We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Girl's weekend for my 4 yr old daughter, my Mom & myself” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Disney's Wilderness Lodge
Ranked #34 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Girl's weekend for my 4 yr old daughter, my Mom & myself”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Such a great overall Disney experience for the three of us, and the Lodge played a big part in it - this is truly a great Disney property. If you plan on spending a good amount of time at the Magic Kingdom, then you really should consider this resort. You really can't beat the ease of getting to the Magic Kingdom using the Wilderness boat system.

The resort is beautifully maintained, and it does feel like a lodge in the Pacific Northwest. The staff was wonderful and cheerful - they went out of their way to greet every girl (and woman) like a princess. The pool area was great - a ton of lifeguards making sure everyone stayed safe, and a person who was conducting pool party activities for the kids.

Other good things about the resort include an upgraded room key system which allows you to use your room key all over any of the Disney properties. There are also tons of little areas where kids can chill - little rocking chairs in the main lobby where they can watch cartoons, a table of Lincoln logs in the restaurant, etc. And it seems like all of the staff are constantly handing out stickers - from the concierge, to the check in staff, to the bell stand - everyone was constantly handing my daughter stickers (which really keeps a 4 yr old in a good mood).

Things that could be improved were the size of the rooms (but let's be realistic, this is Disney and you're only going to be in the room so much). The resort also didn't have in-room movies (which we could have used one night), and the in room safe had an actual key (vs. a programmable code system). The food was okay, but pricey (again, this is Disney and mouse-shaped waffles inevitably will cost extra).

I've stayed at other Disney properties such as the the Contemporary, the Dolphin, and Coronado Springs before, but will definitely be coming back to the Wilderness Lodge for our next stay. No questions, this had been my best experience of all the Disney properties I've stayed at.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laweber28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,057
    926
    290
    126
    41
See reviews for
2,315
460
25
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (796)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cumming, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Our family of 4 stayed here May 2012 in a Woods view bunk bed room. It was very nice- quite comfortable and plenty of space. My only issue is that the clearance on the top bunk wasn't great- might feel a little clautrophobic to some. Otherwise, really lovely. Great activities at pool and beach, beautiful furnishings everywhere. Boat access to Magic Kingdom and Contemporary hotel is great- makes a nice beginning and ending to the day. For Epcot we used the boat to Contemporary & caught the monorail there- bus access is slow, but that's everywhere, I think. Lobby gets a little loud at mealtimes, but not a big deal- you chose Disney World for a vacation, what did you expect?

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyKaren74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Our first time staying at Disney's Wilderness Lodge and I highly recommend it. The hotel itself was very clean. The staff was friendly and very helpful. Great restaurants in the hotel and very convenient location in proximity to the Magic Kingdom. The boat ride to and from Magic Kingdom was our favourite way to travel there.
We were fortunate to have our room upgraded when we arrived, the view from the balcony was to the pool area and we loved it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carolninapaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

In September of 2012, my family and I stayed at The Wilderness Lodge Villas inside The Walt Disney World Resort. The purpose of our trip was to attend Disney's Night of Joy event, which takes place each Fall. This year, 2012, the event took place inside The Magic Kingdom, so we wanted to stay at a nearby resort. If you want to be near The Magic Kingdom, your choices in resort hotels are The Grand Floridian, The Polynesian, The Contemporary and The Wilderness Lodge; all of these are deemed Disney Deluxe Resorts, partly because of their proximity to a Disney theme park. Of these four Deluxe Resorts, The Wilderness Lodge tends to be the least expensive.
Our family of three stayed in a Deluxe Studio Villa, which consists of a queen size bed, kitchenette, 1 bathroom and sitting area with a pull-out sleeper sofa. The room was well equipped and large enough for three. It was also clean.
The Wilderness Lodge Resort is beautiful. This is one Disney resort that allows you to feel removed from the hustle and bustle of the Disney theme parks. My husband spent each morning sitting in a rocking chair outside the Disney Vacation Club building (these Villas are rentable to non-Disney Vacation Club members) reading his book; he felt as if he were somewhere in the Northwest...very peaceful and quiet.
The huge convenience to staying at this resort is the transportation to The Magic Kingdom. We caught a boat at the dock, which is located at the back of the resort, and in 7 minutes we were dropped off at the front of The Magic Kingdom. Getting back to the resort hotel from Magic Kingdom was just as convenient; we didn't need to use Disney's shuttle service at all...although that is a great amenity, too. Simple and uncomplicated transportation to Magic Kingdom is a HUGE plus in staying at Disney's Wilderness Lodge.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trvlwithmonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswego, Illinois
Level Contributor
151 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed at Wilderness Lodge right before Thanksgiving and witnessed the Christmas transformation during our week. In my opinion there is no better holiday setting than the Wilderness at WDW. The rustic log architecture with green pine wreaths, garland and white lights throughout the resort are breath taking. The six-story tree in the lobby is gorgeous. You can't help but feel the holiday spirit throughout the lodge.
No matter the time of year, Wilderness Lodge is the best value of the deluxe resorts. The rooms are spacious and the beds soft, we even had a great view of Bay Lake and a glimpse of the Magic Kingdom from our balcony (could she Wishes fairly well). The Wilderness grounds are beautiful: waterfall, geyser, majestic pines, and sand beach. The pool is gorgeous as is the running trail that connects the Lodge to the Wilderness campground. I highly recommend renting a boat at the marina and exploring Bay Lake and Seven Seas Lagoon, kids love it and the rental prices are very reasonable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DisneyDad21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
175 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I'm a Disney veteran, having stayed at several Disney resorts over the years, including this one way back in 2002. We loved it then, but after our third kid got too big to be free in Disney, we had to move to larger rooms which could fit 5 of us.

I stayed here with a friend for the half marathon in January, 2013.

The rooms are quite nice, though they are very small, a lot smaller than other Disney deluxe resorts like the Polynesian and Grand Floridian.

Location is fine. The boat to the Magic Kingdom is relaxing, the views on Bay Lake are beautiful. The hotel has a very nice setting, and the pool is themed. The lobby is as nice as everyone says.

Dining in the hotel is somewhat limited. There's a typical Disney counter service place for sandwiches and pasta and Mickey waffles. There's an all-you-can eat family type of place that is quite expensive (about $30 per person) for dinner. There is also a very good but upscale restaurant Artist Point. Food is good, but the atmosphere is not that interesting for kids.

One thing I did not like was the LONG hallway with twists and turns we had to navigate. We were put in a ground floor room which is actually lower than the lobby. I did not really like the location of that room. It was quiet (we had a woods view room), but getting there was confusing, and I felt like we were in the basement.

I personally prefer being on the monorail, but the Wilderness Lodge is quite nice too, and it's much cheaper than the monorail resorts.

Room Tip: Avoid first floor rooms if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ProfandMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Amazing main lobby and fun pool for kids. Found our vacation club room had an older/need of an update feel. We're given a handicap accessible room though we did not ask or need one, bed was very hard and uncomfortable and the handicap accessible shower needed a roto rooter job as it overflowed into the bathroom every time. Transportation to parks was not very convenient, always seemed to wait all of 20 minutes for a bus or more. The boat was more on schedule but only went to magic kingdom and the contemporary hotel. Normally stay at bay lake tower but due changing our vacation date we could not get in. Staff were all great and housekeeping staff were helpful too. Will not stay here again as am spoiled by the new modern feel and location of bay lake. Oh yeah almost forgot our bed was so bad we tied the pull out couch but that was worse, was like sleeping in a big bowl.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jww1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Disney's BoardWalk Inn
#55 of 335 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,621 reviews
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Property: Disney's Wilderness Lodge
Address: 901 Timberline Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8426
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#10 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#14 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#27 Family Hotel in Orlando
#124 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Wilderness Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 727
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the rustic majesty of America's Great Northwest. Inspired by turn-of-the-century National Park lodges, Disney's Wilderness Lodge celebrates American craftsmanship and honors the beauty of the untamed wilderness. Soak in the splendor of the great outdoors, from nature trails through pine forests to rocking chairs that overlook a murmuring creek. Inside, discover towering totem poles, headdresses and more, and sink into a plush leather armchair in front of the roaring fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Disney's Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Wilderness Hotel
Disney Wilderness Lodge
Disneys Wilderness Hotel
Walt Disney World Wilderness Lodge
Wilderness Lodge Orlando
Wilderness Lodge Resort
Wilderness Lodge Disney World
Disney Wilderness Resort
Disneys Wilderness Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing