We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old, Dirty, Disgusting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Disney's Beach Club Resort
Ranked #51 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Old, Dirty, Disgusting”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

This was our first time at Disney's Beach Club. We have stayed on Disney property many times before and have always had a nice experience. The first impression of the hotel is good - lobby is nice and the pool also looked pretty cool. Check-in took a long time and we finally got our room numbers and keys. After what seemed like forever, we finally found our room after going down many hallways and around many twists and turns. We opened the door and as we walked in, you were hit with a terrible smell. The room just felt old and dirty - the main table below the TV had dirty glasses and specs of dirt all over, there was also a sticky hand-print clearly on the table that hadn't been cleaned. The wallpaper is peeling, there are dents all over the furniture, the bathroom was outdated and you felt like you were sitting in filth. We paid for the garden view and I guess that means viewing some shrubs and then an area where workers park. There was also a pathway right outside our room where you could hear people walking by and talking loud and clear. We spoke to one of the front desk cast members and she stated they were fully booked so we couldn't change rooms but she could have it cleaned better!? We then asked for a manager and ended up transferring to an upgraded room at Disney's Polynesian Resort where we had a great room and stay. I would avoid this hotel at all costs, it's definitely not worth the "deluxe hotel" status - I wouldn't even pay value pricing in this place!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank eric s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,480
    784
    263
    105
    62
See reviews for
1,792
361
14
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (747)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

This was our first stay at the Beach Club and it’s the most beautiful Disney hotel yet! We were able to check into our room at 9am. The hotel and our room were clean, bright, beautiful, and the ocean/nautical décor is lovely.

The pool is a highlight… sparkling clean, with water falls, slide, floating rafts, several life guards, play areas for the younger children… this is a really, really awesome hotel if your family enjoys pools! My 3 teenagers enjoyed the pool as much as the younger children. The life guards do an afternoon dance/song which is fun entertainment! Poolside food and drink service is excellent and not ridiculously over-priced. We dined at the pool (not inside the restaurants), and the food was above-average.

There is a boat ride to take you to Hollywood Studios, which we enjoyed very much.

This stay was the last few days of a 14-day Florida trip. We had multiple suitcases and the Beach Club takes your entire luggage on the day of your flight, checks it in at their hotel desk, and even provides your boarding passes. Overall, great hotel!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank MamaInNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

The resort is nestled next to Epcot, just a 2-3 minute walk. Wonderful view across the lake of the Boardwalk area of Disney. The pool is a wonderful attraction for kiddos on its own. Absolutely amazing. Cast Members are wonderful. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Britt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Am currently by the pool watching my kids play on our last full day here. We were initially going to book the Grand Floridian but due to building works we were uncertain what the pool situation would be by the time of our visit so instead chose the beach club. It was the best decision we could have made though it also worked against us in our first few days as the kids couldn't give two hoots that they were at Disney, they just wanted to be in the pool and there's something slightly soul destroying while queuing for Splash Mountain listening to a barrage of 'when can we go to the pool?' comments. So in brief the pool is fab, great slide, plenty of life guards, hotel guests only (keys checked and wrist bands allocated), lazy river. The only thing I didn't like was the sandy bottom but I think I'm alone there.

Location

The beach and yacht clubs are situated right next door to each other at the back door to Epcot. You can walk to world showcase in 5-10 mins, or take a free water taxi. This is great for beating the crowds to ride soarin or test track as you can roll out of bed at 8.30 and be there by 9 leaving you with no more than a 5-10 min queue. Also on an evening if you have no real plans its nice to mooch to Epcot and wander round world showcase with a beer or margarita in hand!

Directly opposite is the boardwalk, again quick to get to and a great place to wander on an evening. If neither of these take your fancy then Hollywood studios is a 15 min walk, short water taxi ride and we loved it there.

Transportation

To get to animal kingdom, magic kingdom, water parks there are shuttle buses that take you straight there. We drove on day 1 but have used transport since as when you drive you still have to get from the carpark to the theme park but the buses drop you right out front. We've not taken a bus to downtown but will give it a shot tonight. I've heard it's more of a pain so we may taxi back.

Food and drink:

hurricane hannas, near the pool has a quick service counter next door or you can order at the bar. Closes at 8. Standard Disney food but the chicken sandwich is good and the kids love their food served in buckets and spades. The cocktails are good (I think I've tried all of them), cans of decent beer but the draft is ropey and if you want a strawberry smoothie ask for a virgin daiquiri otherwise you get this weird mix thing.

Cape may cafe, ok for a character breakfast. Once. Food wasn't great though the kids loved the mickey waffles. Could be that we are biased englishfolk when it comes to breakfast standards and Americans might love this place. Dinner is predominantly fish base and it's buffet which my husband hates so we never tried dinner here.

Marketplace, you can get some quick snacks here but be warned they are HUGE and if I were you I'd ask for the flatbreads to be light on the cheese otherwise it's more cheese than flatbread. Sandwiches are good especially the quinoa one.

We didn't eat at any of the other offerings as we were always out and about, too full from lunch or terrible at remembering to make a reservation. If you do find yourself short then as i said the boardwalk is a few short steps away as is world showcase so you can nip out for fish and chips, noodles, French onion soup etc in a matter of minutes.

Disney Dining Plan - when we booked we got the 'basic' DDP included free of charge. I defy anyone to eat their full quota. The basic plan includes snack, quick service meal and table service meal daily. Between four of us we still have 15 snacks, 16 table service meals and 10 quick service meals remaining an I've put on about 14lbs! In total I think we've saved about $200 a day $175 at the Hoop De Doo Review alone) by using the plan and it is available at most outlets including Planet Hollywood, ESPN etc I'm not sure I would pay for it but as a freebie it's been very nice thank you very much though I'm officially all French fried out!

Room and hotel

Our room is fairly small and dated and you can hear everyone in the corridor and neighbouring rooms. Like the rest of the hotel, the rooms could do with a bit of a refurb but I can overlook this for the pool and location. We have a club room and I would say its 'nice' having the concierge and the nibbles during the day but the lounge is far too small for the number of people using it and it's not a club lounge like the ones we've been used to in Dubai etc. I can't remember how much more than a normal room it was but if the cost is greatly different then I probably wouldn't bother again though the location of the rooms is great.

If I were to have my time over again I would definitely still book this hotel or the yacht club next door as it has fulfilled our requirements more than other disney hotels would.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank SqueakerMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed here with our then 2 year old (in May 2012) and we had such a great time. From checking in (they gave us all our 1st time visit badges) to checking out- the staff were all very helpful and friendly. We booked a garden view room, but we were upgraded on check in. We had a view of Stormalong Bay from our balcony (although it was slightly obstructed by a tree).

Our room was was about a 5 minute walk to Epcot's World showcase gates. Very convenient for our evening meals at the different pavilions.

We will definitely return when our little one is a bit older to enjoy all the rides.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Sun-Kissed26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
367 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Just got back from the Beach Club Resort (villas) and loved it. Where do I start?

Pool complex. Best at disney, truly fantastic. Giant slide, 3 pools with sand bottoms, lazy river, games for kids, and a good snack & drink shack. We spent a whole day here and some half days too. Not to mention the quiet side pools for those that don't like abut pool complex. Also limited to just resort guests.

Room. The villa was great, 2 bedrooms and a living room where the 2 kids stayed, with 4 grown ups in the bedrooms. More than enough space, and we ordered groceries before to save money on breakfasts. Short walk to main entry to hotel. Beds were comfortable if a bit firm and the couch was fine too. Not amazing but comfortable and nice. Bathrooms were a bit dated but otherwise fine. TVs had all the networks, Espns, and disney channels, fine for when needed after a long day at the parks.

Location. Awesome. Short walk to the back gate (countries) at Epcot, and to the restaurants there. Longer walk to Hollywood studios but a short boat ride... Both work. Also a 5 min walk to Boardwalk area and its restaurants and nightlife, which was fun, including ESPN Club and bike rentals, etc. it was good to be able to get off the hotel grounds without a long bus wait. Busses to parks were good and just for the beach and yacht clubs, but busses to downtown disney took forever since they stopped at too many other hotels.

Cape may cafe was great for the character breakfast but very overpriced. Captains grill was also good but overpriced. Good to get off the ground if you want reasonably priced food, of course. Quick service options were actually fine too in a pinch for pizza and the like.

Only compliant was that they turned off our room key card at 10:30 when checkout was at 11 -- not cool.

All in all, we would do this again, and we liked it more than animal kingdom lodge or coronado springs where we had stayed in the past. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We thought we were upgrading to a better facility, but for the extra costs it was not worth it. This property is old and worn, the carpeting needs to be clean, restretched, and replaced in many of the halls. You have no privacy in your room since you can hear the conversation from the neighboring room, especially after midnight. To get anywhere you have to walk very long hallways to get to an elevator or stairwell exit. The food is the same as you would get at any of the lower priced resorts, only it costs more here. The only highlight is the exclusive pool for the guests of the Beach & Yacht Club, great for the little ones.

Room Tip: The higher room numbers are closer to the lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dNjs1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Disney's BoardWalk Inn
#64 of 337 in Orlando
1,673 reviews
Disney's Beach Club Villas
#99 of 337 in Orlando
794 reviews
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Beach Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Beach Club Resort

Property: Disney's Beach Club Resort
Address: 1800 Epcot Resorts Boulevard, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8443
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#19 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#46 Family Hotel in Orlando
#78 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#104 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Beach Club Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 576
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the casual elegance of this charming, New England-style Resort hotel. Savor exquisite dining, and explore the pools, lagoons and spas of Stormalong Bay. Sail around Crescent Lake on a rented mini-powerboat, and experience the luxurious comfort of a Club Level Suite. Sharing many amenities with its more formal sister, Disney's Yacht Club Resort, Disney's Beach Club Resort is walking distance to Epcot and a convenient boat ride to Disney's Hollywood Studios. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Disney's Beach Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Beach Club Hotel Orlando
Disney Beach Club Resort
Disney Beach Resort
Beach Club Orlando
Disneys Beach Hotel
Disneys Beach Club Resort
Disneys Beach Resort
Disneys Yacht Beach Club Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing