We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something to keep in mind....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Disney's Wilderness Lodge
Ranked #31 of 341 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 11, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Wilderness lodge for 9 nights mid-January. It was very cold so the log cabin feel and fireplaces were nice to come back to. We were upgraded from a woods view room to a courtyard view, king bed. That was a nice surprise. However it was overlooking the lobby and we were told that all king bed rooms do so. I was happy with the bed, comfortable and loved the pillows, mine at home just doesn't cut it now. I was concerned about the noise but it was not that bad. But if you ever want to sleep in or get a late afternoon nap, I would recommend a room at the end of the hallway as there will be less foot traffic going by. We ate at artist point twice, a very nice restaurant but it's not on my must-do list next time. Something I will keep in mind, which goes for any wdw resort, is to make my dinner reservations based on proximity to resort. I made all the reservations months in advance but just went on where was the best place to eat, not on which best places would be closest to our resort. For example, we ate at the Flying Fish on the boardwalk one night, it was a great dinner but it took us almost 2 hrs to get there! We had to first go to downtown disney and every bus ride wait was long, and cold! The next night we had Jiko booked at the Animal Kingdom but we cancelled it because we didn't want to spend all out time travelling to get there. I should have book Criticos and Narciosees at the Grand Floridian as that would have only been the first stop on any bus going and 2 short boat rides back (if magic kingdom is still open, you take a boat there, then another one to Wilderness lodge). We did have a lovely time at the resort, however I would like to try a different one next time.

Room Tip: Down a hallway, away from the elevator and a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Serena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,647)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,659 - 1,665 of 3,647 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2014

This resort would get 5 stars from me in any case but we were comped to the Club floor which was icing on a tasty cake. We've stayed at the Grand Floridian and the Beach Club and both are wonderful but I don't see the need to pay for any of the pricier deluxe resorts. We love the boat to the MK but the bus was faster for rope drop. The lobby is stunning but you probably know that.

We've stayed at 4 resorts (plus once off the World) and there are a number of others we'd like to try, but if I had to pick just one for all of our future trips it would certainly be Wilderness Lodge.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
5  Thank dmaxdmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

This was our first time back to Disney in 25 years. This time with the grand kids. The hotel was very clean. Taking the boat behind the hotel to Magic Kingdom and Epcot was very convenient. The Whispering Canyon Cafe was very noisy and the food mediocre at best. The waitstaff were friendly and a lot of fun. Artist Point was pricey but a nice change from all the other eateries around Disney. The convenience of Roaring Forks was great. Coffee was ready at 6:00 am every morning. The pool was a big hit with the grand kids and the pool staff were on top of their game.
Would go back again next time.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robm47855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I just returned from a 5 night stay at the Lodge. We didn't want to leave! The north wing was convenient to the Roaring Fork quick service location and bus transport. We experienced very little hallway/inter-room noise on the 6th floor. The staff were helpful and friendly. The room was clean and we loved the upscale lodge motif. Can't wait to return!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Overall a nice hotel. The decor and surrounding grounds really give you a feeling of being in a lodge in the middle of the woods. Location is convenient to Magic Kingdom -- just a quick bus ride or boat ride away. Just make sure to get in the bus/boat line a little early if you want to make that first trip over to the parks in the morning before the parks open.

Room was clean -- nothing special. Staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel has a quick service dining location, a bar, and full restaurant which was convenient when you didn't want to travel far for a quick meal or snack. All-in-all a good stay!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erica O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We are big fans of the Wilderness Lodge. It is the only hotel we stay at when visiting Walt Disney World. Our last visit was in 2010, and we noticed changes not for the better then, they were even more evident this time.

We booked a 1-night post Disney Cruise stay and asked for an early check-in. We called and spoke to the Front Desk on our way from the port to confirm our room and the two requests we had would be ready and we were assured we would have a room upon our arrival around 11:30am.

The drive into the lodge is breath-taking. Disney did well when following through on the theming of this resort.

We get to the front desk and my husband ask for the gal he spoke to on the phone and we are assigned our room, which is everything we did not ask for. It was only one night, but when you pay for a courtyard room you should get a courtyard room considering the price difference is considerable! We paid for a courtyard view and requested a high floor and were given a first floor room with a woods view in a handicap room. We were told a room would be available within the hour so we decided to head to the pool bar to visit with our favorite bartenders. One hour turned into two. We called the front desk and were told that our room would now not ready until 5pm. Totally unacceptable. The gal we had been working with went to lunch and did not inform anyone of what she had done, nor had she called housekeeping. We were less than pleased. My husband then spoke directly with the manager who took care of the situation and another 2 hours later we had a room. The manager was nice enough to upgrade us to concierge level - nice, but we were looking at trees and not the courtyard. The room (7085) was lovely and clean. The bed typical Disney uncomfortable brick with a thin polyester pad. The bathroom has a large tub/shower with a tile base approximately a foot wide, which made getting in and out of the shower challenging. We really enjoy waking up and enjoying coffee on our balcony overlooking the lake and we did not get this. I know most would look at being upgraded to concierge as a big perk, but for us it was not what we desired. We really just wanted a room on a floor high enough to enjoy the view we paid for and for a promise to be delivered on.

This was all very similar to our experience in 2010, and very disappointing to see the lack of care from the Cast Members.

During our wait we opted to get lunch at Roaring Forks, the quick service restaurant, and it was overpriced and marginal for the burger and fries. The burgers were dry hockey-pucks on stale bread. it was hard to believe we paid $9 each for them.

Sadly, I think this is our last stay at the Lodge. The next time we visit Disney World we will try a different deluxe resort and hope for better service.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank beachgirlinmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We have stayed at most of the resorts on property. This one is very nice and is very close to Magic Kingdom. Check-in went well. We had pre-loaded the new magic bands but they were still working out some of the bugs. The Whispering Canyon Café was not very good. Waitstaff just couldn't seem to handle being busy. The food was just ok. Kind of tasted like everything else. We ate at Artist Point. We don't mind paying high prices, if it's worth it. It wasn't. Disney can and does do better. The Roaring Fork was a very nice surprise. Not because it was less expensive, but because it was very tasty and fast and the staff were very happy to help. Don't try to get anywhere fast on the buses at evening shift change. It happened to us several times where the driver went extra slow and would waste time at each stop to ensure he didn't get to the shift change location before his replacement driver was waiting for him, otherwise he would have had to make another trip around.

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool is very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Address: 901 Timberline Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8426
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#8 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#14 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#27 Family Hotel in Orlando
#124 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $381 - $844 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Wilderness Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 727
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the rustic majesty of America's Great Northwest. Inspired by turn-of-the-century National Park lodges, Disney's Wilderness Lodge celebrates American craftsmanship and honors the beauty of the untamed wilderness. Soak in the splendor of the great outdoors, from nature trails through pine forests to rocking chairs that overlook a murmuring creek. Inside, discover towering totem poles, headdresses and more, and sink into a plush leather armchair in front of the roaring fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone and Cancelon so you can book your Disney's Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Wilderness Hotel
Disney Wilderness Lodge
Disneys Wilderness Hotel
Walt Disney World Wilderness Lodge
Wilderness Lodge Orlando
Wilderness Lodge Resort
Wilderness Lodge Disney World
Disney Wilderness Resort
Disneys Wilderness Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing