We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Love Love Love it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Disney's Wilderness Lodge
Ranked #26 of 339 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Marshall, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“We Love Love Love it!”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Our family has chosen the lodge for several trips to Walt Disney World. We love the lodge for it's easy commute by boat to the magic kingdom, as well as all of the amenities it offers. The waterfall pool is beautiful. Frequently in the afternoon the lifeguard staff hosts "beach parties" by the pool to help keep the kids entertained. One afternoon during our trip it was too cold to swim, so the lifeguards did games in the hotel lobby. The beds at this hotel are a size up from what you get at the moderate resorts, which is nice if you need a little extra wiggle room. They have a nice little store in the lobby that carries a surprising array of necessities! If you need something, ask, they probably have it tucked away somewhere. There is bus service from the lodge to the parks and to Downtown Disney. There is a ranger led tour of the lodge that you can inquire about. The Roaring Forks counter service food is above average, and they offer really nice pastries in the morning. They have a coin operated laundry area just down the way from Roaring Forks. We also love the Whispering Canyon Cafe. It is rowdy, so don't go if you treasure a quiet dining experience, but great family fun if you have a good sense of humor! On our trips we have found the lodge to be pretty quiet. We will go back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BoysMommy1432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,127
    942
    300
    127
    40
See reviews for
2,390
478
26
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (820)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I loved my stay here, we had a week and everything about it was relaxing and heavenly.
The chamber maid made dolls out the towels for the kids and then let us keep one !
the pool is great , the front desk are very helpful.
The pin trading station is fun in the morning - or evening when coming home.
If I had one complaint , the I tipped the porter who unloaded my bags with the last of my change, but he did not bring it to the room, when that guy did as soon as i explained I had not change and apologies he slammed the cases down and left sharpish - my bad etiquette ?
that aside the stay was a magical one.
we were selected as flag family so put the flags up with ranger jack - and also were treated to breakfast on the top floor..
we also got to see fireworks from the flag balcony - very rare - but do ask ! so a very special start and finish to the day.

The ferry is great - but does not start till 1/2 hour before MK opens - we got there an hour before, but the captain was training a driver, so took us to the contempary so we could get the monorail in ! - a classic Disney helpful cast member..

Take some time to do the lodge tour if you can - it is at 9 am and is an amazing tale of the level of detail they went to to create the place.

by the way we had room 4024 which was on the west wing - we could see the contempary resort and the magic kingdom - and the fireworks - albeit though the trees.

highly recommended

Room Tip: try to get a high room looking out over magic kingdom. we paid extra for bunk bed and wood view - t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

The Wilderness Lodge is a great place to stay at that is close to Magic KIngdom but not the prices of the Polynesian, Contemporary and Grand Floridian. The rooms are huge and very clean. The pools and beach are lovely and the property is well maintained. The only disappointment is the food court which doesn't have as many options as other Disney properties/restaurants. Also, we thought Artist Point was a little overpriced and disappointed that the kids menu salad had frisee and radishes? what?

Room Tip: Get a room with a lake view to see the lake light show parade
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJR2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

When you first arrive you are greeted by the staff and taken to the front desk where they check you in & they explain everything. There is a kids area off to the side with a tv and little couch to keep them busy during check out.

The lobby has a grand feeling to it. Tall totem poles, a pond inside the flows outside, and a bridge to walk over. It's a bit noisy since its the hub of the resort, but in the morning it's easy to find a quiet spot to relax & enjoy a book before the kids wake up.

We stayed in a basic room with 2 queen beds. We didn't upgrade for a view because with a 2 & 4 year old we knew we wouldn't be in the room much. That being said we had a small balcony that overlooked the parking lot...but at night we could see part of the Magic Kingdom Fireworks show. We had a small table in the room, a coffee pot, and plenty of towels. The maids do cute things each day for the kids with extra towels & wash rags. The room was very clean & very quiet. It was easy to get a restful nights sleep. If you wanted to, there are various balconys around the hotel that overlook the outside pool area (great quiet time at night).

About 1hour after check in we were surprised with a tray full of cookies welcoming us to Disney World. A perfect treat after a long drive (from Northern IL)!

The resort has so much to offer. Plan on spending at least one day just exploring & enjoying the resort. The Concierge will help you get reservations to restaurants & help you in making plans.

The pool is a huge area with a fun slide. There is a snack bar & towels are provided. For the little kiddies there is a 1foot pool off to the side. They have a geyser that erupts every hour near the pool.

Every night, just past the pool there is a sandy beach area where the have an inflatable movie screen with family friendly movies. The beach overlooks the river. Every night at 9:35pm there is an electric boat show. Definitely worth catching.

There is a snack shop that offers a decent breakfast and stays open late.

The gift shop doubles as a convenience store, adult beverages included.

Bus transportation takes you to any park in Disney. We had to wait a little longer for downtown Disney bus then other buses, but at night we were the first to be dropped off & with 2 little ones that usually passed out that was a blessing!

You can take a boat to the Magic Kingdom, it's a beautiful boat ride & never crowded.

There are a couple restaurants & an arcade, we didn't end up using those.

Overall it was a great resort. It is family friendly & my two little princesses LOVED it. They continue to ask us to go back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank wittymommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Loved it here! As with the parks Disney's attention to detail makes Wilderness Lodge absolutely amazing, the lobby is even better than the pictures, the theme carries through to the rooms and is well done and not tacky at all (which it could have been) everywhere you look through the resort Disney have done a fantastic job, I can't praise them enough for making this resort such a visibly appealing place to stay!

This is the first Disney hotel we have ever stayed at if you can afford this I highly recommend as it sets the theme for the holiday if your doing a park holiday. We had a hire car so didn't use the shuttle buses to / from the parks however they were easy to get to and I think run regularly. We took the ferry to the Magic Kingdom and probably waited about 5-10 mins on both the trip over and back which is nothing, the ferry trip itself is quiet nice and worth doing for a different experience, was very nice and relaxing

The hotel grounds are amazing, great pool area, cute little beach and beautiful walking paths really make you feel like your off in the wilderness at an amazing resort, we had 4 nights here and I wish we had more time to enjoy more of the resort. The Fitness Center was a decent size with free weights and machines and cardio bike and treadmills and was never packed when we used it and was kept nice and clean and equipment well maintained

We didn't eat in any of the restaurants here as with park food none of the options are too healthy but were very popular (we didn't check out the Artist Point as we didn't want to have to dress up for dinner lol so the food there may have been more to our liking), we had considered eating at the Whispering Canyon Cafe for convenience however the wait was going to be 40 mins so book ahead of time if you want to eat there, looked very popular and full every time we went past

A guest laundry is located near the Fitness Center which is a must so very happy they provided this

The Disney hotels and parks are all located some distance from each other (it took longer to drive to some parks then I expected) and if your fussy like us with food options you really need a hire car as you can't walk from the resort to other hotels or restaurants (there is nothing even remotely close) the hotel provides transportation to all the parks which is so great for families however I would have hated to be stuck without the freedom of a hire car to get around and see other parts of Orlando and explore wider options of restaurants

There are plenty of cheaper places to stay and we wouldn't normally spend this much on a hotel however I really wanted to stay in a Disney hotel and for me it was definitely worth it and I would 100% stay here again.

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank collyalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

As Disney goes this is a upper-mid priced choice for the family. It is an excellent choice. The facility is build with the great open spaces of Montana in mind and is open and spacious. It's wonderful just to sit in the grand foyer and relax. How many hotels can you say that about? The rooms are nice, clean and big enough for a small family, nothing huge. Get a pool side room if you can. The grounds are fantastic, and the pool is a delight for all ages. There are great eateries on site and a little night life as well. Also if you would like to take the wife out to a romantic dinner at one of the up-scale restaurants here, there is a sitting service on site.
Finally this is one of the Disney properties that has access to both the bus shuttle AND the steam boat shuttle over to the park, this works out well . Enjoy, you won't wanna go home.

Room Tip: Get a meal plan!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WE273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

The WDW Wilderness lodage is a great location with easy accesss to WDW by boat. There area also buses from the hotel to other Disney locations. The hotel is nice with 2 pools, hot tubs and a beach. There is also boat and bike rentals on site. The hotel is very clean and the customer service is good. Ate at the cafe in the lobby which was ok but way overpriced. The breakfast restaurant was good and had lots of options. Would stay again if I could find a deal on pricing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ldsummers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Property: Disney's Wilderness Lodge
Address: 901 Timberline Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8426
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#6 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#14 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#27 Family Hotel in Orlando
#124 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Wilderness Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 727
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the rustic majesty of America's Great Northwest. Inspired by turn-of-the-century National Park lodges, Disney's Wilderness Lodge celebrates American craftsmanship and honors the beauty of the untamed wilderness. Soak in the splendor of the great outdoors, from nature trails through pine forests to rocking chairs that overlook a murmuring creek. Inside, discover towering totem poles, headdresses and more, and sink into a plush leather armchair in front of the roaring fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone and Evoline ltd so you can book your Disney's Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Wilderness Hotel
Disney Wilderness Lodge
Disneys Wilderness Hotel
Walt Disney World Wilderness Lodge
Wilderness Lodge Orlando
Wilderness Lodge Resort
Wilderness Lodge Disney World
Disney Wilderness Resort
Disneys Wilderness Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing