We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 1 & 2 year old loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Disney's Wilderness Lodge
Ranked #32 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Flossmoor, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Our 1 & 2 year old loved it”
Reviewed February 7, 2005

Location, location, location. The boat trips to Magic Kingdom, to Fort Wilderness with its petting zoo and pony rides, adding the monorail to the Floridian's breakfast with Mary Poppins, to the Contemporary and dinner with Chef Mickey made 2 little boys very happy. Add to that the wonderfully shallow pool and the mom and dad were so relaxed as well. We will definately come again, the hotel is everything written and more.

Helpful?
10 Thank Katherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,098
    940
    299
    127
    40
See reviews for
2,363
475
26
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (814)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 7, 2005

our stay in Dec. 04 was poor.supposd to have connecting rooms but the rooms were not as promised when they moved us our new room had 1
queen bed & 1 bunk bed we were supposed to have 2 queen beds.Hotel
staff did not know the boat transportation start times, getting AAA travel
checks cashed at service desk was difficult, the information board in the
lobby was incorrect with the magic kingdom fireworks but the part that
upset us most was that 1 of our family is ill and has time specific care
which we were told would be no problem untill we came to the last day we were told the room was not available to us past 3 pm unless we
would agree to pay a full day rate for the extra hour of time. I would not
stay here if you have any certain health issues they go back on the
promises the make once you are at the resort and the seem very
unaware of whats going on and when.

Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2005

If I could give it a 10, I would. Fantastic. Magical.

I could go on and on, but suffice to say, it far exceeded our expectations.

Service, cleanliness, staff, food, detail.

Wow.

Helpful?
10 Thank Chuck_n_Julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 13, 2005

We've been to Disney 8 times in the last 15 years, 7 times staying on Disney property. We're going next week and will stay at the Wilderness Lodge for the 3rd time. We love it, the grounds, the staff, the ambience. I highly recommend it!

Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 7, 2005

This hotel was wonderful. Beautiful hotel with top notch service. The boat ride to Magic Kingdom was fun and so easy to use. It was very accomodating to our family. Our room was great. (We could easily view the fireworks nightly from our woods view room on the thrid floor) I would love to stay here again on our next trip.

Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 5, 2005

We have just returned from the Wilderness Lodge in Disney, as we had spent our Christmas Holiday there. We were very apprehensive about keeping our reservatations after reading reports about unahppy visits. I called the manager and told him my concerns and he assured me that this was one of best properties at Disney.
For anyone considering this hotel it is a wondeful experience for all ages. My son is 20 and wants to go back. The decor is lovely, the lobby is breathtaking, and staff could not do enough for you. The decorations for the Christmas Holiday were beautiful. Our room was on the 2nd floor overlooking the pool, geyser, and we could see the parade on the lake in the evening. For all those that wrote the terrible reviews, they just must be mean spirited people, as I am a fanatic about cleanliness, and our room was spotless everyday. They have 3 different restaurants to appeal to everyone. Or you can just kick back in their sports bar in the evening which also serves all kinds of apetizers all evening. We have stayed at the Animal Kingdom Lodge as well, but this will be the hotel that we return to this summer.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 2, 2005

My husband and I stayed at Fort Wilderness Lodge last spring on our anniversary and had the best time. We were in a room overlooking the pool, and the lagoon - and could see the Electric Light Parade every evening. Several Disney World hotels are beautiful (Grand Floridian, and Animal Kingdom Lodge in particular) - but for the combination of beauty, theming, transportation and kid appeal - you can't beat Fort Wilderness. The lobby is stunning, relaxing from the moment you enter - sky high ceilings, totem poles everywhere and music that puts you right in the Disney mood. The three restaurants offer something for everyone...At Whispering Canyon if you tell them it's your little one's (or husband's) birthday - they will dress 'em up in cowboy attire and let them race around the dining room on a wooden horse --- PLUS you get a cupcake oozing with gummy worms to cap off your birthday celebration. Artist's Point is gourmet dining, featuring applewood smoked salmon, artisanal cheeses, wines from the pacific northwest and romantic ambience - so delicious and relaxing...There is a cafeteria style place with a nice array of faster service items perfect for a meal on the go. Fort Wilderness offers boat service both to Magic Kingdom and Fort Wilderness Campgrounds (if you're a fan of Hoop De Do!) as well as to the Contemporary (for the great character breakfast). The other parks are accessible by bus - with fairly regular service...A nice place to begin and end your Disney day - or to just take a quick break to right in the middle.

Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Property: Disney's Wilderness Lodge
Address: 901 Timberline Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8426
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#10 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#14 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#27 Family Hotel in Orlando
#124 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Wilderness Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 727
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the rustic majesty of America's Great Northwest. Inspired by turn-of-the-century National Park lodges, Disney's Wilderness Lodge celebrates American craftsmanship and honors the beauty of the untamed wilderness. Soak in the splendor of the great outdoors, from nature trails through pine forests to rocking chairs that overlook a murmuring creek. Inside, discover towering totem poles, headdresses and more, and sink into a plush leather armchair in front of the roaring fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Disney's Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Wilderness Hotel
Disney Wilderness Lodge
Disneys Wilderness Hotel
Walt Disney World Wilderness Lodge
Wilderness Lodge Orlando
Wilderness Lodge Resort
Wilderness Lodge Disney World
Disney Wilderness Resort
Disneys Wilderness Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing