We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Disney's Wilderness Lodge to your Saves list
Disney's Wilderness Lodge
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   901 Timberline Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 338 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Clayton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed here from 11/20 - 11/25 (Thanksgiving week). Arrived in Orlando at 2:00 pm caught the Disney shuttle to the hotel. Check-in was very fast, plenty of desk people to get everyone
checked-in in an orderly manner. The lobby is very impressive and has a warm inviting feeling. It was nice that it was decorated for the holidays. Our room was on the sixth floor and overlooked the lobby. The rooms are large and the one we were in had a very comfortable king size bed.
The bathroom had a separate toilet/bath room with duel sinks in their own nook. The room had a safe, refrigerator, iron and ironing board. There was a balcony with 2 chairs and a small table, also the room had a large flat screen tv, free wifi, and hookups in the radio for your iPod. etc.
The hotel staff were always courteous, and helpful. The hotel has a nice workout room. Transportation to the parks is easy either by bus or boat.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NFCUMIKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,910
    883
    274
    114
    38
See reviews for
2,159
415
24
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (734)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Binbrook, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I have stayed here at least 3 times and every stay is like as they say Welcome Home. This place is located in such away that its easy to get to many attraction. There are bikes to rent if your into that or little go cart type power boats (way Kool as my son put it.) . There's a good long trail that extends into the wildernes camp ground so you can run walk or bike for a fair distance. The suites are as always perfect and the resteraunt is very good.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank J Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We visited this property in May last year, ate BBQ buffet in the fun restaurant, and took a few minutes to walk around. We were absolutely blown away by this gorgeous property. We live not far from the actual rocky mountain lodges this resort is themed around, and it takes a lot to make charming what we have simply grown used to, if not bored of. Campfires, Sing-a-longs, trail rides, an amazing pool area with hot tubs, not to mention a dedicated boat access to magic kingdom. That said, I think Ferrari's are awesome, but I drive a GM and a Honda. What I wish Disney would explain is on what basis they set the $300+/night rates? What do they offer that a local Hilton or Marriott wouldn't? I guess this place caters to the "lots of money, but little time" crowd, as opposed to us "lots of time, limited money" gang. As the resorts continue to make money, and fill rooms, it's clear they don't need my (and maybe yours) business anyway.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chadclca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
108 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We have stayed here several times. The beds are not very comfortable, the food is better than average but pricy. Given all this, the 4 story Christmas tree in the lobby is second to none. The fireplace is always going and there always seems a rocking chair is available at the hearth. You can catch a boat to the Kingdom that links you to all other parks and hotels. Of course there are busses at the front door. This place is great for kids and adults....

Room Tip: The cheepest room is still great because the Christmas celebration is first rate throught the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthur S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
131 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This was our 5th stay at the Wilderness Lodge and as you might imagine, we love the place. The Christmas decorations with its huge tree were in place and lent a magical touch to the entire interior. The staff was friendly as usual from being greeted at the entrance to the all the personnel on the Club level. All the rooms on that level have been redecorated with new carpet throughout. Bathrooms have been redone. The included amenities of course added to the pleasure of staying there. If you walk around to the correct side of the floor you can watch the fireworks over the Magic KIngdom castle from facing hallway windows. And hopefully we will return.

Room Tip: We prefer a room overlooking the courtyard/swimming pool area. It also gives you a view to the lake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FandB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oley
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

Wilderness lodge was absolutely beautiful...the rooms were very nice and accommodating but not sure the price you pay to stay in this resort is worth the upgrade from one of the moderate resorts where you receive just about the same magic appeal. However we personally would definitely stay at this resort again because we had the best time.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jara200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Findlay, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is our 2nd stay at the Wilderness Lodge. We've also stayed at the Polynesian (long ago), Pop Century, French Quarter and 3 times at Port Orleans Riverside....The Wilderness Lodge is one of the cheaper Deluxe properties and in my opinion a great place to stay if you can afford the upgrade....if not the Riverside is a nice moderate! We gave this a 5 star because the things we don't like are not deal breakers on our trip, and the things we do like far out weigh the bad!
So first the BAD:
Buses were awful this visit (but due to my own fault of going during the busy summer season! I'd highly recommend making your trip NOT during summer or a holiday and you'll have a much better time!) We had long waits, but I don't fault the resort on this because I'm sure all resorts would have had this issue during this busy travel period!
Another annoyance that I actually called to complain about....if you are paying the upgraded price to stay at the WL your bus should not stop at the campground to pick up more people!! Picking up more people made the buses crowded and added to the commute time.... It's just a headache that the increased price should help you avoid!
Baby pool was closed several days of our trip, this was due to unscheduled maintenance....but I think they should have had workers there when the pool was closed to fix the problem! Not shut is everyday around noon so they could work on it again!
The GOOD:
The boat to MK is AWESOME!! Always a short wait, and a nice quick trip!
Awesome pool
Good food
Overall design on the lodge
Convenience to all amenities (boat, bus, pool, food) from any room
Pool activities
Cleanliness
Activities in the lobby on rainy afternoons
Staff was great!
Comfortable beds
Water parade from beach
Grounds

Overall I'd highly recommend a stay here, you won't regret it!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are close to amenities....ground floor room on the boat launch side would be really qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank trips4less
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Property: Disney's Wilderness Lodge
Address: 901 Timberline Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#11 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#14 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#27 Family Hotel in Orlando
#124 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Wilderness Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 727
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the rustic majesty of America's Great Northwest. Inspired by turn-of-the-century National Park lodges, Disney's Wilderness Lodge celebrates American craftsmanship and honors the beauty of the untamed wilderness. Soak in the splendor of the great outdoors, from nature trails through pine forests to rocking chairs that overlook a murmuring creek. Inside, discover towering totem poles, headdresses and more, and sink into a plush leather armchair in front of the roaring fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Disney's Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Wilderness Hotel
Disney Wilderness Lodge
Disneys Wilderness Hotel
Walt Disney World Wilderness Lodge
Wilderness Lodge Orlando
Wilderness Lodge Resort
Wilderness Lodge Disney World
Disney Wilderness Resort
Disneys Wilderness Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing