We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First stay at Disney” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Disney's Wilderness Lodge
Ranked #34 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Hopewell Junction, New York
Level Contributor
94 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“First stay at Disney”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

This was my first stay at Disney. Because of this 'lodge' I have now been back to Disney 7 times. Although I haven't stayed here again, it still remains my favorite.
The Montana style feel of this place is incredible. There is such a wonderful peaceful feeling when sitting by the enormous fireplace. The rooms were great and comfortable. For my first Disney experience, it couldn't have been better.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irish-Rover1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,057
    926
    290
    126
    41
See reviews for
2,315
460
25
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (796)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paoli, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

This was our first visit to Walt Disney World and choose this hotel because of the Trip Advisor reviews. We were not disappointed. The hotel is beautiful, staff is great, and the shuttle boats were a great way to get to the magic kingdom. The pool w/ slide was a great way for the kids to cool off and at night they enjoyed roasting marshmallows and watching the electrical parade on the beach. Nice all around.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank PennsyTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We took our family vacation at the end of September and stayed at the Wilderness Lodge. I did not think I was going to like the resort because I don't like to camp. Correction, I don't camp so I didn't think I would like the theme. I was pleasantly surprised. It is woodsy but very relaxing. The lobby had lots of things for the kids to explore and see. We asked and received a free upgrade to bunk room. The room isn't larger but the kids love to bunks. Housekeeping did a nice job with cleaning the room. The kids got different animals made from wash clothes each day....tipping helped and probably made that happen. They were very cute and it was exciting to see what she left for us each day.
My son developed an ear infection while we were there from the plane ride most likelly. Wouldn't be Disney for our family without someone getting ill. The staff was great. Paramedics and the resort manager came to the room within 15 min of us calling the front desk and asking where we could take him to be seen. FYI- Disney will take you to an urgent care for free. There is a physician that comes to the room but then you have to worry about how to get the medications if you need them, not to mention it is expensive. The manager and the housekeeper even called the next day to see how he was doing and if we needed anything else. Great customer service as always.
The pool and water slide were lots of fun. I wish we made more time to just hang out at the pool. The pool bar was well stocked, hot tubs (2) were not crowded and it was neat to see the Geyser go off.
We loved traveling by ferry and took that mode of transportation most often. It was so relaxing to travel back from a long day at the park. We used it to go to the Polynesian and the Contemporary for dinner. By the way, make your dinner reservations early if you want to eat at the more popular ones at a decent time.
Last time we stayed at the Animal Kingdom and that resort was very nice too. For scenery and setting, I liked AK but I thought the food at the quick service and the customer service was better at the wilderness lodge.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jlmpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Had been looking forward to a very special two night stay in this Disney Deluxe resort - coming at the end of a summer holiday, and it was a suprise for our three year old who didn't know we were visiting Magic Kingdom - which this resort is perfectly suited for.
We had a slight discount in a Disney sale, which meant rooms were not too expensive - but still vastly more costly than almost everything else off Disney property - bar very few. And as for actual 'in - room' size and amenities, value -wise this resort falls way short of even the most moderate nearby non-Disney hotels.
What you're REALLY paying for is you are - almost - within skipping distance of The Magic Kingdom. Early morning boat takes just 5 minutes, and is a magical way to arrive - the best journey to the park i've ever done - in 20 years! It's also real nice to have that same boat bring you home...
You're also getting SUPERB Disney customer service, which from the moment you arrive, still in your car - is outstanding. Lovely smiles, charming hosts - everybody is there to help you enjoy your stay.
From arrival the Disney Deluxe magic is on full show -i've been to Yosemite in California...and this rendering was spot on- pines and firs, waterfalls and rock formations - even a geyser - not a palm tree in sight. The gounds are gorgeous, and perfect for kids to run around - having said that - they are amusing themselves a lot of the time, couldn't see an actual playground or sports type area - theres a gym, and a pretty small games room (the contemporary resort has a great arcade, albeit smaller than the older one they had in the 80's..)
But the pools are very nice - not astounding, other Kissimmee resorts are better - and the Disney Boardwalks look more fun - however the overall look and feel of this resort leaves a better impression - it's all just so detailed and finished off well.
The rooms sadly...do not match this high quality. Whilst everything is in good order - and the wild west style theming is superb - the rooms are SMALL!! and we upgraded once to a WOODS VIEW, and then had a free upgrade to a COURTYARD VIEW ( the best...) Our view was nice on floor 4, from a balcony, and noise was acceptable - and the ride in the lifts was super fast - about 5 seconds! Not as impressive were the room amenities - no bath, average shower and very cramped. We had a bunk, and a double - for 3 of us...but the room was packed with too much clunky wooden furniture. It was quite a squeeze.
I guess the idea is you're too zonked out each night too care - and you could relax with a drink and book in the resort grounds..but....for the money....didn't quite feel right. The room WAS NOT deluxe in feel.....
That said all the little extras that i'd longed for as a Disney guest were there - room keycard charging and free parking, extra magic hours, package delivery etc - which is all useful as a parent.
The bus trip to Downtown was long though - especially on return at 10 o clock - took almost an hour! and i suspect bus links to other parks like Hollywood Studios may be equally long winded.
Breakfast at the loopy Whispering canyon cafe - in the lobby- was excellent if noisy - and a little pricey. Same food as a lot of Deluxe resorts - about the same quality as O'Hana's without the characters...
It's a lovely resort - and i'm a long-time Disney fan, and did love my stay...but will advise you to look around, and do your research ( the unauthorised guide to Disney World is SUPERB!)
For first timers, on a long stay - i'd say no....go for something bigger and better value OFF-SITE - or even near Downtown Disney, like the Doubletree suites, which is cheap and cheerful - but MUCH bigger rooms at a third of the cost or less...
For 1 or 2 nights - at premium prices - it's a nice treat and worth a peek - just to say you've been!

Room Tip: Some rooms will overlook the car park and entrance - for a prettier view you may have to upgrade....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chipmcdouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
131 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed for a week at the lodge on our first ever Disney visit. Nice welcome from reception with lots of information provided. The room was good with a double bed and bunk for the children. Plenty of space for us but we didn't spend too much time in there as its off to the parks.
A real advantage about staying here was the Disney bus service, makes getting around so easy. You can get a boat as well but we only did that once to the neighbouring campsite for the dinner show.
The pool was nice with a small slide for anyone to enjoy.
Whispering Canyon was an enjoyable experience with plenty of noise and hollering - in keeping with the western feel. Roaring Fork is more of a canteen with quick and easy food to obtain, no complaints of either.
Recommend the Wilderness Lodge to anyone thinking of staying in a Disney resort.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TerenceTibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budd Lake, New Jersey
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights at the Wilderness Lodge on a recommendation of a friend who had stayed prior, and it did not disappoint. My 39 year old husband had never visited Disney before and I wanted him to get the whole experience. The WL was perfect-the lobby is overly impressive, staff is typical wonderful disney, multiple pools were great (since we were not travelling with kids, it was nice to have a quiet pool area) the convience of disney transportation is unmatched. The bus service is easy, but the advantage of having the boat to Contempary Hotel to catch the monorail AND a separate boat straight to Magic Kingdom was great! We also ate at Artist Point and Whispering Canyon Cafe in hotel and you can't go wrong with either. We are already thinking about running in the Disney Marathon, and will again be staying at the beautiful Wilderness Lodge.

Room Tip: We chose a woods view, which we found to be super quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mkaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New jersey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We have 2 kids, both under 3. They need to nap and go to bed around 7:30 at home. At Disney, we let them stay up later and by 8:30-9, it was bedtime. Unfortunately at 9:35 each night, the WL plays this incredibly loud show on the water for about 25 minutes. I mean LOUD. The kids were up until 10 each night as a result, pushing our morning start out further.

Nap time also seemed to coincide with the loud music session at the pool each day. For a place that caters to children, I was surprised. The noise proofing was below average compared to most hotels, but in Disney, this was very disappointing. We heard chairs and all sorts of noise above our room each day.

Otherwise, great beds, beautiful hotel, etc. But, just noisy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrianL412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Disney's BoardWalk Inn
#55 of 335 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,621 reviews
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Wilderness Lodge

Property: Disney's Wilderness Lodge
Address: 901 Timberline Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8426
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#10 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#14 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#27 Family Hotel in Orlando
#124 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Wilderness Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 727
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the rustic majesty of America's Great Northwest. Inspired by turn-of-the-century National Park lodges, Disney's Wilderness Lodge celebrates American craftsmanship and honors the beauty of the untamed wilderness. Soak in the splendor of the great outdoors, from nature trails through pine forests to rocking chairs that overlook a murmuring creek. Inside, discover towering totem poles, headdresses and more, and sink into a plush leather armchair in front of the roaring fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Disney's Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Wilderness Hotel
Disney Wilderness Lodge
Disneys Wilderness Hotel
Walt Disney World Wilderness Lodge
Wilderness Lodge Orlando
Wilderness Lodge Resort
Wilderness Lodge Disney World
Disney Wilderness Resort
Disneys Wilderness Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing