot and Hollywood Studios. The value of this is immense in my opinion.

I have one complaint about our stay at the Yacht Club. The bedding was strange. Of course there was a sheet on the bed, but you covered up with only another sheet, a wafer-thin (not-warm) blanket, and then another sheet. So it was almost like sleeping with nothing on top of you. As a person who appreciates blankets / comforters, I wasn't able to sleep well. I was either freezing cold, or we had to turn the thermostat warmer, and then I was hot. This isn't a show stopper, but I know at the Boardwalk Villas, and I think at the Beach Club Villas as well (not sure about the Inns) there are actual bedspreads that are on the beds. It was just my one and only complaint. I should have asked for more blankets but I am the kind of person that would rather be miserable than call housekeeping. My bad.

I would stay at the YC again - in fact, we plan to, but I will definitely call housekeeping and ask for like 10 extra blankets as soon as we arrive. :-)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DallasTraveler06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We just returned from our stay at the Yacht Club Resort! We had not visited Epcot in quite a few years & decided to stay at the Yacht club for it's easy access to the park & the Boardwalk area. It was a wonderful experience from the time we drove up, the check in (we had done on-line) was a breeze! We stayed at the Regatta Club level & it was worth every $. The rooms were beautiful and the Concierge which attended us (John from England) was excellent, he was very informative about all the ammenities offered at the Club level, along with information about all Disney & its resorts have to offer! Every member of the staff on that floor was extremely attentive to everyone's needs. Would highly recommend this resort; we certainly plan to stay here again in the near future!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rose L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Just returned from our first family (2 kids aged 10 & 7) trip to Disney in Florida for 14 nights and one of the reasons we picked the Yacht Club was its location. I don't think anyone would be dissapointed with its location. It is a five minute walk to the Intl Gateway entrance at Epcot and about a 10 min boat ride to DHS (although you could use the walkway to DHS which would take about 15-20mins). The buses to MK & AK would pick up right outside the main entrance and would take about 15 mins to get to these parks. During our two weeks I don't think we waited for more than 10 minutes for any bus. One word of warning though - coming back from the parks the Yacht club always seemed to be the last stop after the Boardwalk,Swan, Dolphin & Beach Club resorts. With tired kids this can be a bit of an issue. The hotel reception areas were always spotless and the nautical theme throughout gave it a nice feel.On our arrival we found that our room was not ready however reception quickly found us another room which turned out to be a partial water view room which I believe was an upgrade from our originally booked room.The reception staff were friendly but not always overly helpful if you required some info on Non-Disney areas.There was a small shop were you could purchase sundries etc but the better option was to walk through to the Marketplace at the Beach Club. In general the Yacht Club did seem to be a lot quieter than the Beach Club. The rooms were a reasonable size for a family of four with 2 queen beds and a sleeper that could have been made up as another bed if you wanted to split the kids up at night. The rooms are starting to look a bit tired though. There was plenty of wardrobe / storage space and a good sized balcony with a couple of chairs was a bonus. There was a small safe in the room as well as a mini fridge. The housekeeping took place every day and new towels etc were supplied when required. The Stormalong Bay pool complex was excellent with different pools, hot tubs, lazy river, beach area and a great waterslide - the kids loved this. The pool snack bar was also one of the drink refill stations which was great when you are sitting around the pool. With regards to the dining we did eat at the Captains Grille a couple of times and whilst the food was always pretty good the service was not - sometimes pretty dreadfull. On one particular occasion we had a dinner reservation for 7:30pm but did not get seated until 8:30pm. This was despite us reminding them 2 or 3 times that we were still waiting. Even when we were seated they tried to seat us by the main entrance door! We were re-seated but then to make things worse the wrong meals were served to us during the evening. To be fair the Manager did take our drinks of the bill but after that we never went back to the Captains Grille. If it wasn't for the fact we were on the DDP we would have made more of an issue of it. For dining generally there is a lack of restaurants on site, particuarly Quick/Counter service options. We did find some of the dining at the parks / Downtown much better and would recommend Planet Hollywood at Downtown, 50's Prime Time at DHS and Rose & Crown at Epcot. This review is primarily about the Hotel & Facilities but overall our Disney Holiday was a great success and we will be looking to come back to Disney next year. Whether this is back to the Yacht Club we are not sure - it was a great base to explore the parks and the pool area was excellent but I think we would look at another Disney resort.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KentCafc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Was really impressed when they greeted me at the front entrance by last name and walked you to check in. Was a great romantic time with my girlfriend as well! We had so much fun and everyone was wonderful. Just across the way from the boardwalk, boat rides, busses to every attraction and more!! The pools are awesome too which connects to the beach club resort as well. A great romantic getaway!! 5 stars.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pufferfish23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We recently stayed at Disney's Yacht Club in Orlando. We decided, this year, to upgrade to the Concierge Level at the hotel. What a great way to go. Not only do you have key-only access to the 5th floor level, (where you also check in) you have the extras such as "turn down" service, a lounge just for concierge level guests serving complimentary continental breakfast, snacks, evening drinks and desserts. Wonderful assortment of food items. Lovely and clean atmosphere and a most attentive staff. We took advantage of the lounge every morning for breakfast.

Our room faced the garden, but you could still see the lake from the balcony. The floor was nice and quiet. The room we had was spotless and maid service was wonderful. The beds were soft and nice. The room came with a refrigerator and coffee pot. We did not "want" for anything. The AC was icy cold just like I like it.

This is our third visit to Disney and the second time we have stayed at the Yacht Club. On future visits, I know I will be requesting a concierge level room again.

This hotel is within walking distance of Epcot and Disney's Boardwalk, Beach Club and the Swan and Dolphin hotels. If you are really a walker, you can even walk to Disney's Hollywood Studios. However, there are available buses and water taxis as well.

Room Tip: Rooms facing garden are quiet and very peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed at disneys yacht club for 8 nights and had a great time. The location was good for us as you could walk to Epcot, the Boardwalk (highly recommend the flying fish restaurant there) and Hollywood studios. We also caught the Epcot fireworks from our balcony on several evenings (book a water view room) The pool area was pleasant and the hotel was immaculate throughout. They have movie nights on the beach out front with a big screen, toasting marshmellows around a fire and nightly shows very nice atmosphere.

Down side: The room was a little noisy with the water system making a bit of a racket. Very limited tv channels and no pay movies.

The steak house was closed when we were there as was the spa so no comment there. Ate in the grill and had breakfast, both were pretty good. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Starla8778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Disney's BoardWalk Inn
#63 of 341 in Orlando
1,748 reviews
Disney's Beach Club Villas
#110 of 341 in Orlando
832 reviews
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Yacht Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Yacht Club Resort

Address: 1700 Epcot Resorts Boulevard, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8407
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#22 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#48 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#52 Business Hotel in Orlando
#65 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $371 - $831 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Yacht Club Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 621
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delight in the formal grace of a grand New England-style yacht club at this lakeside hotel. Relax in the inviting elegance of a plush lobby replete with nautical touches, explore the whimsical Stormalong Bay and rent a variety of watercraft from Bayside Marina. Sharing many amenities with its pastel-toned sister, Disney's Beach Club Resort, Disney's Yacht Club Resort is walking distance to Epcot and a convenient boat ride to Disney's Hollywood Studios. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Walt Disney Parks & Resorts, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Disney's Yacht Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Yacht Club Hotel Orlando
Disneys Yacht Hotel
Disneys Yacht Resort
Yacht Club Disney
Disney Yacht And Beach Club
Yacht Club Orlando
Disney Yacht Club Resort
Disneys Yacht Club Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing