We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Welcome Home!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Disney's Wilderness Lodge
Ranked #33 of 333 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Welcome Home!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

What is there to say that hasn't been said...

This lodge is beautiful, grand and most importantly welcoming. The staff strives to make the stay as comfortable and warm as possible. The lobby is massive and overflowing with character. Every time I walked through I would find something new to marvel at. I found myself taking the long way sometimes just to talk through the lobby.

I stayed on the pool side and didn't regret it even though it can get noisy at times. The rooms on the opposite side of each wing probably provide a more wilderness feel as you are looking out over pine trees instead of the courtyard area.

The pool area is very unique with a waterslide and plenty of room to swim. My only gripe with this is that the poolside bar closes far to early.

Trying to think of negatives to make this a more balanced review and I just can not. The only gripe I have and understand this is extreme nitpicking is that it is not serviced by the monorail. Having the monorail run through the Contemporary, Polynesian and Grand Floridian is so convenient its a shame that they did not include the WL. This means guests have to take a boat to another area to catch the monorail or take the Disney bus to their destination. Again, this is the ony negative I have and it is really a non-issue since so many other transportation options are provided free of charge.

After staying in almost every Disney resort including the all of the big 6 this resort is quickly becoming my favorite and will be at the top of the list for my next trips.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yanks5102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,997
    909
    288
    120
    39
See reviews for
2,259
441
24
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (770)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
139 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed at this resort with my wife and two year old. Had a very nice stay. The room with two queen beds was a bit cramped, but still did the trick. There is a refrigerator in the room which came in very handy. The house keeping staff did a nice job each day.They even left towel animals in the room which are more common these days, but a nice effort. We also had a very nice balcony with a good view of the pool. We didn't use it though too much because of the ever-present fear of our climbing toddler getting out there alone.

Speaking of him, he loved the pool. The toddler wading pool was perfect for him, but he did also enjoy the "big boy" pool which had a nice slide. He was too young for it, but just letting you know. Also, Disney had as many as four lifeguards around the pool at all times. You don't get that too often. And, the pool was open long hours. I'd say from about 9 am until 11 pm. They provide toddler life jackets free of charge. There is a nice full service bar near the pool with a good TV for catching a minute or two of a game here and there. And, there's a rule, all alcohol must be at least 6 feet from the pool. Great idea. FYI, the cocktail prices were not too bad, at least by NY and Boston big city standards.

The resort also had a nice little playground for toddlers like ours. Nice too big, so bigger kids might get bored with it fast. Had a small sandy beach to relax in a lounge chair too. Just off from the beach was a hut to rent bikes and such for the bike trails.

The lobby is very impressive with towering totem poles, a little TV lounge for kids to watch cartoons, a few spots to sit by the fire, a nice expansive gift shop with a decent selection of food and beverage items.

The restaurant, Artist Point, is a top notch choice. Had the signature salmon dish there. Have to be honest. That dish was underwhelming. Overall though, a great restaurant. The fresh bread with lava salt butter was amazing.

They had a nice little "cafeteria" called the Roaring Fork with decent lower priced food options. That was open from about 6 am til midnight.

Resort also had a pretty good sized self-laundry service that was reasonably priced, two dollars a load in big machines. Nice to have.

The Whispering Canyon offered breakfast, lunch and dinner. No characters, which after sitting through several character breakfasts, became rather refreshing. The wait staff played their own charactor roles which were charming at times. Overall, service in the hotel was very good.

Concierge service as always readily available. Folks there were very knowledgeble and helpful.

Resort had a kids den which was quite nice. Offers babysitting service or just fun activities for kids.

One of the best things about the resort is the boat service to the Magic Kingdom and the Comtemporary Hotel. If you plan to spend most of your time in this area, you can't beat the boat service for transportation.
Getting to other resorts and attractions by bus is a little taxing and time consuming, but not too bad. But, we went off season. Your transportation in peak season might be a little more stressful.

Great, cost-effective choice among the deluxe resorts.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank minicooperdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumbull, Connecticut
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

When you enter the hotel, you would think it was rustic and camp like. In fact, it was elegant. Soft, comfortable beds. Great service. Good restaurants. A must for Disney visitors. It's more convenient if you have a car, but Travel by on-property buses was fine.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have stayed at the Wilderness Lodge about 1/2 a Dozen times. It offers a great location and facilities. It also offers boat service to the Magic Kingdom Park and Disney Bus service elsewhere in the resort. The service is excellent but Disney Room Control is not very efficient and upgrades are not easy. Check-in Agents are required to call to get room changes and are not able to see them room availability in their computers as is customary most elsewhere. If you have a special request, you better make it clear at reservation time and even then it is not guaranteed. The best restaurant on the property is The Artist Point; pricey but very good. If you don't spent lots of time in your room and use the resort facilities, the lodge is for you.

Room Tip: Make you special room request clear at reservation time. Disney Room control is tight and difficult...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rebucfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

My family just enjoyed a wonderful, albeit brief, stay at the Disney Wilderness Lodge. The property is beautiful and clean, just like everything Disney. Our stay was quite brief, so I cannot comment about a lot of the resort amenities. I visited the store on the site, and it was nicely equipped with cute souvenirs and general food items. I heard very good things about the restaurants on site, but we did not try them. The pool area was beautiful and the views surrounding it were quite lovely. We had a Club Level room, and the Club lounge was excellent. The staff working in the lounge were superb, and really made us feel special. The beverages and food were excellent (we were there for mid-day snacks, evening "wine and cheese," and for the continental breakfast).

We stayed in a deluxe two room suite with two balconies which overlooked the lake. The room was very clean and very cute in the woodsy theme. The beds were comfy, and the bathroom area was nice and large.

I really have no complaints, and would definitely stay at this resort again. We previously stayed at a cabin at the Fort Wilderness Resort. It is also very nice, but a much different experience. It was much easier to get around the Wilderness Lodge, which I was told by staff is the smallest Disney property.

Room Tip: I was told that certain rooms on the higher floors have views of the Disney fireworks at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tresura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmyra, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

i know you've heard it all...gorgeous inside, great food, beautiful pool..but does everyone recognize the staff? The staff at this hotel continues to be just wonderful - from the greeter who met us outside(!), to the front desk staff who provided restaurant help, to the wonderful waitress at Whispering Canyon who kept our 7 month old completely entertained, to the young woman at the pool bar...everyone and I mean everyone is helpful, friendly and sincerely nice. I dont think its fake at all!! Of course the hotel and its amenities are wonderful - my 22 yr old daughter and I took in a movie by the lake on a beautiful night, just an example! but the icing on the cake for this hotel....the staff!

Room Tip: we were on the backside of the hotel so it was nice and quite - no noise at all!!! It was also very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lconner001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We have stayed at other deluxe Disney resorts including the Polynesian and the Grand Floridian, but the Wilderness Lodge is by far our favourite hotel on Disney property.
We had stayed at the Wilderness Lodge two times before so we knew what to expect. With every return trip we truly do feel like we are coming home..
We were very pleasantly surprised upon entering our room. The renovations that have been done make the room so much more comfortable. The updated shower with Disney characters, the plank flooring at the sink area, the new carpet where the beds are, the new duvet bedding and nicely coloured drapes. Great job!!!!
If you are considering this hotel, don't hesitate. You will not be disappointed.
We travel to Disneyworld every year and will definitely be returning again next year to make it our fourth visit!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jtin01975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Disney's BoardWalk Inn
#52 of 333 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Property: Disney's Wilderness Lodge
Address: 901 Timberline Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8426
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#9 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#14 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#27 Family Hotel in Orlando
#124 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Wilderness Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 727
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the rustic majesty of America's Great Northwest. Inspired by turn-of-the-century National Park lodges, Disney's Wilderness Lodge celebrates American craftsmanship and honors the beauty of the untamed wilderness. Soak in the splendor of the great outdoors, from nature trails through pine forests to rocking chairs that overlook a murmuring creek. Inside, discover towering totem poles, headdresses and more, and sink into a plush leather armchair in front of the roaring fireplace. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Disney Wilderness Hotel
Disney Wilderness Lodge
Disneys Wilderness Hotel
Walt Disney World Wilderness Lodge
Wilderness Lodge Orlando
Wilderness Lodge Resort
Wilderness Lodge Disney World
Disney Wilderness Resort
Disneys Wilderness Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing