We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice sized/relaxing rooms with great ambience in the Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Disney's Wilderness Lodge
Ranked #36 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
99 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice sized/relaxing rooms with great ambience in the Lodge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Loved this place. The rooms (bed and bath) were large and the attention to detail was great. We spent time doing some scavenger hunts looking for hidden mickeys + loved the pool. We also ate at Artist's Pointe which was stellar. Would highly recommend this place!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SethCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,068
    932
    295
    127
    41
See reviews for
2,332
466
26
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (805)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Last week was our first visit to WDW as a family. We brought our 2.5 year old daughter. Our stay at the Wilderness Lodge was great! Disney does do a great job to make everything seamless. We took their bus from the airport and decided to not rent a car and it was a great decision! The ride to the resort was quick with no wait but coming home it was delayed 30 mins which was a pain waiting when we were all ready. I love Disney’s Customer Service and all the workers attitudes. They cannot do enough for you while you’re at their resort.
The theme of the resort is beautiful. The lobby and the outside grounds are just stunning. The pool is a great size and has a water slide and a separate kiddie pool. They have a mini “old faithful” that goes off a few times an hour which can be seen from the pool. The rooms are pretty standard sizing with the theme carried throughout. Did love our balcony that looked out to the pool. They did provide a pack and play at no change. Was happy to not have to check ours at the airport.
Since we didn’t have a car we did die at the resort. Never did breakfast as I ordered food from gardengrocer.com and had it delivered to the room. This was a great service and the bell team keep it for you until you’re available. We got fruit, yogurt bagels, water and other quick stuff for the AM. This helped us get to MK at opening time and not waste time getting a sit down breakfast. The quick service has decided options. The Café we never got into when we wanted to due to us booking this trip last min and not having reservation and not being able to wait over 60 mins. The Artist Point we did get into and the food and service were very good. The gift shop is very nice and has a lot to offer. Of course it’s pricey but very convenient.
Transportation to MK was great and we would start every morning of ours at MK. The boat ride is quick and pretty nice and the wait is not that bad. What was a pain was going to/from Epcot from WL. This was (1) boat to (2) monorails at night this was draining. The final night of ours it was raining and we decided to take the bus back to WL from Epcot and it seemed at lot better. One afternoon we took the bus to Animal Kingdom and that was a pain. A bunch of stops and was the longest we had to wait for a bus to AK and then from AK to Epcot.
Booking this trip so last min I learned a lot to do ever better for our next trip. Make dinning reservations prior to leaving. Think we were lucky to get some great dinning reservation due to traveling off peak. Did not really understand the dining plan, so we did not select this option and think we should have done so but lesson learned. I also did not know about the photo pass card until our 2nd day at the park. For 150 for all of my images I should have had a lot more taken. Lesson learned. I think my favorite part was dining in Norway in the Restaurant Akershus. The family got our picture with Belle to bring home and during dinner our daughter got to meet (4) other princess. They came to the table would talk to our daughter and take pictures. There was no rush. The food was excellent. My fav meal while at WDW. I really did not expect the food/service to be so good. I also thought we would be rushed through dinner and that did not happen either. We were there over 1.5hrs total.
Overall this was a great family vacation. Look forward to coming back to WDW someday soon!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jerseyjenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Ontario
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

The Wilderness Lodge didn't disappoint. It was a brain-wrecking decision trying to select a resort to stay at and I am so happy we chose this one.

Loved:
-- Pool available for swim late night
-- Boats to Magic Kingdom
-- Clean and comfy rooms, with balcony overlooking pool and lake
-- Fridge in room
-- Night Light Show on the water
-- Disney atmosphere
-- Souvenir Shop with snacks and things you may have forgotten at home
-- Shuttle service to parks and other resorts
-- Magical Express shuttle to and from airport (PART OF ROOM! YAY!)

Didn't Love So Much:
-- Wifi in room was patchy.
-- Really no vegan options at the mid-priced restaurant for dinner
.... That is all I have to complain about. What an amazing place.

Room Tip: Spend the extra dollars to ensure a room with a view. Also, remember to tell the front desk if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
110 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

From the time you walk into the grand lobby of the hotel, you are swept away into the rustic feel of Yellowstone. From the totem poles, to the "hot springs", to the geyser, to the wooded walkways and so much more....the decor and attention to detail creates an ambiance of the rustic life out west.

Enjoyed the new decor in the rooms. Club level was a nice experience, however, some different "themed" touches than other club levels on property. Great running/biking/walking trail that takes you to the campgroud not to far away.

Definitely a unique resort that you will not find anywhere unless you go out West. A must stay or visit when coming to Orlando.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus IN
Level Contributor
95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed 7th floor club level. Our first assigned room faced smack into a bunch of trees that dropped sticky sap all over the balcony making it unusable. After returning to the room later in the afternoon, we realized that the air conditioning wasn't working. It was going to be the next day before it could be checked. I requested a different room with pool view. We were given a corner room near the lobby. The pool and lake were visible if you hung out over the edge of the balcony and strained to look hard left. A noisy screeching motor on the roof just above us made this balcony as unusable as the previous sticky one. The club lounge is locked during periods of the day and night. Every evening it opened later than the posted 5 pm. One night we waited 25 minutes. Breakfast opening was late one morning as well. Maintenance of the pool area was awful. At 8:30 am the pool area was still littered with drink glasses and other debris from the evening before. A couple of ducks in the pool might be picturesque. A whole flock pooping and quacking loudly is not. The resort wasn't crowded, yet boat and bus transportation were slow and spotty. Many people adore this resort. I guess that we caught them at a bad time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunshinier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

This resort is breathtaking. The lobby is stunning as are the grounds. My youngest son was in a wheelchair during our visit and the staff went out of their way to make a laminated name tag for the complimentary wheelchair they provided him. The man at the concierge desk said he wanted it to be "Disney quality." The rooms are nice and many of them have sliders to a balcony area. We were able to watch the Magic Kingdom fireworks show from our balcony. One of my only complaints is the very small food court area with a limited selection. I have stayed at Port Orleans Riverside and The Caribbean Beach Resort, both of which are moderates not deluxe like WD, and they both had larger food courts with much larger selections. The boat ride to Magic Kingdom is very quick and relaxing, so much nicer then the bus ride. They also have a boat that takes you to the Contemporary and only takes about 5 minutes and is great for heading to Chef Mikey's.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Just got back from a 7 night stay at Wilderness Lodge with my 6 year old. I would not rush back to this resort, unless there was some sort of great deal/discount. The boat transportation to MK is wonderful & super convenient. We had a bunk bed woods view room # 4087.

PROS; As with all Disney resorts amazing detailing carried throughout. We got a bunk bed room which my daughter adored. Housekeeping was wonderful, doing fun things with all of my daughter's stuff toys. The boat to Magic Kingdom & the Contemporary were fabulous, and so nice to not have to deal with the buses!

CONS;Our room was directly above Whispering Canyon restaurant & it is very loud. I had a cold shower 2 mornings. The quick service restaurant is small with very limited selections. Hands down the worst part is the bus transportation to the other parks... They often had a long wait (one time 40 minutes for a Downtown Disney bus), and then they stop at other resorts. I had to allow at least an hour if we were using the buses. I've stayed value & moderate level at Disney World before & both had much better bus transportation, better food courts, and were not as loud. I was not terribly impressed given what I paid to stay there. I get that I was paying for convenience/location but that becomes a wash when it takes 4x as long to get to any other park.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BostonMama33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Disney's BoardWalk Inn
#54 of 335 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Property: Disney's Wilderness Lodge
Address: 901 Timberline Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8426
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#11 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#14 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#27 Family Hotel in Orlando
#124 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Wilderness Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 727
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the rustic majesty of America's Great Northwest. Inspired by turn-of-the-century National Park lodges, Disney's Wilderness Lodge celebrates American craftsmanship and honors the beauty of the untamed wilderness. Soak in the splendor of the great outdoors, from nature trails through pine forests to rocking chairs that overlook a murmuring creek. Inside, discover towering totem poles, headdresses and more, and sink into a plush leather armchair in front of the roaring fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Disney's Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Wilderness Hotel
Disney Wilderness Lodge
Disneys Wilderness Hotel
Walt Disney World Wilderness Lodge
Wilderness Lodge Orlando
Wilderness Lodge Resort
Wilderness Lodge Disney World
Disney Wilderness Resort
Disneys Wilderness Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing