We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Disney's Wilderness Lodge
Ranked #32 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
wales
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“outstanding”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We have just returned from here (Dec 21st) after a weeks stay. Three of us really enjoyed our time here. Our son aged 12 loved the pool, hot tub and, as an added bonus the very timid deer in the grounds. Very well located for the parks but the actual hotel itself is awesome. As soon as we walked into the lobby we felt at home. The Christmas tree, fireplace and the whole set up is outstanding. We have stayed on several Disney properties but have to say we would definitely return here. The only drawback is the transport. We would usually pick up at a different hotel before getting to the parks. Not a major problem as this occurs with all hotels. Return journey is direct to Wilderness Lodge. We also had a Woods view which was lovely. Food was good, we had the quick service dining plan which was more than enough for us. Feel free to inbox me.

Room Tip: I can only comment on our room, 6114. Found it quiet and good location with a woods view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank martinrmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,098
    939
    299
    127
    40
See reviews for
2,363
474
26
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (813)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brandon, Manitoba
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

My wife and I and our two kids (3 year old daughter, 3 month old son) all stayed at the Wilderness lodge and had a great time. We stayed in a bunk bed room, which accomodated us quite well. Although we didn't use the top bunk, it seemed like we had more space in our room because of this, which helped accomodate the pack and play.

We only had a view of the front entrance which seemed like a disappointment until we realized that we could watch for our busses and time our room departure to minimize wait times. The only downside to this room location would be that the shuttle that dropped off the luggage was right by our room. It was very loud.

This was our first trip to Disney so we were in awe for the most part. We chose the Lodge as it was the closest non monorail resort to the Magic Kingdom. It was great taking the boat service back and forth between nap times and fireworks!

It took us a few days trying to figure out how to maximize our meal plan, but once we did we really enjoyed it.

We would return to this resort again!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dickbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Wow this resort is soooooo beautiful!!! So much detail in every corner of the hotel. It is a must stay for the Christmas season at Disney!!! The lobby is so big and overwhelming in a good way. The whole grounds are scenic and gorgeous!!! We could not have been any happier with our choice to stay at the Wilderness Lodge. Our last night we sat on the beach and watched a movie on their blowup big screen. Then we sat on our balcony to watch the fireworks at the Magic Kingdom( room 4004 woods view). It was the perfect way to end our perfect Disney trip. The food at the quick service Roaring forks was very good for a quick meal. I recommend the strawberry pancakes and the chocolate caramel cupcakes. The boat to the Magic Kingdom is very cool and usually not a long wait at all. The beds were so comfortable the room was a nice size with a nice balcony. Very pleased with every aspect of this hotel!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Resort had a nice, cozy feel to it as soon as you step into the lobby. Very much like a lodge you'd find in Yellowstone. Lobby has a grand atrium, a large fireplace and many spots to sit and relax. In fact, on every floor you will find relaxing hiding spots and maybe a fireplace.
Club level is a nice respite from the crowds. No fireplace there, though and that is a shame.
Rooms are large and comfortable. My mattress was a little too soft for my liking. Linen was soft, good quality.Room balcony is nice to have, but there really isn't a great view because of the trees, unless your room overlooks the pool.
Grounds are very nice. Good for wandering, walking, going for a run. Really enjoyed taking the boat to Magic Kingdom and Contemporary rather than the crowded buses. May take a bit longer, but worth it in the end.
Food at Whispering Canyons is typical Disney. Dining for the masses. Only had lunch there one day and hot breakfast another. Didn't expect much and can't complain.
Staff there is above excellent! Everyone bent over backwards to be friendly and accomodating. We traveled without the kids and never felt like we were in a kid oriented property.Something for all ages here.
Would consider staying there again.Especially during the holidays when it is decorated so well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oversold_plus_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Huntingdon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 20, 2012

My husband, my sister and her husband and I spent 4 magical nights at the resort......my husband and I have stayed here in the past and they did not disappoint. The Christmas decorations are beautiful, the staff were very accommodating. Overall experience was awesome and we will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Just got back from this resort and is my 5th time staying here.I love this resort and even better at Christmas time!!! The rooms have been updated and are very nice.The resort is a little pricey but being a Florida resident i was able to get a good rate.Staff was very polite and helpful the whole stay. The rooms were very clean and cant say anything bad about the room.Disney it self was busy the resort was quiet.My son"11" loves this resort.The restaurants were a little pricey but
food was great! We always love the electrical parade they have every night. We definitely will be going back in February!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Yes, the restaurants are great, the staff is friendly and helpful, the view is amazing and everything you could want is nearby. I can tell you all that about many places. But the thing this resort has that few places can claim is the most comfortable beds ever!

Whispering Canyon restaurant is anything but "whispering." The gimmick here is noise. Yes, the food is great. Yes, the service is acceptable and the staff is friendly. Yes, there is an "all you care to enjoy" option at every meal. . . including milk shakes! But the thing that makes the Whispering Canyon unforgetable is the pony rides, the "catsup call," and the noise. If you are looking for peace and quiet, order from the ample menu offered by room service. Or visit . . .

Artists' Point. I'm told the food here is also excellent. The menu includes some "regular" choices and some wild game type choices. The service is 5-star and the atmosphere is awesome.

There is also a small foodcourt type dining choice with fresh fruit, milk, water, juice and soda, very good coffee, and several "prepared to order" dishes at each meal time. Open early and late, this is the place to grab a quick bite before hitting the park, or after a long day of sight seeing. I suggest you buy the refillable mug and drink to your heart's content for one low price for your entire visit.

And last but certainly not least there are groceries available in the gift shop. Milk, ham, bread, and canned goods can be purchased right alongside those coveted Disney collectibles.

The 6-story-tall lobby is a showcase of American west culture and geography. Not only are there authentic totems, but lessons on how to read them. There is an authentic rock formation column and a lesson about why it looks that way. There is a functional geyser that goes off every hour, and a rocky mountain river that empties into the heated swimming pool.

Situated on the shores of Bay Lake, The Wilderness Lodge is a short boat ride from the Magic Kingdom, but busses run from early morning until very late at night to take you to any Disney park or entertainment.

But at night when you are tired and ready for rest, the bed is soft and beckoning. One of the best I have ever had the joy of lying on.

Of the many Disney resorts we have visited, The Wilderness Lodge is my current favorite.

Room Tip: I personally love the woods/lake view rooms, but they are all comfortable and well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Property: Disney's Wilderness Lodge
Address: 901 Timberline Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8426
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#10 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#14 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#27 Family Hotel in Orlando
#124 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Wilderness Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 727
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the rustic majesty of America's Great Northwest. Inspired by turn-of-the-century National Park lodges, Disney's Wilderness Lodge celebrates American craftsmanship and honors the beauty of the untamed wilderness. Soak in the splendor of the great outdoors, from nature trails through pine forests to rocking chairs that overlook a murmuring creek. Inside, discover towering totem poles, headdresses and more, and sink into a plush leather armchair in front of the roaring fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Disney's Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Wilderness Hotel
Disney Wilderness Lodge
Disneys Wilderness Hotel
Walt Disney World Wilderness Lodge
Wilderness Lodge Orlando
Wilderness Lodge Resort
Wilderness Lodge Disney World
Disney Wilderness Resort
Disneys Wilderness Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing