We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Disney's Wilderness Lodge
Ranked #24 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed at the Wilderness Lodge for five days in June. The resort is beautifully landscaped and decorated inside and out. The lobby area is very grand, six stories high and great theming. They have a nice heated pool area with a slide for the kids, two hot tubs, and a bar area for drinks and snacks. The geyser goes off every hour which is really nice. Our room was on the fourth floor with a view of the pool/geyser/lagoon. Even with people being outside and the geyser going off, it was very quiet inside the room. It was great to be able to watch the little parade on the lagoon from our balcony at night. We ate at the Whispering Canyon restaurant in the resort. The food was good and our waitress was great. We also stopped at the quick service/snack shop near the pool area. It was nice but gets very busy and they only have two registers. One night we decided to order pizza in the room and it was very good and affordably priced. This is a great option for families on a budget. This resort offers a boat ride that takes you to the Magic Kingdom. The line was long in the morning however we were surprised at how many people they can fit on the boat. The busses will get you to the other parks. The staff was always pleasant and helpful. Overall this is a wonderful resort and I highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yyhill99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,561)
There are newer reviews for Disney's Wilderness Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,377 - 1,383 of 3,561 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2014

Just so you know, my wife and I love staying at this place. Walking thru the wooded areas, the quiet peaceful times we can spend with our family. The time we can spend an evening resting by the pool where our children love. I rate it a 9 out of 10 for a family experience.

I called to confirm our reservations at Wilderness Lodge and the Disney representative stated that the pool area renovations are scheduled to be finished just one day before we arrived, that being November 27th. That means that the pool will be closed until then, but I don't have the start date.

We have stayed at Wilderness Lodge several times, but... Disney does not have great renovation methods... the Wilderness Lodge renovation will probably go longer.

Just to say, we're now staying at Boardwalk Inn, which has a great pool area and is ideal to get to both EPCOT and Hollywood Studios.

Something you might want to consider if you're going during that timeframe.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

This resort is beautiful! We got in really late 12:30am. When we got off magical express the cast members told us not to worry about our luggage, that they would bring them up and they did! We got the 6th floor as requested and we were on the end of a hallway. Our room was very quiet. Beds were very comfortable. The lobby was grand! We asked for more shampoo since there was 4 of us and 2 with long hair and they gave us a whole bagful! Wow!
Boat to Magic Kingdom was nice.
Roaring Forks counter service was very good. We did have breakfast at Whispering Canyon one day and our server, Hickory was excellent! Great food!
Cast members were great. I had bought an expensive drawing and the cast members wrapped it up in cardboard for me.
Pool was nice. though we were so busy we only used it 1 day. We had a 5 night stay.
Disney has the best resorts and this one was worth the extra money.

Room Tip: higher floor seems to be quiet.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeanette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

This is our 2nd stay at Disney's Wilderness Lodge. It looks like it has been updated a bit since we were there a couple years ago. Our room was very comfortable, clean and spacious. We really enjoy the convenience to the water transportation, monorail and buses. Great service all the way around. I'd highly recommend.

Room Tip: If you like a more quiet room, ask for the "woods" side of the building.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarylandMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

I have stayed at most of the resorts At Disney World in Orlando but we Stayed at the Wilderness Lodge for the first time this week. Not the Campgrounds but the lodge. The lobby is beautiful and check in was a breeze. We went on with our day in the Magic Kingdom and they texted me when our room was ready. I went with my 11 year old daughter for her birthday and all of the cast members go out of their way to make her feel special. We booked this resort because of how close it was to the Magic Kingdom and it is a boat ride away. I try to avoid the buses because they make stops and you can be on them for 30-60 minutes. We got to the lodge at 8 am but the boat does not run until 8:30 so there is a bit of a wait there. If you have your magic bands be sure that they are linked to your resort and room. I did this on line and then again at the resort and when we went to go through the gates- they were not linked. This system is far from flawless- just the opposite. We did book three fast past rides in the morning. After those are done you have to wait in line for more and they only give you one at a time. By mid day all the good rides are gone so get your fast past rides on line early in the day and get more right after you finish the last.
We went back to the resort in the afternoon to cool down and relax. What I did not expect was the construction on the resort- It did not interrupt with anything but really took away from the beauty of the landscaping. We put on our bathing suites and headed for the pool. Extremely disappointed in the size of the pool. It was extremely small and there was entirely no place to sit. When we got in the pool children were jumping in and one landed directly on my daughter and I- the parents of these children and the life guards did nothing. We got out and headed back to our room. You booked this resort because of its closeness to the Magic Kingdom and what looked like a wonderful pool area. Too Small for that large resort.
Speaking of small- typical Disney resort room. Small and compact. We were suppose to have a room overlooking the wood and instead we overlooked the roof to what looked like a garage of passage way. We were on the 6th floor and we heard the folks above us when they ran water and flushed the toilet.
Overall I would opt to stay at another resort. Glad I tried it so I can do that next time.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor and near elevators.. Face the pool or lake if you can.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank designer109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

We spent last week at this resort on the Club Level on the 7th floor with our son and his wife and 3 grandsons age 10 and under. We received excellent service from this concierge level of service. Friendly and accommodating staff. In true Disney fashion they were attentive to every need. Would definitely stay there again!

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank Bfrnk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

This hotel is a replica of the Old Faithful Inn located in Yellowstone Park, Wyoming. We stayed in a one bedroom suite – on the smaller side but comfortable. We especially enjoyed the Jack and Jill bathroom which allowed our children who were sleeping on the pullout sofa to have access to the bathroom without walking through our room (and vice versa- we didn't have to disturb them). One con is that although we had a club level room – our room was actually located on the other side of the building and on a different floor then the actual club level. This meant a lot of walking back-and-forth from the club at different times of the day. The food offerings were so so – goldfish, gummy bears, and chips around noon; a couple of hot hors d'oeuvres along with beer and wine in the evening; a continental breakfast and so on. As you may already know, Disney is already overpriced but at this hotel you are paying for the charm of the hotel along with the convenience of taking the boat ride to the Magic Kingdom. We have stayed at many hotels on Disney property- I thought my preference would always be to stay at the monorail hotels, but in this instance the boat ride to and from the Magic Kingdom was quicker because of the lines waiting to use the monorail. You also have the option of taking the bus to the different parks. The restaurant on the first floor is very good – we didn't go to the more formal one but the casual one had delicious food and was so much fun for the kids.
The wilderness is a good hotel – again, as with other Disney hotels it is very pricey but I would stay here again

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1travelerof6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Address: 901 Timberline Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8426
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#5 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#14 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#27 Family Hotel in Orlando
#124 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $406 - $938 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Wilderness Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 727
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the rustic majesty of America's Great Northwest. Inspired by turn-of-the-century National Park lodges, Disney's Wilderness Lodge celebrates American craftsmanship and honors the beauty of the untamed wilderness. Soak in the splendor of the great outdoors, from nature trails through pine forests to rocking chairs that overlook a murmuring creek. Inside, discover towering totem poles, headdresses and more, and sink into a plush leather armchair in front of the roaring fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Disney's Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Wilderness Hotel
Disney Wilderness Lodge
Disneys Wilderness Hotel
Walt Disney World Wilderness Lodge
Wilderness Lodge Orlando
Wilderness Lodge Resort
Wilderness Lodge Disney World
Disney Wilderness Resort
Disneys Wilderness Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing